The Swamp logo

Native American Indians

Help

By SammoSun McNuggetPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
Native People

Hello,

I am a Native American man that originally lived in Oklahoma. There are many different tribes that live here in the United States. I am apart of the Comanche tribe. My people are a dying race, our numbers are small and are steadily declining. Native Americans will be in the verge of extinction at some point in the near futur. You may think well we can just repopulate, but it’s harder than that. We are a race that is over looked and mistreated even to this day. We are profiled by many people that know we still exist. I had went to middle school in the country rural area of Oklahoma, and when I went to American history, they talked like the Native People have already died off. The reservations are no place for someone to live, but there are many native people that still live on them. The reservations aren’t owned my the tribe thst lives in it. The U.S government own it. The people on the reservations can’t change or plant anything because they don’t own it, there is no vegetation that grows on most reservations, just dirt and sand mostly. No businesses where people can work to try and make money to leave the reservation exists. When someone tries to leave the reservation for a vacation or to visit family they are immediately stopped by a cop that just basically lives outside of the Rez. There is so much suicid and alcoholism in the reservations because of the depressive state of mind they have to endure. Personally I have been to many reservations throughout the years and have been so shocked every time I drive through and visit one. Leaving a reservation almost every time I get stopped by a cop and then ask where I’m going and then saying “your not supposed to be leaving your home” . I am so disappointed in the United States for treating a group of people like this. We are basically segregated from the world and have no way of leaving a reservation to find a better life. I would go into statistics over the death Native Americans, but I won’t because you can look it up yourself. We are top rated in many things when it comes to death, even tho we are the smallest number of people. My people have been done wrong and I don’t think there is a way to help us now. I am so proud of my culture, but what is my culture going to do when there is no more of us. My people are calling for help and no one is listening. I have experienced racism my whole life, just because I’m Native American. Life is really hard for me even though I don’t live on the reservation, but I do want to make the reservations a better place to live so that there won’t be as much depression or alcoholism or suicide. I join the army and even hear everyone thinks that Native Americans of died out. Once the knowledge of native Americans have been put out there, Then I believe that our lives will be a little bit easier and people start seeing us again in big cities and it won’t be as rare for us to show up to events. Native Americans are so separate from each other that it’s hard to get them all to come together. Native Americans need help I need help. If my culture is gone I don’t know who would care. If my culture is gone I don’t know who would care, because there is no one to preserve it in the first place. Help us. We really need it.

controversies
2

About the Creator

SammoSun McNugget

I just want to be more creative and well I haven’t been having the greatest life rn, but I’m trying.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Whitney L. Behen 2 years ago

    My goodness, that is so sad. That is crazy. I'm sorry that the Native Indian's have to go threw such things. When I was younger I always asked my dad why couldn't the Native Indians and the White Americans get along or live together, they could have learned from each other. My dad said Greed played in it on both sides. I was adopted so I'm still trying to learn the history because I just feel like I'm part Native in my heart.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.