The Swamp logo

Why I abhor being Black in the USA in '22

Or, what in the actual hell is really going on these days?

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
2
Selfie taken 4FEB2022; 0959, FRI. Rocking a hoodie from my apparel brand while onboarding w/ my job for the 2nd time in less than a year.

27FEB2022; 1133, SUN

Where to begin? This is my third night in a row without any sleep until at least 0500hrs (5 AM ), while waking up before noon.

"Don't be like me!" Haha.

Seriously tho, this piece is one that I really wanted to hammer out before bedding down finally. However, I knew that I wouldn't be firing on all cylinders enough to be as eloquent and such as I'd prefer.

These mods don't approve just anything, now! Whole time tho: I wanna take a NY minute to give a huge shoutout to the fine, phenomenal folks that run; created; and/or manage this superbly splendid site.

Not only have I been submitting and (surprisingly) getting approved left and right. Quite contrary, I've been urging, demanding, and even jokingly bribing friends/Fam to get some quality posts published by them.

Now that that's out of the way, "What is life??" Used to be a fav colloquialism that I'd completely forgotten about til mere moments ago; believe it or not.

Seems like a damn near ideal query for the modern era I'm currently contemplating as I type this to some awesome beats by Tidal (the Spotify/AppleMusic/YouTube Music alternative with an urban leaning). Reminiscent of an exceptionally simple, tho introspection inducing question I recently pondered about on Twitter.

Essentially: "Taking into the multitude of extremely complicated conundrums facing America and the world today, who would you pick to lead us; and why?"

Mad Love to the one and only Carol Roth for posing such a sensational (based on Oxford's "informal" def) inquiry. I really can't wait to buy her book; and strongly recommend that y'all show her some Love in the Twitterverse.

Without going into too much detail, I named six of my fav "inspirational, insightful, & influential" individuals that more or less immediately came to mind. One that I know personally; another who'd been literally on the world stage since I was still tryna figure out if girls really had cooties; and even a couple of PhD holders.

The major theme for me, being a Pan-Africanist, was that I knew these phenomenal folks would pragmatically champion the actual philosophy that Black Lives Matter; regardless of how they feel about the org (using the term loosely) of BLM.

That being said, what in the name of sweet, Black Baby Jesus would that look like; and I is it arguably the polar opposite of what our "leaders" are currently doing? That reminds me: I mentioned that these six peeps would undoubtedly need each other and their respective teams, or their close circle of advisers, to aid them all if the world were to have virtually any hope of surviving this decade; maybe even this year (resign, now, Biden and Kamala!).

On the real tho: I'm legit wondering how many more egregious gaffes, fumbles, and/or atrocities does this current "administration" have before the rest of the public realizes that almost none of them were ever really fit to serve as "public servants", in practically any capacity?

I have a sneaking suspicion that it's not but so many more Afghanistan withdrawals, Russia "incursions", and/or Great Inflation II (or, 2.0)'s that the American people will take lying down. On everything I Love: Tribunals are feasibly right around the corner at this point.

That's, of course, presuming that The Crisis/Meltdown (as it'll likely be known), which is debatably imminent and inevitable as matters stand now, doesn't occur prior. Fun times...

Just to conclude on a personally positive note: I'm pretty sure that my Dream Team of potential, and in one case, actual political leaders won't be tapped to succeed Biden et al., before life in America gets unfathomably worse for everyone in the world. Conversely, I have little to no doubt that all but completely inexplicably, a Phoenix will rise from the ashes of the USA.

In the meantime between time, and as Cypher infamously said in the original Matrix ('99): "Buckle your seat belt Dorothy, 'cause Kansas is going bye-bye."

***

Prayerfully, someone somewhere gets something pertinent (re: useful) from this post. If that somebody's you, then please think about considering a Like/Tip/Share/Sub/Pledge, and/or checking out some of my other posts.



I'm easily reachable on Twitter; for private and/or public convos on the works written by me, my favs, as well as my other influences. Apparently, there aren't any other profiles for a "Darrius Unity", nor a "Nefarious Darrius".



Two R's in my name. Same account, undoubtedly.



Lastly, if you're in the market for an article of clothing or two, there's a link in my bio. Please don't think for a minute that I will be even remotely unappreciative of any all who "look out for the cookout".

***

opinion
2

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.