The Swamp logo

Saying Goodbye

A National Tragedy

By Sarah DickinsonPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
2

Dear Mr. Resident of Pennsylvania Avenue,

As I sit here to write this letter, I find myself needing to drown out my own conflicting thoughts. I consider things I would have liked to tell you, if only you would have listened, and doubtful you ever would have cared. I reflect back to the moments over the past few years and all the words I have had for you. I do this knowing my words would never have moved you, no matter how eloquently I scribed them. I doubt you even would have understood half of them, yet here I am, still doing my best to give it a go.

My anger quells before reigniting while I collect my thoughts. I wonder if you are even aware of what you’ve really done. I doubt you see the big picture and instead were merely focused on how good it felt to your ego that so many loved you, trusted you, believed in you, and would in fact die for you. The irony that they mean nothing to you isn’t lost on me, however. I’m sure for them it’s crushing, and I can’t help but find myself feeling glimmers of pity for some of them in the coming days as they will surely witness you turning on them to try to save yourself. Not the racists, nor the Nazi wannabes, but the undereducated ones who have been living in fear as they encounter so much that they don’t understand. To the mentally unstable ones who believed in your demigod status not understanding the seat of racism and hatred it was built on. I wonder as you watched your pieced together army of society’s underbelly rush off on their mission, did you really think it would work? Did you ever see past your desire to be vindicated and victorious to catch a glimpse of what you have done?

Such questions are futile. I know. One doesn’t have to look very far to see your narcissism, sociopathic lack of empathy, your elitism, privilege, incompetence, or ineptitude. The question never was were you a good man or if you were a smart man. The question always was just how good of a salesman were you. As we can see in those who still birth excuses to try and support you: indeed, you are. The king of the snake oil salesmen who helped damage our country. With your corruption, propaganda, cruelty, lies, and racist rhetoric that enflamed, the white nationalists in our country may very well have one true accomplishment: civil war.

I have been voting for over 20 years, and when I registered at 18 years old, I played the tensest game of eenie meenie miney moe as I checked the box that said Republican. Since that day, I have been described as a liberal conservative. I believe in equal rights, small government, personal responsibility, and capitalism. Despite this, I still understand that we are the only developed first world nation that allows health care and education to be a business, not a right. I understand that every system in our country has been built on the foundation of racism. I understand that the core of this country is founded on the bedrock of immigration and protest. I have no problem paying taxes for people who can’t because they have nothing, but I’m filled with rage at having to pay taxes for the billionaires who won’t. The reason I tell you this, is to create the understanding that my anger is not directed solely at you. It falls squarely on the Republican party.

See, every single abhorrent, disgusting, and criminal thing you have done doesn’t surprise me. The enabling support of the republican party has. Along with their support of your policies despite how deplorable they were, their aid in blowing on your dog whistles of racism, and their elitism to take care of their wealthy lobbyists and billionaire friends. Also, their culpability in your propaganda, because let’s be honest, it’s not simply lies but propaganda to further the divide. I witnessed the party call out in bully style dramatic outrage over everything they didn’t like moments before they cried about cancel culture when they were faced with any responsibility. I watched them echo and reinforce the lie, knowing full well it was a lie, about election fraud. They called Democrats the enemy. Then our democracy was attacked, and instead of being the party of personal responsibility, they attacked the notion of their mouthpiece being held accountable. A leader who manipulated through lies and dog whistles an angry mob, and then directed that mob of domestic terrorists to attempt sedition and stop the government in carrying out its constitutional duty. Instead of defending their country, their oath, or their constitution, they continued to spread his propaganda while ham fistedly asking for unity. They’ve tried blaming celebrities, democrats, and cancel culture in their campaign of attempting to change history and keep themselves and you as victims. Now, I’ve never held the naivety that politicians of any party care about us. I always thought they cared about their country, the constitution, and their oath. They only care about their wealth and power.

The only comfort I take in my anger is watching you lose everything. Your power, your money, and God willingly your freedom. I know history books do not favor politics nor feelings, and the knowledge of how your name will be reordered as the only bright spot of your time in office. You will go down as the worst president we have ever had. The most corrupt, the most ignorant, and the most damaging. Your lies, tweets, crimes, racism and ineptitude will be recorded. Your two impeachments, losing the popular vote twice, your record job loses, recession, inability to handle a pandemic resulting in the deaths of hundreds of thousands of Americans, and your running out of the white house in shame. The name Trump will be a cautionary tale of whom not to be. Your failures and faults will serve as a lesson of how in the end democracy prevailed. How good beat evil and our country was saved from the brink. Perhaps some angry historian will add how your father was right not to love you because you really were a loser all along. But what I hope, in my heart of hearts, is that America holds accountable the disgusting traitors that aided you. They have blood on their hands as much as you, and deserve to lose their positions, power, and wealth. They deserve to live a long and miserable lives as the enemies that they are: Donald Trump, Jr; Eric Trump; Melania Trump; Tiffany Trump; Ivanka Trump; Jared Kushner; Rudy Giuliani; Sydney Powell; Bill Bar; Betsy DeVos; the sniveling toad that is Lindsey Graham; Mitch McConnell; Ted Cruz; David Perdu; Kelly Loffler; Mike Pence; Josh Hawley; Tommy Tuberville; Cindy Hyde-Smith; Roger Marshall; Rick Scott; John Kennedy; Cynthia Lummis; Robert Aderholt; Mo Brooks; Jerry Carl; Barry Moore; Gary Palmer; Mike Rogers; Andy Biggs; Paul Gosar; Debbie Lesko; David Schweikert; Rick Crawford; Ken Calvert; Mike Garcia; Darrell Issa; Doug LaMalfa; Kevin McCarthy; Devin Nunes; Jay Obernolte; Lauren Boebert; Doug Lamborn; Kat Cammack; Mario Diaz-Balart; Byron Donalds; Neal Dunn; Scott Franklin; Matt Gaetz; Carlos Gimenez; Brian Mast; Bill Posey; John Rutherford; Greg Steube; Daniel Webster; Rick Allen; Earl Carter; Andrew Clyde; Marjorie Taylor Green; Jody Hice; Barry Loudermilk; Russ Fulcher; Mike Bost; There’s more.

While all of these names should go down in the books as the embarrassments they are to their country, party, and states, notable few like the Trump family and their closest allies deserve to be arrested. Others like Hawley, Cruz, Tuberville, McCarthy, Brooks, Gaetz, Taylor Green, Boebert, and Cawthorn need to be investigated and face criminal charges for their role in this sedition.

trump
2

About the Creator

Sarah Dickinson

I'm a lifelong resident of beautiful upstate New York. Mother of two amazing humans and three equally awesome rescue dogs. I'm the author of Silver Spoons : One's Journey Through Addiction, and I'm currently working on my follow up novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.