Unbalanced logo

Somers Wrestling Coach Taught us to Stand on Our Own

Mr. Gnida Provided the Lesson of Perseverance

By Rich MonettiPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2

In late December 2021, a Somers Icon passed away at the age of 79. Richie Gnida graduated from Somers in 1959 and got his teaching degree from SUNY Cortlandt in 1965. He began his career as a gym teacher and wrestling coach in Middletown and then assumed those duties at Somers in 1968. “He transformed the wrestling program to a powerhouse,” said Somers Grad and former Somers Wrestler and Somers JV Wrestling coach John Urgola.

In addition to the six straight league titles between 1973-1978, a whole host of Somers Wrestlers distinguished themselves at the Section One and State Levels. Vic, Dennis and Ronnie DiSanto, Scott Hauser, Fran Manfredi, Jim Devine, and the brothers Boniello - Gus, Jim, Anthony and Bobby.

I too was among the proud lineage. Although, I barely held a candle compared to these accomplished wrestlers, and the same goes for the contemporaries I shared the mat with - Dave Welker, Sean Daly, Greg Johnson, Ken Manfredi, Andy Gnida and Steve Realbuto.

But that doesn’t mean my experience as a high school wrestler under Mr. Gnida was any less memorable or important. I remember coming to practice the first time as a freshman. I was down right scared, and as time passed, I realized I was right to feel that way.

Wrestling was hard, and the unending practices, extreme dieting and the sheer weight of six minute matches weren’t all we faced. The pungent smell of that sub terrain practice room, the complete absence of sunlight, and a bear of a coach who shadowed us with a sense that Somers Wrestling was not for the ordinary.

Maybe that's a bit harsh by today’s standards. But we carried that pride with us for those four months every year, and a belief that if we could endure wrestling, we could do anything. Of course, the main anything we had on our plates was never quitting, and it would have been so easy to give in.

In our way, we had Mr Gnida and Mr Urgola. They instilled a culture where we felt a responsibility to our teammates, the coaches and all the Somers wrestlers that came before us. In fact, I still have a recurring dream where I’m going back and forth on whether I will come out for my senior year. I usually throw in the towel, and I abruptly wake up in a panic that I didn’t finish what I started. Then I am relieved that it was just a dream.

But why? 40 years later, does any of this matter? In the context of all the events we go through - the wins, losses and the practices don’t count so much. We didn’t know that at the time, but neither did we know how much the acceptance of this culture foretold about how we would handle real life

Like anyone, I had my struggles as a wrestler, and the tough times only left a Somers wrestler one option - keep showing up until the hard work pays off. Of course, in life I’ve been there too, and because of what I experienced as a wrestler, the possibility of quitting was removed form my DNA.

Thus, Mr. Gnida’s guidance played a big part in developing that perseverance, Even so, the bear also had plenty of Teddy in him. Armed with a host self-deprecating humor and jokes, he always kicked practice off with a laugh and had plenty of sustaining material through the two and half hour grinds. Of course, Mr Gnida and Mr. Urgola formed a pretty good one-two punch, and with all the old stories, played like a polished comedy team.

On the other hand, the cuddly part also had a caring side, and I remember it well when I was really struggling in my junior year. (This even if I did get the brunt of his frustration at other times. “Monetti, he’s only a freshman,” I can still hear the roar.)

So yes, I had lost another wrestle-off in hopes of gaining a spot in the varsity line up, and afterwards, I caught Gnida’s eye. He wasn’t mad, he wasn’t disappointed in me, his look was one of helplessness. He seemed to be saying, “I wish I could find a way to help.”

Maybe taking that in, I figured it out on my own soon after, which I think is the whole idea. The sport and his guidance taught us to stand on our own, and as I stated, the lessons translated into real life. I’m sure I’m not the only Somers Wrestler who feels this way, and Mr. Gnida will certainly be missed by all of us

Rich Monetti, Somers Class of 1982

Please Like Somers Sports

football
2

About the Creator

Rich Monetti

I am, I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.