Journal logo

Starting off on Teespring

This is my follow-up of Rejected by Amazon merch and what I did next...

By Willow PeddyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Teespring

If you have read my article on 'Rejected by Amazon Merch' this is my follow-up, if you haven't do have a read.

If not and you haven't guessed I got rejected by Amazon Merch, this was a setback but I have taken other avenues into consideration. One being the following -

Teespring - https://teespring.com/

Now, this is basically very similar to Amazon but a little less well known and you have to do your own advertisement. Draw in your audience. And build your own success.

I will show you how you can do the same and hopefully, to your success. I will talk about my designs and show you just what I have done....so far.

Firstly, you need to think of a business name, Your brand. Something different, fun to get people's attention. I decided that I wanted to call mine - CurvyT's. I created a logo, something simple yet hopefully eye-catching. The name was inspired by body shapes and how I wanted every one of all shapes and sizes to feel comfortable wearing my designs.

Curvy'Ts

Once you have the brand name sorted it's time to generate those ideas for your designs. Now at the moment, I am working on my Name Collection. (as seen if you click the link) These are literally people's names on T-shirts, jumpers, hoodies, etc. Simple and sweet.

Start writing them down, start sketching, doodling. Anything you want to create, jot it down. These will be your baseline to success.

My Name collection was created as I want all people...or most people to be able to find their own name out there. Now my name is Willow, simple, semi-common...right?! Yes, you would think so, but growing up I was never able to find my name on anything, and being a kid it was quite disheartening.

So once you've got designs 6 or 7 and know roughly what audience you wish to target, then it's time to advertise. I started on Instagram first, now I waited until I had a few designs and products available on Teespring before I started to follow other users. This shows them that you are not a newbie and you know what you're doing. They will have something to look at and want to see what you have in store next.

CurvyT's Instagram page

So far this is what my page looks like. I do plan to experiment with different fonts and use a vast variety of names.

When you start your advertisement you will hopefully begin to see your items selling. However, I will add that that this is not an immediate thing you need to take time and effort and wait for the audience to see your potential. Build it up from the bottom and make it work. Ask for feedback, Remember think would you wear this if so order a sample and advertise it, show ordinary people (family friends) wearing your designs.

After a few sales, Teesrping will also help advertise your products but that doesn't mean you stop. Use Twitter, Facebook, TikTok, etc use all forms of social media to get your business started. Be prepared to try and create a design every day, and top tip - Do not spend hours on designs try to stick to an hour or less. Now that is my advice start simple... unless you're a photoshop Guru and can create a masterpiece by the click of your fingers.

I use this photoshop app called Gimp 2.10 Pro. This is a really good starting point use the videos on Youtube to get started, once you get the hand of what tools do what and how you will be creating fabulous designs in your sleep.

So sign up, get those ideas flowing and start designing...you could be the next Hugo Boss who knows....

I hope this helps, Keep your eye out for more posts.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Willow Peddy

I am a 24yr old, looking for something in life to bring a spark of excitement and bring back my artistic and imaginative flare :)

I have strange and crazy dreams and people always tell me to write them down so here goes my dream diary!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.