Viva logo

I am Woman

An under-rated movie that speaks volumes for the women's movement

By Willow PeddyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
I am Woman By Helen Reddy

Because I was born at the end of 1999, I missed so many historic events. That's why I tend to watch movies and try to read books to educate myself somewhat more than the history lessons taught in school.

Today, I discovered Helen Reddy, for those who don't know, Helen was a fantastic Australian-American singer, songwriter, writer, actress, and activist. Now, I'm not going to go into her biography, which is on Wikipedia, but I'll give you a comment on that movie.

I am Woman

I am a woman is about the way Helen Reddy struggles with misogyny in the music industry, which ultimately led to creating an anthem for the women's movement in May 1972.

The song 'I am Women (Song - link)' was based/inspired by Helen's early acknowledgment of the women's movement due to her best friend Lillian Roxon (played by Danielle Macdonald), Lillian was an Australian rock critic and a pioneer feminist. The song reflected the positive self-image Helen had gained from being involved in the women's movement but not being able to find the right song to express herself to nor relate to. Which resulted in her creating one to do this. The song became popular among female listeners, and it was requested on local radio stations to strike N.1 in the charts in December 1972.

The song earned a Grammy award for the 'Best Female Pop Vocal Performance', and in her speech, she thanked God referring to God as She.

The film portrays the struggle women would have had back then and how the women's movement has been important over the years. It shows the deep connection that the song had to the lives of these women and how Helen was personally affected by the discrimination of her husband and the music business. It shows Helen's appearance at the 1989 Abortion Rights Rally, singing 'I am a Woman', but stopping there.

Opinions, opinions, opinions...

Now I for one only just discovered this Helen Reddy and from doing some research it doesn't do her justice. The movie itself is a slow watch and if you're like me and don't really know who it's about, it's hard to keep up.

I am Woman starts with Her arrival in New York City, after winning a singing contest in Australia. It shows the rejection she faces and her difficulty being a single parent with low pay in a small insect-infested apartment. She makes friends with Lillian who subsequently introduces her to Jeff Wald at a party. Wald becomes her manager and her husband, and almost instantaneously ceases to promote her and says you're the housewife you're supposed to be.

Now, breathe, yes I know what you're thinking but keep reading...

Helen doesn't stand for this and insists he tries to promote her or he's out. After 5 months of calls, she gets a break to record a song, which leads to I am Woman being created.

Being someone that had never heard of her, I heard all those songs for the first time. And frankly, I rather enjoyed her singing style. I will admit that Helen's actual voice wasn't used in the movie, but Chelsea Cullen's voice, but without a doubt, she does do an excellent job of approximating Helen's Phrasing and tone.

Unfortunately, the film takes huge time jumps, going from 1974 to 1983 without warning. It was a bit confusing and I have the impression that it left out a significant history of Helen's development and her success. It shows that Wald is obsessed with cocaine and he's wasting all the money, they're losing the house, but before we know it, she's retired and taking part in an abortion rally. It doesn't make much sense, another example if the time leaps.

'I Am Woman' is a good movie starting off explaining everything and showing how she develops herself to her success. However, the details get lost the further you get into it and it feels like the end of the movie is rushed into finishing. Then before you know it the end credits are up.

I would recommend you look at it for your own views, but if you're like me, you could get lost.

celebrities
2

About the Creator

Willow Peddy

I am a 24yr old, looking for something in life to bring a spark of excitement and bring back my artistic and imaginative flare :)

I have strange and crazy dreams and people always tell me to write them down so here goes my dream diary!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.