Viva logo

Another Slap

I think we've all been there at some point in our lives

By Saso ElsaiedPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
1

Another slap. It seems like no matter how many times I make the same mistakes, I never seem to learn. I keep falling into the same patterns, the same traps, and I end up getting hurt over and over again. It's like a vicious cycle that I can't seem to break.

But even when I do recognize my mistakes, I always find it in me to forgive myself. I brush it off, telling myself that it's okay, that I'll do better next time. But the next time comes around, and I find myself making the same mistakes all over again. It's like I can't help but give myself a pass, even when I know I shouldn't.

Maybe it's because I'm too hard on myself in other areas of my life. Maybe it's because I believe that I deserve a second chance, that I deserve forgiveness. But deep down, I know that I need to hold myself accountable for my actions. I need to learn from my mistakes and grow as a person.

So here I am, facing yet another slap, knowing that I need to break this cycle. I need to learn from my mistakes, stop forgiving the same ones, and start putting myself first. It's not going to be easy, but I know that it's necessary for my own growth and well-being. Another slap may come my way, but this time, I'll be ready to face it head-on and make a change for the better.

I think we've all been there at some point in our lives. Putting others' needs and wants before our own, always willing to sacrifice our own wellbeing for the sake of keeping those around us happy. It's a noble trait, to be selfless and generous, but sometimes we can take it too far.

I can relate to this feeling all too well. I've found myself in situations where I prioritize others over myself, even when it's clear that I should be looking out for my own best interests. I've let people walk all over me, knowing deep down that it's not right, but still unable to stand up for myself.

And each time I put others first, I end up getting hurt in some way. Whether it's being taken advantage of, being disrespected, or being left feeling unappreciated, I always end up with another slap in the face. It's a vicious cycle that I can't seem to break out of.

But why do we do this to ourselves? Why do we continue to put others before ourselves, even when it leads to pain and disappointment? Maybe it's because we value the relationships we have with others so much that we're willing to overlook our own needs. Maybe it's because we fear confrontation and would rather avoid conflict than stand up for ourselves.

Whatever the reason may be, it's important to remember that we deserve just as much love and respect as anyone else. We shouldn't have to constantly sacrifice our own happiness for the sake of others. It's okay to put ourselves first sometimes, to set boundaries, and to prioritize our own wellbeing.

So next time I find myself in a situation where I'm tempted to put others over myself, I'll remember that I deserve to be treated with kindness and respect too. I'll remember that it's okay to say no, to speak up for myself, and to prioritize my own needs. And maybe, just maybe, I'll finally stop getting slapped in the face.

It is clear that the cycle of experiencing the same mistakes and enduring the repercussions can be exhausting and detrimental to our well-being. It is important to reflect on our actions and prioritize self-care in order to break free from this pattern of repeated slaps. By learning from our mistakes, setting boundaries, and valuing ourselves just as much as we value others, we can strive towards creating healthier relationships and a happier, more fulfilling life. Remember, it is never too late to break free from this cycle and prioritize your own well-being.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Saso Elsaied

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.