Viva logo

Girl Wants No Action

An essay about the Filipino culture of harassment

By Miranieva BuenPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Morgan Sessions on Unsplash

Girl wants no action

I don’t hate guys but as a girl who just wants to have fun or even do errands, going out with them around is an uncertainty and a hazard.

It’s the simple things, I must say. The simple attire, with or without makeup. Maybe I’m wearing jean shorts or short sleeves because it’s hot. Even when I’m fully clothed, the catcalls that come out of nowhere or from people you just met is simply alarming, making me walk faster and clutch the spray much tighter.

Really, I’m not asking for it. When I go out, I try to be kind, cordial, simply comedic but what do I get? I get called sexy, pretty, and then asked what I want to do.

At some point, I just talked to some security guards for directions. Next time I see them, someone calls me "crush." It makes me uncomfortable. These are people whose jobs are to make me safe and their actions don’t make me feel safe. Then there are those guys who are undressing you in front of you.

Sometimes, the sad part is, they are related to you in some way. It's not always strangers that give you the feeling of unsafety.

Relatives, male ones, or family friends that are drunk or plain malicious who try to kiss and touch you whenever they could. Instead of reprimanding them, us girls get scolded for wearing shorts. That it is us who know better. To be told that we are asking for it, that we're acting like depraved little deviants, seducing them.

This is not wanted, no one is asking and yet, why is it my fault? Why is it always the girl’s fault?

I’m not acting like I’m out to have fun in such a way. To be honest, I don’t see girls do it often. If they do, they do it straight and with people they like. Not just some random dudes on the sidewalk and certainly not the guys who flick their tongues like they’re so hot. Many of them act as if us girls should be thankful for unwanted attention.

It's harassment and none of us wants is.

Is there a need for me to waste away in a room for safety issues? I have a life to live. This isn’t my fault, nor any girls’ fault. We get raped for clothes or any other reasons that most Filipino guys feel is justified. There is no logic with these actions. These are not invited nor incited.

Sadly, this is a part of the Filipino culture and the fault is always on us women for dressing up to look and feel good. I often get told I’m asking for trouble for wearing these clothes. I came from therapy where shorts are necessary. Girls should not be held guilty for men’s actions. They’re not even apprehended for such actions. I’m the one who should walk away because I should know better.

It’s not about knowing better, this is about humanity and how a third world country has it as its state.

I don’t want any action of guys making me uncomfortable on our way home. Not the guy in the jeep who tries to touch my breast, nor the guy behind the desk to make compliments about how it is unsafe for me to walk alone while undressing me on the spot. Not the guy on the sidewalk who flicks his tongue and whistles with that look. Those relatives and family friends that just keep on acting like we’re close while trying to cop a feel.

No, this girl wants no action. So do the girls out there who just want to live their life untouched in such a way.

activism
Like

About the Creator

Miranieva Buen

Cat Mom, Writer, Disability Advocate

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.