The Swamp logo

How I Learned to Love President Donald Trump - a retrospect in the year 2022 - originally published in 2016

or How I stopped worrying and loved the bomb

By Jason GiecekPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
How I feel with our current political chaos in place. Should we just nuke everything from orbit just to make sure?

Would you buy a used car from this guy?

NOTE TO READER(S): I wrote this originally a few years ago, but guess Vocal's servers screwed up and shortened the original piece from 600 words to just 9 and I didn't have the original text but the peeps behind the madness we know as Vocal said "It's fine!! No worries, we fixed!!" and I went on.

They paid me 5 bucks for the "mess up". I mean, five bucks is five bucks.

It bought me beer.

I was happy.

Tonight, I wrote another piece and after hitting submit, noticed that 4 months ago, I guess, the power that be decided to unapprove my lovely "Art" piece of Donald Trump's smiling face with the words "Would you buy a used car from this man?" and the video from "How I learned to love the bomb!" as it was too short, needs to be 600 words or something.

I was going to delete this, my most read piece on here(97 folks clicked on it, probably wondering what was this man, a nobody in the world, smoking to make such a claim of loving Then President Donald Trump.

I can surely tell you, I forget what I was smoking at the time as this was written a few months into the administration of Donald Trump.

Seriously it was all done tongue in cheek; I had friends who loved this man, to the point they named their kids, their daughters even, Donald.

I wish I was kidding.

We now sit in a few years of the President Joe Biden's administration.

I guess I could retitle this piece, my reflections of 2016.

We've survived into 2022, going into 2023, we survived almost 4 years of a pandemic, some people thought it was all an illusion, why wear a mask, we became divided, a world actually, we learned things about our fellow man.

Mostly that we, as a race, a planet, are idiots.

If this had been a real nasty bug; bleeding through our pores, our minds turned to mush, a real nasty bug, we'd been dead, a pile of goo.

Our loved ones dying around us, there would still be the doubters, yelling "The masks do nothing!! Our president said so himself!!!"

We would have been extinct in less time than it takes a flea to fart.

I guess we, the survivors, made it through a historical event. We lived quarantines, empty shelves of toilet paper, who needs meat when we still have beer.

I was amazed that the liquor supply chain never seem to be affected by the pandemic.

We didn't have beef or toilet paper but my Steel Reserve was there fully stocked.

My beer guy was awesome.

I thanked him for supplying the necessities of life; the beer man, the beer.

Who needed Macaroni and cheese?

And we home schooled.

Our poor kids had true idiots for teachers.

It would have been better off for them to have the dog or cat teach them advanced theories of breathing underwater.

Or algebra.

Whichever one was the hardest.

Today it is December 21st, 2022 - it does not feel like we've advanced to the point the science fiction writers of the 30s imagined it would be like "In the future!"

We have no flying cars.

There are no colonies on the Moon or Mars.

But we got beer and uh, The Internet; a huge resource of information and memes of talking cats.

Talking cats are funny, make us forget we elect talking heads and then listen to the talking heads about the talking heads.

If President Donald Trump taught me anything, it is that if an ex-game show host/billionaire can become president, anyone can.

And for that, I love you Donald Trump, don't ever change!

So here we go into the future, 2023 - we begin a new year!! New challenges but as long as the beer man can run, we'll be okay!

politicianspresident
Like

About the Creator

Jason Giecek

A poet who cannot rhyme, a dreamer who dreams in reality, realist who gave up realism last week as part of his plea agreement. The courts got nothing!! Nothing!

I'm on Twitter --- https://twitter.com/MisterDonkeyKon FOLLOW ME!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.