The Swamp logo

The Emancipation Struggle

Most know of the nice mainstream take on Harriet Tubman, but she was a soulless fighter!!

By Erik DeSean BarrettPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like

We have for centuries looked at the life and legacy of the great Harriet Tubman a certain way. Madam Tubman was an American abolitionist and political activist. Born into slavery, who escaped and subsequently made some 13 missions to rescue approximately 70 enslaved people, including family and friends, using the network of antislavery activists and safe houses known as the Underground Railroad. We know During the American Civil War, she served as an armed scout and spy for the Union Army. She was first woman to lead an armed expedition in the war, guiding the raid at Combahee Ferry, which liberated more than 700 enslaved people. And finally in her later years, Tubman was an activist in the movement for women's suffrage.

The biography of Harriet Tubman in its mainstream form sounds super exciting, and extremely motivating. The Mainstream story, which to perfection explains the Genesis of her story, and its revelation, but omits the sixty four book that make up the journey. The untold truths about Harriet Tubman is, her being a soulless fighter. Harriet Tubman would shoot her own family because the end, justifies the means Many deep NEGRO scholars, speak of the process to the Harriet Tubman Abolitionary story. Harriet didn’t believe in playing nice, she didn’t allow second chances. Either one did it, or they died, if one slipped up, one died. If one smelled funny, one died. It is safe to say, Harriet Tubman did not follow the Christian code of ethics. There was no turn the other cheek, they was no hold on lets see, it was either we go now, or we die.

There was on one occasion, a slave had agreed to escape with Madam Harriet. The story declares the slave got half thru the Underground Railroad, only to get cold feet. The slave was asked, was is wrong with you? The response was, I don’t think, I want to do this anymore! I feel like it is in my best interest to return where I came from. Someone, dare I say one of the Abolitionary guidance counselors tried to explain to the slave how going back was not an option. The if may continue to refer to this person as the the Abolitionary guidance counselor only because I like the name, the AGC for short, tried to school to slave to the facts. The slave was told of how his escape by now was already known. That the massa was one he find ya is not going to have mercy. As a matter of fact, he (The Massa) is going make an example outta you. And then he’s going to kill you.The slave was hearing nothing of that, for he believed at least what he had back yonder was better than what he’s got now. The slave said I’d rather die, being persecuted..

Say What the Counselor replied? But you are constantly called outside your name? So what, I am steadily feed.But you are constantly told when you can go, how long you can stay, and when you must return. So what? I got a roof over my head. The AGC was puzzled, Why wouldn’t you want to be free? The slave responded. I know I get put through hell at the house, but at least, I don’t have to try. Some would rather stay poor because the risk of trying is hard.

The Emancipation Proclamation, or Proclamation 95, or as we know them today as an executive order issued by then president of these states united Abraham Lincoln on September 22, 1862, during the Civil War.

The Proclamation read:

That on the first day of January in the year of our Lord, one thousand eight hundred and sixty-three, all persons held as slaves within any State, or designated part of a State, the people whereof shall then be in rebellion against the United States shall be then, thenceforward, and forever free; and the executive government of the United States, including the military and naval authority thereof, will recognize and maintain the freedom of such persons, and will do no act or acts to repress such persons, or any of them, in any efforts they may make for their actual freedom.

The Proclamation changed the legal status under federal law of more than 3.5 million enslaved African Americans in the secessionist Confederate states from slave to free.

The full law even though signed in September didn’t take full effect until January 1, with a two plus year layover for Texas resulting in their learning of the EP on June the 19 aka JUNETEETH.

Thats when It fully took effect, but before the ink was dry that September day some 25,000 to 75,000 slaves were immediately emancipated; As soon as a slave escaped the control of the Confederate government, either by running away across Union lines or through the advance of federal troops, the slave was permanently free. That’s all they had to do, see the union Run, and Don’t look back; YET SOME who’d rather stay slaves.

I read an article which posted a letter written by an ancestor of a slave. A woman by the name of Clair Davis, who was longing for the days of Deep South Alabama.

Her letter reads like thus...

White folks you can have your automobiles, paved streets and lights. You can have your buses, and street cars, and hot pavement and tall buildings cause I aint got no use for em no way. I tell you what I do want--I want my old cotton bed and the moonlight shining through the willow trees, and the cool grass under my feet while I run around catching lightening bugs. I want to feel the sway of the old wagon, going down the red, dusty road, and listening to the wheels groaning as they roll along. I want to sink my teeth into that old ash cake. 

 White folks, I want to see the boats passing up and down the Alabammy river and hear the slaves singing at their work. I want to see dawn break over the black ridge and the twilight settle over the place spreading an orange hue. I want to walk the paths through the woods and see the rabbits and the birds and the frogs at night...

But they took me away from that a long time ago. Weren't long before I married and had children, but don't none of em contribute to my support now. One of them was killed in the big war with German, and the rest is all scattered out--eight of em. Now I just live from hand to mouth. Here one day, somewhere else the next. I guess we all gonna die iffin this depression don't let us alone. Maybe someday I'll get to go home. They tell me that when a person crosses over that river, the Lord gives him what he wants. I don told the man up yonder I don't want nothing much---only my home, white folks. I don't think that's much to ask for. I suppose he'll send me back there. I been waiting a long time for him to call. 

The question I get from this conversation, is what do you do, when all you can think of doing is going back?

history
Like

About the Creator

Erik DeSean Barrett

Blogger👨🏾‍💻 Vlogger🎥 Podcaster🎙Life Enthusiasts!!! On mission to prove one can do what they believe despite what anyone says.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.