Trader logo

How To Build A Retirement Portfolio With Perennial Crops

Investing For The Future

By Freddie's Lost TreasuresPublished 9 months ago 5 min read
Like
1,2,3…Sustainability…Mango Tree (Photo by Freddie's Lost Treasures)

When I first moved to Mondulkiri Province, Cambodia, I had no idea what to expect. I was a seasoned traveler, looking for a new adventure and a way to make a positive impact in a developing country. I had heard that Mondulkiri was the largest and most sparsely populated province in Cambodia, with stunning natural beauty and rich cultural diversity. I was intrigued by the opportunity to live in a remote and peaceful place, away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

I rented a small house in Sen Monorom, the provincial capital, and started to explore the surrounding area. I was amazed by the thickly forested mountains, the powerful waterfalls, and the lush green rolling hills. I also met some of the local people, mostly from the Bunong ethnic group, who were very friendly and hospitable. They taught me about their traditional way of life, their animist beliefs, and their respect for nature.

I soon learned that Mondulkiri was facing some serious challenges, such as deforestation, land grabbing, and climate change. Many of the Bunong people were losing their ancestral lands and their livelihoods to large-scale plantations of rubber, cassava, and cashew. These monocultures were degrading the soil, reducing biodiversity, and increasing vulnerability to pests and diseases. I wanted to help them preserve their culture and environment, but I didn't know how.

One day, I met a middle-aged man named Dara, who was working to promote sustainable agriculture. He invited me to visit his project site, where he was growing perennial crops with a group of Bunong farmers. He explained that perennial crops were plants that lived for more than two years, such as: fruit trees, nut trees, coffee, cocoa, and bamboo. He said that perennial crops had many advantages over annual crops, such as:

* They strengthened resilience to climate change, droughts, floods, and fires.

* They boosted soil quality, water storage, carbon capture, and erosion prevention.

* They reduced the need for labor and inputs, such as fertilizer and pesticides.

* They improved biodiversity, habitat restoration, and ecosystem services.

* They offered various benefits, such as food, fuel, fiber, fodder, medicine, and income.

He showed me how he was using agroforestry techniques to grow perennial crops in harmony with the natural forest. He was planting different species of trees and shrubs in layers, creating a diverse and productive system that mimicked the structure and function of the forest. He was also integrating animals into the system, such as chickens, pigs, and cows, to provide manure, pest control, and meat. He said that this system was called a "food forest", and that it could provide food security and income for the farmers for many years.

I was impressed by Dara's work and his passion. I asked him how I could support his project. He said that he needed more funds to buy seeds, tools, and materials. He also said that he needed more land to expand his project and reach more farmers. He told me that there was a plot of land for sale nearby that was suitable for growing perennial crops. He asked me if I was interested in buying it. I thought about it for a while. I had some monies available, but I wasn't sure if I wanted to invest them in a land purchase. I had never been a farmer before (just a small-time gardener), and I didn't know much about perennial crops. I also didn't know if I could trust Dara. What if he was scamming me? What if the land was not as good as he claimed? What if the project failed?

But then I remembered why I came to Mondulkiri in the first place. I wanted to have a new adventure and make a positive impact. I wanted to help the Bunong people and the environment. I wanted to live in harmony with nature and enjoy its bounty. And I realized that buying the land and growing perennial crops was a perfect way to achieve all these goals.

So, I decided to take the risk and buy the land. Dara helped me with the paperwork and the negotiations. He also agreed to help me with the design and implementation of the food forest. He said that he would charge me a reasonable fee for his services, but that he would also share his knowledge and experience with me. He said that he would be my partner and friend.

That was a handful of years ago. Today, I am the proud owner of a beautiful food forest that produces a variety of fruits, nuts, coffee, cocoa, bamboo, and more. I sell some of my products to the local market and consume the rest with my wife and whoever our guests are at any given moment in time. I earn enough income to cover my living expenses and reinvest in my farm. I also donate some of my products and profits to Dara to support his family.

But more importantly, I have found a new purpose and joy in life. I have learned so much from Dara and the Bunong farmers about perennial crops, agroforestry, and sustainable agriculture. I have also learned from them about their culture, their spirituality, and their values. They have welcomed me into their community and treated me like family.

I have no regrets about buying the land and growing perennial crops. I think it was one of the best decisions I ever made. It has been a rewarding investment for my retirement, not only financially, but also socially, environmentally, and personally.

As an additional aside from your regular retirement portfolio of savings, stocks, mutual funds, bonds, etc., you might decide to tread water in this arena. If you are looking for a way to build a retirement portfolio with perennial crops, I highly recommend you to visit Mondulkiri Province and see for yourself what you could potentially accomplish. You might find your own piece of paradise here, just like I did for my friends and family.

۞۞۞۞۞

Original story (created by me) published on Medium.com. Any changes and/or updates that have been added on Vocal.media are for content consumption purposes.

Thank you for your time, I hope you thoroughly enjoyed what you have read today.

You now have the opportunity to buy me a cup of coffee or a hot, fresh pizza by clicking on FREDDIE'S LOST TREASURES below. Our monies collected on Vocal.media help support the Bunong tribal people in Cambodia.

I have plenty of upcoming articles on various topics, please check them out. Also, if you would be so kind, subscribe, give us a heart/like and positive comment. Lastly, if you feel inclined to do so, tips and of course pledges on Vocal are greatly appreciated. Help those who are less fortunate and make a difference!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Freddie's Lost Treasures

A traveler in search of lost and hidden treasures. I have assembled a lifelong learning of being in the business world and decided to take a leap to see what is outside the confines of brick and mortar and left the 9 to 5 behind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Brey9 months ago

    I enjoyed this

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.