The Swamp logo

How Would I Handle the Entire COVID-19 Crisis?

If I Were a Billionaire

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I would give the post office enough money to stay open, despite rumors of shutting it down in June, which would never happen anyway because that is unconstitutional. The United States cannot survive without the postal service, period. I would also be donating thousands of ventilators to anybody who asked, not leave states in the lurch. I'm seeing this crisis as an opportunity to test myself, to see if I can handle stress better than I ever have, despite the fact that, in the present, I have trouble handling stress. I'm going to need to pay for a real therapist so I can learn better stress management skills eventually.

The fact is that for the moment, I'm not a billionaire yet. I'm going to order natural remedies for myself with that stimulus check I'm getting though, as in, licorice tea, and rose hip in pill form, and I'm also getting vitamin C. Seeing as I don't have much money right now, to pay for a decent therapist, I have to rely on freebies such as the program at my local State college. Now, how to get to the point of being a billionaire, but start that social network for psychic's idea that my blog talks about.

My idea is there because not every psychic gets a base salary, so this idea would allow them to make money by lowering their prices to the point where it isn't necessarily a whole, "I get paid on commission," deal; while--my--bookstore--gets--a --cut, kind of situation. The fact is psychics need health insurance like everybody else; they need their job to be legitimized, because COVID-19 is a very nasty virus that was cooked up or came from nature, like most viruses do. Whatever excuse you prefer about its true origins, that is, will float your boat somehow.

Never mind the Facebook threads I have run into about people saying the virus could have been circulating in December 2019 or even as earlier as November. I did have a dry cough back then, but the true test would be to get antibody tests so as to prove I was exposed or not. Our health care system is in such shambles, however, that putting it back together is a hassle the GOP does not want to deal with, since they are having severe denial issues, having picked on one of their own kind, Mitt Romney, for having a conscience.

At any rate, this virus will eventually disappear or be conquered. I didn't get swine flu because I stayed home a lot during that pandemic that many people I knew had it. The fact is, germs are everywhere, all the time, every day. Your immune system destroys the ones that could get lucky, and make you sick. As a billionaire, I'd make the health care system free for everybody, because our system is falling apart as it is. Not everybody can get a coronavirus test? That is unbelievable since in other countries, people can. But no, we saucy and lazy Americans can't seem to get our act together. I have long said it will take a huge public health crisis to bring about desired changes in health care, and long have I predicted this.

More research is warranted on how coronavirus could have been in our population back in November-December 2019, when people were still going out. Coronavirus is real now, making very bad cases have to be on ventilators. The whole thing is scaring many people, particularly essential workers. The ill should be tested, made able to recover, and sent back to work but anybody with any disability who is on disability cannot work with this virus lurking around every street corner, which is why I'm glad non-essential workers stay home. For this reason, the stimulus checks come out, and I hope this virus is something we can weather.

Works Cited

https://constitutioncenter.org/blog/can-america-survive-without-the-united-states-post-office

opinion
Like

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.