The Swamp logo

Don Lemon terminated by CNN

The news broke shortly after Fox axed Tucker Carlson

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished about a year ago 3 min read
3

Don Lemon is stunned that he was fired

The world of News Media is reeling after two recent shakeups with CNN and Fox. Both Tucker Carlson and Don Lemon have been fired. There have been rumblings for quite some time that both new anchors have been saying things that have stunned the public and that it was only a matter of time before they were let go from their respective jobs. Lemon announced that he was fired. Some viewers of CNN had suspected that Lemon would be gone after his good friend Christ Cu0mo lost his job.

Lemon was born March 1, 1966, in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, the son of Katherine Marie (Bouligney) and Wilmon Lee Richardson. He was given his stepfather's last name and found out when he was 5 that Richardson was his bio dad. His ancestry includes African American, Caucasian, Scottish, French, and Creole.

Lemon is hurt that he was notified through his agent

Early in his career, Lemon was an investigative reporter for a Fox News affiliate and also worked for NBC Nightly News and Today. Lemon began working at CNN in 2016 and the network gave this announcement about his leaving.

Don will forever be a part of the CNN family, and we thank him for his contributions over the past 17 years,” Licht said. “We wish him well and will be cheering him on in his future endeavors.”

Lemon was told by his agent that he no longer had a job and his response was "I'm stunned." His Twitter post revealed the following"

I was informed this morning by my agent that I have been terminated by CNN. I am stunned. After 17 years at CNN, I would have thought that someone in management would have had the decency to tell me directly. At no time was I ever given any indication that I would not be able to contiue to do the work I have loved at the network. it is clear that there are some larger issues at play. With that said I want to thank my colleagues and the many teams I have worked with for an incredible run. They are the most talented journalists in the business and I wish them all the best.

Don Lemon was blindsided by his firing

The news anchor has been outspoken on many subjects that caused public blowback as when he was critical of the African American community as a whole and has on several occasions bitten the hand that feeds him by publically criticizing CNN. In recent months headlines stated that Lemon was having meltdowns on air and being disciplined behind closed doors. Lemon obviously could not see the handwriting on the wall as the viewing audience did because in at times his banter with Cuomo was questioned by those who watch CNN who said the duo was crossing lies.

In recent months Don Lemon has made disparaging comments related to his cohosts and older women which were disturbing and some who watch the network began saying it was only a matter of time before the news anchor would go the way of his good friend and former co-worker. It's clear Lemon is devastated that he lost his job and also shocked that he was not even given a heads-up.

CNN not informing him of why he was let go is very telling. Perhaps he had been given warnings off-camera that if he did not simmer down he could lose his job but he never thought it would happen and now it has. Both Lemon and Tucker Carlson are talented and hopefully, they can move on to bigger and better things.

controversies
3

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Thank you, for detail information story, subscribe

  • Interesting. I hadn't heard. I've been busy catching up on stories from the people I follow, so I wouldn't even know about Tucker if my wife hadn't told me. I wish neither of them ill. I wish them both future success. But if they haven't learned anything from this, I don't want it to be in any form of media, be it news, radio, print or social.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.