Unbalanced logo

No Prior Communication With Selectors Before ODI Captaincy Decision: Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli, India's Test captain, spoke about how the process of selecting Rohit Sharma as Team India's new ODI captain went on Wednesday.

By pathanPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1

Virat Kohli, India's Test captain, spoke about how the process of selecting Rohit Sharma as Team India's new ODI captain went on Wednesday. Virat Kohli, speaking to the media ahead of the team's departure for the Test series in South Africa, said the selectors informed him that he would no longer be the ODI captain just one and a half hours before the Test squad for the series in South Africa was announced and that the Board of Control for Cricket in India had received no prior communication on the matter (BCCI). On Wednesday, December 15, BCCI chief selector Chetan Sharma was scheduled to conduct a press conference on the sequence of events. However, it was postponed later in the day.

Conversation Between Kohli and Chetan

Kohli detailed his version of events leading up to and during his meeting with the selection committee, claiming that the Chetan Sharma-led panel failed to inform him of their decision to have Rohit Sharma succeed him as captain of the 50-over side, even though he had decided to step down as captain of the T20I team at the end of the World Cup in the UAE and Oman.

He was informed that the five selectors had agreed that he would not be the ODI captain, to which he answered, "Okay, fine," and they quickly discussed it during the selection call that followed. That is precisely what took place. Before then, there had been no communication.

In the T20 World Cup lead-up, Kohli declared his desire to resign as T20I captain on September 16, citing workload concerns. He has expressed a willingness to skipper the Test and ODI teams in the future. Kohli denied BCCI President Sourav Ganguly's December 9 remark to PTI that the board had requested him to reconsider giving leadership of the short format.

Kohli Quitting T20I Captaincy

When he initially approached BCCI about quitting T20I captaincy, he addressed BCCI and said, 'This is my point of view, and these are the reasons I want to do it,' it was extremely warmly welcomed," Kohli added. That was spoken without hesitancy. He wasn't informed you don't quit T20 captaincy, but it was positively received, with many people saying it was a positive move in the right way.

So he told them he wanted to keep playing ODIs and Tests unless the office bearers and selectors thought he shouldn't. On the call at the time, he also clarified this. As a result, I've been explicit with the BCCI about what he intended to accomplish. he'd also offered them the option of declining if the office bearers and selectors believe him he shouldn't."

"It's evident why...we haven't won any ICC events." Kohli went on to say, "I understand the reasons." "There was no doubt in my mind that the decision was the right one. From a logical sense, BCCI's decision is sensible and completely understandable. What you're saying makes sense to me." In terms of how it was communicated, I've previously told you about the other situations." Second, I've previously discussed this with Rohit on multiple occasions. There are no disagreements between us. He has been trying to explain this for the past two or one-and-a-half years.

Because this question continues, he is tired of having to justify himself. And until he plays cricket, I'm confident that none of my acts or words will ever be utilized to undermine the team. When I played cricket, this was always my attitude, and it will always be my loyalty to Indian cricket." My job has always been to guide the team in the right direction, something I've tried to do even before being captain. As a result, that mindset will never alter. Rohit is a good commander with keen tactical awareness. This is evident in the games he has commanded for India and the IPL. Along with Rahul [Dravid] Bhai, who is a fantastic manager and a well-balanced coach. Whatever vision they have for the squad, they'll have my support and involvement. I'll be 100 percent behind it, and I'll continue to be a leader in ODIs and T20Is."

'Rohit Is An Excellent Captain With A Keen Sense Of Strategy.

Kohli went into further detail about his coping strategy, noting that resigning the ODI captaincy in the manner he did before a virtual tour will not damper his drive in the least. "Well, nothing is going to stop me from representing India," says the player. To be well-prepared for a tour like this and provide my best performance. "Nothing has ever been able to distract me from it, and nothing will ever be able to distract me from it," he said. "Many things that happen on the outside aren't perfect and don't always go as planned. It would help if you recognized, though, that you can only accomplish so much as an individual. We also need to keep things in perspective and focus on what we can do as people." I'm laser-focused, mentally prepared, and eager to travel to South Africa and give it my best for the squad." I'm not sure if it'll help my batting average. Those things, in his view, no one can predict. Serving as the team's captain has given him a tremendous deal of pleasure. He feels his desire to contribute to the team will not decrease in the least. He'll be ready and willing to offer the same outcomes every time. In terms of captaincy, He can say that he's open and honest about his obligations, and he has done his best to fulfill them. He has been entirely truthful in my approach to that position. That's how he feels about his captaincy in restricted overs. And when it comes to batting, when you've been doing well at the international level for a long time, you know how to do it. As a result, you'll never forget such things. It's simply a question of understanding your roles and the environment in which you'll be playing, as well as ensuring that you contribute to the team."

Kohli Will Play In The One-Day Internationals Against South Africa.

Kohli claimed he had not informed the BCCI about his decision to skip the ODI series against South Africa, as Cricbuzz reported yesterday. Such discussions have been going on in the context of the captaincy question.

"I've been available for selection all along and will continue to be." It would help if you weren't asking me this question to tell you the truth. Because I was always accessible, this question should be given to people writing about these themes and sources. "He commented on it.

"Because I have not communicated with the BCCI that I desire to relax, there have been a few stories that have come out in the past claiming that I was attending some festivities or something entirely incorrect."

In my opinion, all of the people who write these things and their sources are utterly untrustworthy. As I already mentioned, I am eligible for selection for the ODIs in South Africa, and I am keen to play."

culture
1

About the Creator

pathan

#news

#sport

#cricket

#football

#etc

Our Site Will Provide all Sport News

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.