Viva logo

Antenatal Classes in Shrewsbury

All about my active birth class - which I love teaching!

By Sam The Doula (Blooming Miracle)Published 3 months ago Updated about a month ago 5 min read
3
Antenatal Classes in Shrewsbury
Photo by Nandhu Kumar on Unsplash

Looking for an antenatal class in Shrewsbury?

Are you looking for an antenatal class in Shrewsbury or online your partner can attend with you?

I run workshops for mums to be and their birth partners. Dads are especially welcome! It is ideal to attend in the third trimester, because this gives you time to absorb the information, and still have it fresh in your mind when B-Day arrives.

It’s jam-packed with everything you need to know about birth and maternity care, so you can make informed choices. It is especially helpful for first-time parents, but you're also likely to find it useful if you have experienced a difficult labour before, or if you've previously had a caesarean birth.

The nuts and bolts

Venue: (TBC)

Time: Start at 9am (9am on a Sunday, I know, sorry!)

Should take 4-4.5 hours -

Advance booking is essential!

Usually held on the last Sunday in the month

A workshop for dads-to-be

I welcome any birth partner. (Please do tell me if you intend on bringing more than one – this may incur a surcharge.) But this class is designed especially with dads in mind. It is practical and solution oriented. This is because I believe very strongly that dads-to-be need more robust support than “oh, just be there for her!”

Dads have been forgotten in the birth room for a long time, because of course, the mum and baby are the star of the show! Don’t get me wrong – they absolutely should be… But that doesn’t mean we should forget about dads’ needs completely.

I aim to help your partner feel included and essential, not “a spare part”.

Is labour progressing slowly? Here are ways dads can help things move along more efficiently.

Is the mum-to-be panicking? Here are tools to help her lower her adrenalin levels.

Has labour reached the point where it is more painful? Here are things you can do to help her feel more comfortable.

Do you suspect baby is not optimally positioned? Here are some things you can do about that.

Are you feeling as if you have no idea what is going on, or how long things will take? Here are some ways you can guess, approximately, where in the birth process the labouring woman is.

These are all useful things to know for any birth partner, of course!

I give birth partners concrete things to do to support the mum to be. I'm in a good position to do this, because I am one! I have been providing this kind of support for the last decade or so – so I have seen and experienced what tends to help, and what doesn’t.

So, by the end of the class, dads are no longer bugged by the question:

“…ok, but what do I actually DO?”

But what if I am expecting to be induced/have an epidural/caesarean?

OK, a lot of the content does centre around relaxed, active birth – but all the skills are transferable for other situations, including caesarean, post natal recovery and breastfeeding. Induction is a very common offering at the moment, and those mums need support just as much as anyone else. So please feel welcome to attend, no matter how you hope and expect for your birth to unfold.

There is no wrong way to have a baby – you could be planning to give birth with your head in a bucket of marmite, and I would still listen to you, and tailor my support to suit your needs.

My only concern is that you feel prepared and supported, whatever happens – from home birth to caesarean and everything in between!

Are you finding it hard to find the time to get to a weekly class?

This workshop is also ideal if you are unable to make it to weekly classes. I know that this can be a tricky commitment, because lots of parents work full time and are very busy! The workshops include all the information from the complete course of weekly classes and more. If you join the weekly classes, but miss one for any reason, the material is covered for you in the workshop. Grab your partner and come along. I do my very best to be flexible, so if none of the dates are suitable for you, give me a shout and we can arrange a 1:1.

Advance booking is essential

Advance booking is essential so that the group is not overbooked. I keep this group deliberately small so that I am able to speak to everyone and answer as many of your questions as possible.

Weekly Pregnancy Classes

This class is info-centric – it does not include movement or relaxation for pregnancy. If you are a mum to be, looking for a weekly pregnancy-focused class to:

  • help you prepare mind, body and baby for birth
  • ease any pregnancy aches and pains
  • encourage optimal foetal position
  • Then you are in luck! I offer this type of class as well. There is a discount if you book both.

For further information

The best way to contact me is by phone, text or Whatsapp: 07450309422

Or you can email me, find me on Facebook, or Instagram, or send me a carrier pigeon.

Other Services

  • If you are unable to attend a booked class due, please let me know ASAP so I can work with you to arrange an alternative.
  • I offer 1:1 sessions at a time to suit you if you cannot make the group sessions.
  • As well as birth prep classes, I also offer newborn and breastfeeding prep, birth support and post natal groups and recovery – contact me for more information.

TL;DR

  • Guaranteed no plastic pelvises, whale-song or joss sticks
  • Guaranteed no Enya, probably
  • Just practical information and easy-to-use tools and techniques to help you both through the process
  • Unconditional peer-to-peer support and encouragement for your choices, no matter what kind of birth you are hoping for
  • You will both leave feeling informed, confident and prepared, so that you can feel excited about the upcoming birth of your baby
  • Significant danger of tea, and possibly cake.

I can’t wait to meet you and support you through your pregnancy! If you need more info, please do get in touch.

beautyhealthfashion
3

About the Creator

Sam The Doula (Blooming Miracle)

Childbirth Eductator since 2011

Building a resource for mothers-to-be to feel informed and confident about their choices

You can find me on Facebook or book classes with me

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test2 months ago

    it's written well and packed with useful information.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.