Unbalanced logo

Incertitude Cabin

By: Clarinda and Marcia

By ClairePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night, a candle burned in the window.

Evelynn went walking in the woods. She saw from a distance that same cabin, the hint of a small blinking light from the candle could be seen. A chill ran up her spine, she shivered. The season had just turned into fall, and it was the autumn air. Then again, she kept thinking, “How did I get here? Where am I? “. Soon a rustle in the leaves pulled her from her thoughts. She wanted to appear calm, but her breathing started to quicken, her heart started to pound in her ears, and suddenly she felt terror! She thought, “Evelynn, breathe…breathe, you’re okay… breathe” … SCREAM! PAIN!

Evelynn sat up quickly in her bed. Her sweaty hair clung to her face, and she panted in and out. She was at school, in the dorms - as she thought about what had just happened in her dream. She was trying hard to even her breathing, and then she realized she was shaking. “Is she fine, is she okay?” Why can’t she get rid of this stupid dream? She had never been in the woods. She had been a city kid all her life - a Mom, Dad, annoying little brother. She thought about them as she went to shower.

She packed her lunch after getting ready for school. Absentmindedly, she grabbed a light sweater and walked out the door toward her classes. She continued to reflect on how she loved her school. She had a few friends, and parents who were not too far away. She shrugged her shoulders…” average life” …. SO WHY this dream, she grunted.

It was mid-morning in her first class of the day; she slowed her pace because she had left so early. Then she blinked, and ran, HYPERVENTALATING, “do not get caught. Hide, hide, HIDE!!!”

She could not think about where she had just been. She just knew that she must keep running faster and faster! Her legs felt weak as the sound was coming closer and closer! Her eyes widened as the sense of danger was coming closer!

Wake up! Hey! Shake, shake, shake.

Ahhh! Evelynn cried.

“Evelynn?”

“You, okay?”

Evelynn looked around, there were no woods nor sounds. Monstruous creatures were not here! “Am I back?” She asked herself. She continued to look around, grabbing whatever was in front of her, trying to gather her thoughts. There was a bag on the seat behind her and she started to put some items in the bag while smiling and softly speaking, “I am fine!” and she hurried to leave the room. She was nervous, and remained vigilante while walking toward the door.

WHERE AM I? This place is nothing like the woods.

Evelynn stepped out and saw buildings, people, and light. Frowning, she walked toward nowhere. She was lost in her though.

How can this be?

Am I dreaming?

“Wake up, wake up, if you don’t wake up, you’re going to get caught! Come on, please,” she argued, half pleading with herself.

“Hey, Evelynn! Are you going back to the dorm room? Can you help me?”

A shout jolted her back out of her thoughts. Evelynn held her breath thinking that she was dreaming still not wanting to be seen if this was not a dream. She looked at the object in the person hands and then back to the person’s face. She agreed and nodded her head to this stranger. She thought, “I guess this person knows me. Maybe I should ask questions about this place, this time. Maybe…”

“Thank you so much!”

Evelynn helped carry the object back to the dorm room. After placing the object in the room, the person left, and she was in the room by herself. She looked around and saw FOOD!

She darted to the food and grabbed as much as possible, shoveling in her mouth. She drank so much water that she was feeling sick. For this tiny moment she felt satisfied, she allowed herself to relax just a second. But she felt something was not quite right with this place.

So many questions again. That seems the routine of this place: Did she die? Is she dreaming? Did they catch her?

No, they couldn’t have caught her right? She looked around at the things around her, she took a few items that she might need, just in case. Something caught her eye. “It…it can’t be!”

She heard a growl.

STOP!

TURN!

Evelynn blinked again, she … she backed up. She looked right in front of her. The lights were too bright. She couldn’t see anything other than blinding light that hit her eyes, and that cabin behind her. They caught her. There’s no more. She couldn’t resist anymore. All avenues for escape were blocked!

She reflected on her life as of now. It started with bleak and desolate forest that was always cold and dark. Her parents sacrificed themselves for her. Her little brother - she remembers his smile, his laugh, his cry, and lastly his scream. She doesn’t know what happened to them after they were taken. She never saw them again.

Mother cried out to us to run. I grabbed my brothers’ hand and we ran as fast as we could, through the forest, trying to dodge rocks and roots. My chest hurt. My arm and hands hurt. I had to pull my brother with me but he couldn’t be quiet. In the end I wasn’t fast enough! They grabbed him, and he just let me go.

They almost got me too but I fell in a deep hole. All I could see was long thin fingers like-claws reaching towards me. They couldn’t reach that far. I could not even see color of the creatures’ hand. It was too dark down there. I stayed in that hole and I remained quiet, trying not to move from the pain. I waited for them to come for me. When it was done and eerily quiet fall around the forest, I crawled out and it was only me left here. I was all by myself. I cried.

Now these lights flashed on me. I had no place to hide, except that stupid cabin, why did I keep coming back to this cabin?

Then a loud sound rang out interrupting my thoughts. I tried to cover my ears. It was useless. Searing pain ignited in my chest. My head began to pound! Then nothing.

Why did they stop? I looked up and the lights were gone. I was in the room. I wanted to scream! What the heck is going on?!

There was a tickle on my nose. I wiped towards my nose and blood was on my fingers. What is going on? As I moved my hand there was a photo. I don’t remember this photo. When did I grab it? But - its mum, dad, and my little brother smiling and, and, and me.

I was smiling.

There was a big, tall building in the background, and blue skies. It was a beautiful scene and we looked like a happy family. Where did this come from? I touched it. It felt real. I kissed the picture as a tear slipped down my face. I missed them so much.

Why is this happening to me? I don’t remember this place. All I can remember being hunted down and hiding. No other company to soeak to. The cold, lonely nights, foraging for food. I must admit to myself, I like this place. I wish I could stay here.

The floor started to shake, the wall started to move aside. The trinkets in the room started to fall to the floor. A loud crash from the small kitchenette erupted from the side of the room. The bed creaked as it lifted up into the wall. I ran to the door desperately trying to open it. It did not move! After the few seconds there was a thunderous knock on the door. I fell to the floor, scooting, backing away from the door.

The handle started to turn.

It started squealing and rattling.

It moved, gradually turning.

Then….

product review
Like

About the Creator

Claire

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.