Viva logo

Birth Control

It's really different for every body, but here's my experience with all kinds of birth control.

By Brianna McCormickPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

I first started taking birth control because my periods were so heavy and long. I started with the pill, I think it worked for awhile but I always forgot to take my pill so it just wasn't the right one for me.

I would only recommend the pill if you want to lighten your period or need help regulating another birth control (like the bar.) The pill only lasted me about 5 months before I gave up on it. The second birth control I tried, was the shot.

There was a Teen Health center in my school, every 3 months I went in to get my shot. I had this for 2 years. The only downfalls were I did get some pretty bad acne & bumps in my face, and I gained so much weight. I definitely could have kept the weight off if I worked out, but I was so busy with school, church and my day-day life it just wasn't a part of my routine. I didn't get my periods, just light spotting. Even the spotting was only maybe 5 times in two years.

After 2 years of the shot, my nurse told me I should think about switching birth controls. It's recommended that after 2 years of the same birth control (unless yours lasts longer of course, like the IUD) you switch it. After the shot I got the bar... I don't even know why I got the bar.

I heard nothing but bad reviews about it. Weight gain, mood swings, bad periods, etc... I kept it for about 2 years! I don't even know why I kept it because it wasn't helpful! At first it was fine and I didn't understand the bad reviews... I didn't have my period until about 6 months into it, after that it was just downhill.

I had worse cramps, bled literally every other week, I was moody towards everyone, it was not worth it! Once I got it out, I got the IUD. Let me tell you now, get someone to drive you home after!!!

They asked me to stay awhile as I would start to feel dizzy, I insisted I was fine and I left. While I was driving home I could not stop crying, it felt like I was spinning and I couldn't see straight. I made it about 5 miles and picked up my boyfriend to drive me the rest of the way. I got the IUD in 2018 and I haven't had too bad of an experience with it so far.

Although, I have noticed the hormones make me moody. Sometimes I feel so emotional and I can't contain it. But it's nothing I can't handle. Lately I've been thinking of giving up birth control because the whole concept isn't fair. I don't want kids yet, but I also don't want to be an emotional wreck! It seems like I have to pick and choose between the two, so I stay with the birth control since I'm only 20 and I'm not thinking of having my own kids yet.

I hope my experiences with these few birth controls can help you decide what to do. I do not recommend the bar what so ever, keep in mind no choice is exactly fair and each one will treat your body differently than it did mine.

Take the quiz from the link below to find the right birth control for you!

https://www.plannedparenthood.org/online-tools/what-right-birth-control-me

product review
Like

About the Creator

Brianna McCormick

I live in Juneau, Alaska!

I love helping others through what I've been through, it makes it all worth it. Sharing my stories and experiences is what I am in this for. I'm only 20 so I got a lot of future stories to share!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.