Unbalanced logo

Somers/North Salem has a Good Vibe to Start Wrestling Season

Sectional Photos Below

By Rich MonettiPublished about a year ago Updated 4 months ago 4 min read
Like

Click for rest of sectiona photos https://rmonetti.blogspot.com/2023/02/somers-wrestling-sectionals.html

On Thursday, December 1, Somers/North Salem traveled to Montrose for the Multi-Meet at Hen Hud. Two matches for most of the wrestlers, a respectable 22-13 record was commensurate with Coach Ron DiSanto’s take on the afternoon.

“It was a lot of fun getting back into action. The team had great enthusiasm on and off the mat. There were good vibes, and it was a nice way to start the season, he said. “But we still have a lot of work to do in order to reach our long-term goals.”

Representing for North Salem, Robert Vrabel showed Peekskill’s Christopher Lorenzana the ceiling after only 65 seconds. Still, patience got the 145 pounder the early advantage. “I said when that arm comes up, I’m going to take my shot (low). And that’s what I did,” said the sophomore of his single leg takedown.

Not wasting any time, he threw a cross face, got the pin off the cradle and then sung praises to the combined program. Last year with Somers, he said, “It was a real learning experience and molded me into what I am this year.”

A long way to go, Vrabel has his vision focused on the eventual outcome nonetheless. “I want to make it further than I did last year,” he said. “I got to the divisionals, I want to get to the sectionals this time.”

Michael Amante, on the other hand, has no track record. A senior who decided to give wrestling a shot had no regrets after his half nelson yielded a pin in his first ever match.

Unusually coming aboard at such a late stage didn’t require any pause either. “I was told if I joined late, the team would still support me, and they were very much right,” said Amante.

Still, he was also brave to admit how he felt before his first wrestling match. “I was terrified,” said the 160 pounder.

Nicholas Goncalves knows the feeling, and experience coming up through the modified program, the freshman was able to provide more specifics. “It’s a one man sport so you can’t really blame anyone else, and you have to take accountability when you lose,” the 118 pounder revealed.

No need on this day, Goncalves took Melvin Criollo of Peekskill in a 5-4 decision, and knows what he wants to do going forward. “Win matches,” he assured.

Alex Wissa definitely paid heed in his first match. A quick takedown and turning Mamaroneck’s Nick McDonald to his back, a 5-1 first period lead put the writing on the ceiling. “I hit him with a cross face cradle and got the pin,” Wissa boasted.

Brandon Cuello didn’t waste so much time, though. “I tied him up, got an ankle pick, saw a half nelson and sunk it in,” said the 172 pounder of his 30 second pin.

Up from JV, the sophomore admits the added anxiety that a varsity slot brings, but he alleviates the nerves by keeping his goals simple. “I want to come off each match with no energy, knowing that I left it all on the mat,” the North Salem wrestler clarified.

As for Ryan Bell, there wasn’t much left of his opponent by the time the freshman was done. Riding with his legs, an 11-1 lead gave way to a second period pin at :36, and made a very good case for his confidence. “Not to jinx myself but I think I can go to the states this year,” said the 110 pounder.

If not, the bond this teams builds through wrestling means he can’t lose either way. “It’s a brotherhood and a really great sport,” Bell extolled.

Of course, winning definitely enhances the experience, and Matthew Cascio’s overtime victory was no exception.

Earning an escape to end the first period down 2-1, Cascio reversed Giovanni Gioio of Hen Hud to capture the lead but surrendered an escape for a 3-3 tie. Left in the standing position, the strategy is always to measure his prey. “I try to see what they are doing. There seems to be patterns of what high school wrestlers do, and Gioio stood up a little too much. So I shot for the takedown,” said Cascio.

A 5-3 lead going to the third, Cascio rode out most of the period. But Gioio's escape made it 5-4, and a one point stalling call on Cascio tied the score in the winning seconds.

Sending the match to overtime, Cascio got the takedown, took the match 7-5, and had his eyes pointing forward. “Last year, I was a section one qualifier, and I hope to go a little farther this year,” he said.

But for now, the boys are happier together. “I think North Salem has some great kids. They’ve become part of this team, and I’m glad we have them,” concluded Cascio.

Please Like Somers Sports

culture
Like

About the Creator

Rich Monetti

I am, I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.