Trader logo

After Woman Saved N2.5M In Her Account, You Won't Believe What The Bank Told Her.

This is a nightmare.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

This is a nightmare.

Like many people in this world, many of you I’m sure reading this story – I have a savings account. For most adults today, it is important to. It comes in many forms – an emergency backup account or a savings account that you just keep throwing money into so that it compiles and you have change laying around somewhere.

Now imagine, you have a savings account and in that account you have spent over 2 years putting money continuously into it so much so that it now contains over 2 Million Naira… only for the bank to say you cannot take the money.

What would you do?

This horrible nightmare is the reality of Nigerian Twitter user Nimrod (username @ghenhiskan) who put money into her GTBank account and is now having issues.

This is what Nimrod says happened.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

The Story

So according to Nimrod, this is what she says happened:

Opened an account with @gtbank in 2019

Dumped a fraction of my salaries in the account totaling to N2,530,000 there. Never bothered with touching it because it was supposed to be my fall back account . Went today to make withdrawal and was told that I couldn’t because there was an error made on my account opening form and it has been already uploaded on the system.

Asked what can be done and the response shook me - You can forfeit the money if you can

I am in shock still. Just in case you see someone dancing naked around area 1 under bridge , just know say na me because this one reach you mad .....

Can you imagine? Being asked to forfeit hard-earned money that you saved simply because of an error made while opening the account. Ha!

Well, Nigerians reading the story were just as in shock as I am. Nigerian actress, Kate Henshaw, seeing the story responded asking:

So why didn't they contact you since???”

To which Nimrod responded:

Me that has been going there since last year ? Everyday na “we will fix it” I de hear till today own

Over a year of going to the bank and them telling her that they’ll fix it…only to tell her to forfeit the money?! Who does that!

Nigerians responded in shock as you can imagine.

Twitter user nwachinemerem said:

E don reach to collect money na.. Nigerian banks go stress you. I go bank few years back and tell them sey you wan do fix deposit if you see how them pamper me. Na manager ofc I dey sef. Na when I wan go close am carry my money I see stress. hours they never answer me sef”

While damous of Africa said:

Ha!! Omo them go see werey if na me,na their headquarters I go land. No work for them that day until I collect my money

Trying to proffer solution, Dako Charles suggested saying (and I think I’ll use this personally if I ever run into any problems with my own bank):

Write to Director of Banking Supervision, CBN, copy MD, NDIC, DG SEC, NSE, Chairman Senate committee on Banking, MD GTB. They will beg you.

To which Omooloreni confirmed worked for him in the past:

Exactly what I did a year ago when they said my 120k will be reverted in 5 working days on top failed transaction I did to my wife's account. Told them not my own money! Na so I carry mail copy everybody for banking sector. They reverse my money in less than 45mins.

This is such a horrible thing that has happened to this woman and I hope it gets resolved very quickly. How can one have suffered and sweat to save money for so long only to be asked to forfeit it. It cannot happen o. They better find a way to reverse this. I’ll keep you guys updated if Nimrod is finally able to have them reverse it.

That’s All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

personal finance

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.