The Swamp logo

Afghanistan, The Taliban a case in point

From a Nobody

By Bruce Curle `Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
3
Kabul Has Fallen created with Photofunia.com

I am a fifty-something member of society from Canada. I have had two children and many foster children over the years. I have worked since before I was sixteen years old and have been to many different parts of the world.

I have always never tried to change the entire world but always tried to improve the little corner of the world I called home. I have always believed if everyone on the planet worked to improve their little corner of the world, it would be a much better place.

Early this morning, my worldview was challenged and forever changed. I could not sleep after my dog went out very early to urinate and chase the raccoons through the yard. I turned on the television to the BBC World News and watched desperate people cling to the side of a US Airforce military jet as it took off and drop to their deaths.

My world was disrupted and nearly shattered; twenty years ago, a force of military powers, including troops from my own country, went into Afghanistan to capture terrorists and ultimately free the people of that country. To allow a free press to flourish, women to experience the joys of education and be permitted to work outside of their homes if they choose. Images I watched showed helicopters using their blades to force terrified civilians off tarmacs, runways filled with people and crying children. This was not the 1970s; this was 2021.

I sat there shocked to the core remembering the words of one of the most powerful leaders on the planet say, “None whatsoever. Zero … There’s going to be no circumstance where you see people being lifted off the roof of an embassy of the United States from Afghanistan.” (Guardian Newspaper Online Aug 15, 2021) The President of the United States, Mr. Joe Biden, spoke these words a month before U.S. helicopters had to airlift the ambassador and staff off of their embassy roof in Kabul.

I looked online at the photos in Saigon, South Vietnam, 1975 as terrified masses try to climb the gates and people, are shuffled onto the Embassy Rooftop. I look at the BBC News in 2021, as USA helicopters flee the USA Embassy to the airport.

I am just an average person trying to make sense of what is going on in the world. I have one advantage over many of my neighbours. I have an interest in Indie Film Making and am online with film creators around the globe. Over the years, I have encountered a few people in Afghanistan that worked as journalists, filmmakers and had interests in free speech and justice for all. One warned me almost a month ago that he feared that the Taliban would sweep over his nation and crush it.

He told me, “Once we are gone and the West has forgotten about us, Isis, Al-Qaeda and others will appear in my country, and within our lifetime, you will all be back” (Twitter July 2021 name withheld)

I looked at the words of other people I knew from film and other sources. Some disliked Western Culture, our materialistic ways, and how their lands have been exploited, but they feared the Taliban’s religious zealots. They had peace mixing their faith and politics. They believed a nation governed by the Taliban would be a step backwards for Islam and people of any faith.

I sat back in my chair drank some green tea and truly wonder if the world shared the duties and expenses better, would Afghan people be happier today and feel more secure. I also began to wonder why the Americans could leave a presence in Germany & Korea for over seventy years but not give enough time for a country like Afghanistan to mature.

I was surprised when I looked on www.worldometer.com and found the average age in Afghanistan is 18.4 years. Having been a parent and foster parent, I know many young people need to grow beyond 18 years of age before finding their destiny but given a chance to mature and grow they become confident, strong people.

Thank you for reading. I appreciate your thoughts, subscriptions, and written comments. Would you please pray for the people of Afghanistan? Also, the leaders of your nations as we face the rest of 2021.

Peace to you all, may your God go with you.

humanity
3

About the Creator

Bruce Curle `

A Fifty something male that enjoys writing short stories, scripts and poetry. I have had many different types of work over my lifetime and consider myself fairly open minded and able to speak on many topics.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.