Unbalanced logo

Vocal Highlight: Rangers Nation

My thoughts about being part of an online baseball community

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 2 months ago 4 min read
Like
A Scher thing!

Nearly four months after the Texas Rangers won their first ever World Series title, I made a promise to myself in one of my stories I wrote about the Rangers that I would buy a jersey. Despite me being a Rangers fan for over 20 years, I've never had a baseball jersey in my life. Recently, I bought my first two Rangers jerseys, both of Future Hall of Famer, Max Scherzer. One of them was with the World Series Champions patch on the right sleeve. As you can see above, I'm proudly wearing one of my jerseys and with a witty caption. So you must be asking why Max Scherzer? I feel like he doesn't get enough praise for having a determined and never say die approach. He's won a World Series with the Washington Nationals in 2019 and another with the Rangers last November. Despite being hurt towards the end of last season and pitched in three innings of a few Postseason games, he gets the highest praise from me for being such an important part of the Rangers journey to their first World Series championship. These are the reasons why I chose to purchase two Max Scherzer jerseys.

I was searching online for a list of the best MLB fanbases and found an article from last month, via BolaVIP. They highlighted the Top 25 MLB franchises with the most fans. They based their list on the number of social media followers these teams have. So where do the defending World Series Champions rank on this list? They rank at number nine with 2.2 million fans. You're probably curious of where their rivals, the Houston Astros, landed on the list. At number 14, they boast a paltry 1.4 million fans. I've displayed my huge disdain of them on social media and on a story I did about them on Vocal. They're still cheaters and will forever have that label on them forever. To see the entire list, you can click the link down below:

https://bolavip.com/en/mlb/Top-25-MLB-teams-with-most-fans-20200528-0001.html

Now that I've gotten those out of the way, my feature on Vocal is about a baseball page on Instagram that I'm proud to be part of. Rangers Nation is a baseball community that always in the know of the latest news about the defending World Series Champions and more. Since November 2023, they have welcomed me with open arms and grateful to chat with other fans. Ever since joining this wonderful baseball community, I consider them as a second family, well rather, the supportive family I wish I had. I've been a Rangers fan since I was 13 and attended my first game. Unfortunately, it was one of the last great moments I had with my now estranged father. I grew up in an abusive and toxic household. However, watching and listening to Rangers games was my saving grace. Since then, the love for my team has never waned. I supported them through the good and bad times. Even after moving to Arkansas over a decade ago, I'll always be a Texas boy and Rangers fan. That, to me, is what being a dedicated and loyal fan is all about. Rangers Nation has recently reached 100,000 followers and I made an Instagram video congratulating them on this amazing milestone. If you're a Rangers fan and looking for a baseball community to connect with and belong, Rangers Nation is the one for you. I've never been part of a baseball community online where everyone is friendly and also passionate about the Rangers. They get my stamp of approval and I engage with them regularly. It's been over two decades since I've gone to a game in person, but based on my previous experience, it's a great way to spend time with your family. Hopefully, I'll be able to attend a Rangers game in the near future. Be sure to follow @rangers.nation on Instagram and tell them I sent you.

Be sure to follow me on TikTok, Instagram, and on Threads, which you can find info on those in my profile. Also, leave me a one-off tip at the end of this story, big or small. It'll encourage me to write more stories on Vocal and support creators like me.

baseball
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.