Viva logo

Building T.A.Y.S.

Sisterhood

By Deborah AmosPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 7 min read
1
International Queens

When I think of a builder, I think of someone who possesses a great deal of patience. If you're building a house or any structure, a foundation must be laid. A house or a building can't be built overnight. It takes time, and so does building people takes time and patience. I am a people builder. I am a woman builder. This is my passion. It fulfills me!

Ever since I was a little girl I've always had a love and a passion for the human race especially my kind, female humans. Notice I didn't say my color. I was what you would call the "middle girl." My friends in my elementary school followed and believed in me. When ever there was a problem or disagreement from our girl's gang they would come to me. I was the advocate. It was my calling and duty to make sure they remained friends, and they did. I developed good listening ears at an early age.

Little did I know that those precious moments in my history would set the course of my life. Not only did I become a good listener I became a builder. I am a people person, not a people pleaser. It's impossible to please everyone all the time. What I can do is touch one life at a time. This is my heart's desire to influence and impact women.

I remember reading that a woman asked Mother Teresa how can she change the world. She replied, "If you're a wife and mother, go home and love your husband and children that's how you'll change the world." I want to use all my God given talents and gifts to change the world around me.

The rest of elementary, junior and high school; I was a champion for girls and teens rights. I was a defender of justice for all, especially the young ladies. There was a special connection between myself and ostracized females. If I saw a female student sitting in the lunch room by herself, I would join her. We didn't have to talk, but my presence spoke volumes. If she chose to speak then I was there to listen.

When I was in my early thirties, I started a girl's club called, "Daughters of Destiny." Their ages ranged from five to ten years old. My girls are all grown up now in their thirties and some with their own daughters. I hear from them from time to time. They let me know that they still remember what I taught them. I taught them to believe in themselves. I taught them about how important it is to love yourself, and respect others. I told them that they were beautiful, gifted, talented, special and unique. I was still in my early stages of perfecting my skills as a builder. As I helped to develop, shape, mold and build their lives, I was building mine as well.

My confidence and self-esteem came from the love of my parents. Even though I had seven siblings, sometimes I felt like I was the only child. When young girls grow up with low or no self-worth, they look for love in all the wrong places. A father's role is extremely critical in the development in a young girl's life. I am eternally grateful that my father was in my life. He help to cultivate this belief in myself. With my parent's support, I knew I could handle life challenges. My desire was for all my girlfriends to feel like they could accomplish anything as well.

As I build this story, we have come to the part of my most recent passion. I started a group on February 14, 2021 for women called, "T.A.Y.S." (Talk About Your Sisters). TAYS reminds me of the game called, Tag You're It. Once you are TAYSED, it's your turn to keep it going by TAYSING another sister. Continue to read to understand the full meaning of T.A.Y.S.

I purposely launched this Group on Valentine's Day because the world celebrates this Love Day. This Group is all about loving, supporting, caring, giving, helping and building each other up. We speak encouraging words to each other. No matter your status, race, or religion. Those things have divided us for too long. I would love to see T.A.Y.S. grow from being National Group to an International Movement. We want to reach women, sisters, queens all over the world.

This is where I find my fulfillment.

This is my passion.

You may ask the question, "How did T.A.Y.S. begin? The conception of TAYS took place in the winter of 2019. I was leading a women's group I named Sisters of Shiloh (S.O.S.). We meet every second Saturday of the month at our church. I wanted to do something different and fun for the ladies. I had my creative juices flowing :). The word TAYS popped in my head (God).

In our first session, I asked the ladies to share something uplifting and positive about the lady sitting next to them. By the time it was over, several ladies were in tears. The ladies left that session feeling good. They were built up and encouraged. We never know what people go through from day to day. The struggle is real. A smile and a kind word can go a long way.

I knew at that very moment I had something really special. I knew I had to take it to social media, but when? I was waiting on the right time. NOW is the time. I was commissioned to build up T.A.Y.S. This group is for all women, no matter if you attend church or not. This is a positive platform for ALL women every where! Talking negative or degrading each other is not good for the soul. It tears us down instead of building us up as powerful united women.

TAYS celebrates women every day!

To TAYS is to praise!

In these days and times, we need all the encouragement we can receive. T.A.Y.S. is that safe place. A place where you can fit in. A place where you feel loved and welcomed from your sisterhood around the world. Many women work full time jobs or run their own business while raising children and managing the home. We wear several hats in one day. We are wives, mothers, grandmothers, daughters, sisters, friends and partners. Women should be celebrated every day, not just on Mother's Day or International Women's Day.

The quote below is so true. Women are incredibly strong. We are stronger than we think. Sometimes we never know how much we can handle until the opportunity present itself to showcase our strength. When life offer us lemons; we make the best lemonade. When we're faced with stumbling blocks; we turn them into stepping stones. To be a woman is a beautiful thing.

"A woman is like a tea bag; you never know how strong it is until it's in hot water." Eleanor Roosevelt

This is where I find my fulfillment.

This is my passion.

At an early age I found out that my name Deborah mean Queen Bee. That explains why I've always loved the color purple. I am Royalty. It has been my mission in life to help other Queens develop their reason for being.

"We don't knock off the crowns of our Sisters/Queens we make sure they're on right and tight." Deborah Amos

I have shared why I am so passionate about T.A.Y.S. This is where YOU enter the story :). We need financial support to turn this Group into a Movement. We would like to see T.A.Y.S. grow legs and run with other branches such as domestic violence assistance. Since T.A.Y.S. is in the beginning stages, we need funds to help women that are hurting, scarred and damaged emotionally and physically. We want to help them regain or find their self-worth, their self-esteem and their value. T.A.Y.S is currently in a campaign to raise funds to help our sisters by selling T-Shirts.

https://www.bonfire.com/store/tays-214/

We all are unique and have something to bring to the table. All women are special and important. By supporting T.A.Y.S. you're making a difference in a woman's life. Each one reach one! This is the love, joy and peace that fulfills me! This is why I Love to Build!

Finally, I will end this story with a powerful quote by Serena Williams. This quote is the summation and purpose for T.A.Y.S.

activism
1

About the Creator

Deborah Amos

I have a B.A. in Communications Studies. Founder, Director of TAYS Intl. Writing is my passion. My first book is called, Amazing Mae. I am currently working on my second and third .book.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.