Viva logo

Come What May

A glass of Merlot

By Yvonne Van der MalePublished 3 years ago 9 min read
3
A moment for us

Come What May

Today is the day. The date. The one with the handsome banker, who was so savvy and well spoken. I take a seat at the bar, 8pm sharp! I have been looking forward to this since we met. The waiter comes by and I hesitate, should I order or wait. I toss my options back and forth in a quick race of my mind and my breath lifts; “Merlot please,” I decide. “Six oz or nine oz,” the waiter continues. Of course, more questions, should I, argh, answer the questions! “Six oz,” I decide. Better less for now. I don't want to get too tipsy I think to myself. A few minutes go by and a napkin is placed in front of me with a glass of ruby red delight. I bring the glass to my nose and smell its sweet bouquet notes of cherry and plum as I swirl the wine to the rim of the glass. I wonder if he likes wine, I thought as the wine danced around my palette and the last notes of brassy Merlot left me wanting another sip. I look around the restaurant watching happy patrons laughing and carrying on munching on chef’s latest creations. My nose is tickled by buttery scallops as the dish passes from the kitchen. “May I live another day for just one bite” my hungry mind growls as I realize I haven’t eaten since morning. Why do I do this to myself I think, subdued. What is it about the busy day that takes me to such a preoccupied state? I take another sip of my Merlot and my thoughts soon dim.

“Have you been waiting long?”

My heart beats a rapid pulse as I recognize the sultry voice of my date. I gently let my eyes gaze over my shoulder and say, “only a few minutes.” I smile and he grins. “Sorry I got caught up in a trade. But I am so glad to be out of there. I have been looking forward to this all day.” The bartender interrupts. “Drink for the gentleman?”

“I’ll have what she's having.”

“Merlot, sir,” the barkeep confirms

“Very good, that will be fine.” He smiles at me.

“It’s a great glass,” I assure him. “The flavors fit the evening: light, crisp and not too heavy.”

“You look beautiful,” he tells me. I blush and reply, “Thank you.”

The bartender places the glass in front of him. “A toast,” he suggests. “To a light and crisp evening!” We both laugh. I can’t quite pinpoint it but he seems familiar, comfortable with sparkling chemistry.

“Have you always been a banker?” I ask as the ‘get to know you’ portion of the date begins. A necessary, but sometimes can add an invasive interview feel to the conversation. “What do you do? What do you like? Where do you work? Why do you do it? Do you have family? Do you work-out? Ya-da, ya-da, ya-da. Someone should just create a questionnaire for all the single folk to submit prior to the date so they can talk about other topics of interest. A waiter walks by with a sizzling steak and frites, the smell brings me back to the conversation. My eyes slightly glaze as my stomach reminds me of its hunger pains. I listen to his in depth and somewhat nervous explanation of the predetermined path he was put on prior to college and I say,“Hey do you want to get a table and grab some snacks?”

“Of course, yes, let’s get some grub. I haven’t eaten since morning,” I smile. “Why do we do that to ourselves?” He relaxes a bit and chuckles. We walk through a double French door onto a patio. A beautiful summer evening breeze embraces us and welcomes us to stay as we sit, relax and sink into an evening of new experiences.

“Do you ever just want to give it up and travel,” I ask abruptly interrupting another diatribe about his college years and strict professors. His eyes lighten, “I have, I mean I have traveled. There are a few stamps on my passport. It’s really quite amazing that you can just get up one day and be gone. Just like the seagulls.” He stops, shakes his head. I finish my sip of Merlot and look up at him. I can tell he is somewhat nervous as the little crease in his brow twitches ever so slightly.

“I mean to say we aren’t Seagulls but that they can just soar through the sky and go where they wish.” A tiny bead of sweat trickles down his cheek glistening in the golden sun. He takes a sip of his wine and loosens his tie.

“I’d like to go to Chile” I offer as a continuation to our chat of flight. “Maybe try a Merlot from one of their vineyards.”

“Wow, South America. Very nice. I hear they have great weather,” he adds.

The piano player begins to perform. The music is like the soft breeze. It is so transportive as a songstress begins a verse. My mind is taken to a smoky lounge of the Nineteen Forties’ where cocktails were the fashion and ladies and men acted differently.

"Would you like another?" he asks.

"Merlot, madame, another?" the waiter asks

"Yes, would you bring the same bottle, Bright Cellars. It is just so right, this particular one." While explaining, I hoped I wouldn’t offend my date as he was handsomely sipping the last drop from his glass.

"Yes, the bottle indeed, madame. Anything to eat for you?" The waiter asks.

"Perhaps the camembert and charcuterie plate," he asks me with a caring smile."Unless you don't like that then something else," he quickly retracts so as not to offend.

"It's perfect and some olives. They are my favorite," I smile at him.

"Very good," the waiter replies and quickly disappears.

There is something so familiar about this evening and so comfortable.

The way his hair falls on his cheek bone. The sound of the singer's voice.

The waves caressing the rocks of the shore. How can it be?

My mind continues to drift as the breeze passes through my hair gently tossing it to the side. I glance up at him. He is staring into my eyes. He lets out a small nervous smile as he tucks his hair behind his ear.

"So, have you lived here long?" He continues the first date question line.

"Almost five years. I love it. The busyness of the city keeps my interest. I don't even know where the time has gone," I smile.

"I love listening to the jazz bands. Do you go," I ask.

"Jazz, is great. I haven't been in ages. I thought most of the clubs had shut down."

"Almost, there is one that opens on Thursday. It's a real vibe. Small and always packed. Martini Thursday they call it."

"Maybe we could check it out sometime, if you like?"

"Are you asking me out Mr. Banker?" I poke fun at him.

"Yea, I mean if you like?"

"I accept your invitation."

The food arrives and looks divine. The bottle of Merlot comes and the waiter, Stan, explains that there is only one nine oz glass left and this is the last bottle of Bright Cellars Merlot the restaurant has in stock.

"Let's share it," I offer. " As we drink it you can tell me sip by sip what comes to mind. We'll savor what we have left."

He smiles, "How intimate." His guard lowers a bit. Something I have been waiting for all night. First dates are hard and challenging for anyone. The resume gets put out there, your life is answered in a series of similar questions. If you are off that day then it goes nowhere. If you are too excitable then your heart can be crushed depending on your date. So much goes into your first impression, your first experience, your first sip of Merlot.

"Shall I pour?" Stan the waiter had brought us two clean glasses.

"Please," he replies.

"When I pour, tell me what you think of the wine," I ask. "Like a game and don't be shy. It could be fun."

He nods in agreement, not quite sure but adhering to the situation.

I pour. The Crimson colored libation waves around the bulb of the glass and settles quietly in its soft comfortable base.

"Vampires" he boldly states.

"What?"

"Vampires. That is what has come to my mind." The great Lustat!"

We both caught each other's eye. Pause. Then roar with laughter.

It happened, the ice finally broken.

"Vampires,'' you say. I am drinking the blood of the fallen," I snicker.

He smiles, "I have come to suck you blood. Ah ah ah."

"Do you think they even exist," I ruminate.

"I don't know but if they do, they definitely drink this label!"

We giggle and let the joke play through the air for a minute.

I take a sip close my eyes and say, "A cabin in the countryside."

The wine sings a song of rolling hills and vanishing sunsets with light crisp air.

I open my eyes and again his gaze locks into mine. A moment. Time seemed to just pause. The music notes hang in the air. The chatter holds, the air still, yet present. The connection. That occurrence, that unexplainable feeling when you are more than seen but, felt without being touched. An intrinsic happening.

"And in time" the jazz singer breaks the silence. "Be-bob-a-boo-boo-be could it be you do-do-be-do-you!"

I breathe. He blinks. "Yea a cabin. Maybe where the vampires lay." I joke. We laugh deeper this time. As if not even thinking of the joke but something else, an event that’s longer lasting.

"If you could be anywhere right now, where would you be, he asks with a little more confidence and relaxation.

I sit back and think while the wine begins to dance through my thoughts.

"I'd be on the beach. With a little campfire. Maybe you could be there also," I suggest a little sheepishly. "Would you come?"

"Can we bring the wine? He spontaneously asks.

"Naturally. Let's take our wine and have a picnic, you can tell me more stories."

Stan returns to check on our evening.

I ask, "Can we cork the bottle? We'd like to pack this up for a picnic," I explain.

Stan looks at the bottle and sees there is only a few ounces left and looks confused but, obliges.

Just as the check comes a dizzying sound takes over the music.

Ding dong. Ding dong. Ding dong.

I abruptly awoke and sat straight up from my couch. A deep sigh is taken from my breath.

Ding dong. Ding dong.

Ahh. My food. Thank goodness! I'm starving and I haven't eaten since this morning.

As I walk to the door to receive my take out, I look down at my phone. My dating App is open, blinking and asking me to swipe left or right. I see him. The banker with a sweet smile and hair down to his cheek.

I breathe. My heart sinks a little in wonder as to what might be if I swipe and he swipes and we get to meet. I put my mask on and open the door to pay. I see the delivery driver is standing there with my seafood. "You wouldn't happen to know if the restaurant delivers wine, would you? I could really go for a glass of Merlot."

The drive looks at me a little unsure of what to say. He smiles and quickly disappears to his car.

My phone buzzes. "How was your service today? Please rate Stan the driver."

I sigh and smile. If only that was his name as I hit five stars for him, shut the door and then swipe right for my banker with the kind eyes. Maybe we'll get to that glass of Merlot yet.

relationships
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.