The Swamp logo

Aaron Rodgers: It's Always Something

A look at the last near four years of Aaron Rodgers flat out saying the wrong things

By Clyde E. DawkinsPublished about a month ago 4 min read
5

You know, I have to say this. I have to. Because if I don't, I'll explode.

You know the real reason why I didn't waste time embracing Jordan Love as the Green Bay Packers' new starting QB? There were other reasons, yes--curiosity, a new chapter, and the fact that Love was the first-ever Black starting QB in the Packers' long history. But you want to know the real reason? Because I, like a number of Packers fans, was just sick of the drama. I really was.

Now, let me make one thing perfectly clear. I am forever--forever--grateful to everything Aaron Rodgers did for the Packers. Everything. The MVPs, the clutch plays, the Hail Marys, owning the Bears, and of course, Super Bowl XLV. Hell, I wrote a poem about it. And I still stand by my statements that we should have tried to get more key pieces for Rodgers. I still stand by all of that.

However, with the dumb shit Rodgers has been saying in the last almost four years, my gratitude is about to end there. The man's a great QB, and I mean a great QB, but he can't shut the fuck up to save his life.

For me, it all started with the obvious: his anti-COVID/anti-vax stuff. Now, I've never said this publicly, but I will for this one and only time. I am staunchly pro-COVID protocols. It does seem like it's all a lot, but I still say they're necessary. When Rodgers caught COVID during the 2020 season, that's when it came out that he wasn't vaccinated; remember, he said, "Yeah, I've been immunized." He went off on all sorts of tangents against the protocols and all else, and well, you know the rest. Now even though I absolutely disagree with Rodgers' stances, I would have let that go had he stopped there.

Unfortunately, he didn't.

I hate that he went to the New York Jets, and that's mainly because that was Brett Favre's route, and we all know Favre caused a lot of drama in his last years with the Packers. Rodgers' Jets debut only lasted four plays before he ended up injured and out for the season. Now you would think that Rodgers would be concerned with the state of the Jets' season, but instead, he continued to say the quiet parts out loud.

We know about the whole thing with Jimmy Kimmel; they had been feuding for a good bit ever since Rodgers showed his ass when it came to COVID, and it was very recently that Rodgers was on TV basically saying that Kimmel was on Jeffrey Epstein's list, an accusation that Kimmel's loudly denied, and even threatened to sue Rodgers. Now, Rodgers made his statements doing one of his many appearances on Pat McAfee's show, and that ended up getting McAfee and ESPN in a lot of hot water, to the point where Rodgers no longer appears on the show.

But that still hasn't stopped Rodgers from running his mouth, as I've learned on Twitter that he's been cozying up to Joe Rogan, who's as ignorant and bigoted as they come, and it's been said that he's one of those nutjob Sandy Hook deniers. I read somewhere that one of our old backup QBs, either Brett Hundley or DeShone Kizer, said that Rodgers had some whacked-out theories about 9/11. Speaking of, I just now read that Rodgers believes that immigrants will join the U.S. military and turn against this country.

Oh God...

I'm just going to put it all out there. This is less about Aaron Rodgers saying stupid shit, and more about a disillusioned Packers fan who refused to listen to those who tried to tell him that Rodgers is a prick. Other fans tried to tell me. My close friends and loved ones tried to tell me. Yet how did I respond? I ignored it. I argued. I played gatekeeper and accused my fellow Packers fans of being "fake fans." Rodgers has been showing his ass big time since the middle of the 2020 season, and with each time he's put his foot in his mouth, it only reminds me of how I didn't listen to those who know I'm a Packers fan.

I came to a conclusion about a few months back that Rodgers phoned it in during that 2022 season. Think about it. Jordan Love had pretty much the same exact team in 2023 that Rodgers had in 2022. Rodgers didn't have any urgency until November and December during that year, and it resulted in the Packers losing a win and in game at home to end that season. And how did Love do with that exact same team? Did his best in the first half, picked it up in the second half, won a win and in game at home in the final week, finished with a better record, won his first playoff game in blow out fashion, and almost ended up playing for the conference. Why? Because Love actually tried. I think Rodgers went through the motions in 2022 and was planning to get out of Green Bay.

Aaron Rodgers: great QB, but man oh man, does he need to keep his rabbit mouth shut. Yet he's hanging around with RFK Jr. with aspirations of becoming Vice President. Even worse, the same bigoted clowns who buried Colin Kaepernick for speaking the truth, and told LeBron James to "shut up and dribble" when he said things that needed to be said? Crickets when it comes to Rodgers' nonsense. I guess it's only those of us with just a hint of melanin who need to "stick to sports."

featurecontroversiescelebrities
5

About the Creator

Clyde E. Dawkins

I am an avid fan of sports and wrestling, and I've been a fan of female villains since the age of eight. Also into film and TV, especially Simpsons and Family Guy.

Feel free to follow my social media:

Twitter - Facebook - Tiktok - Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson23 days ago

    Fantastic review!!! 💕❤️❤️

  • Mariann Carrollabout a month ago

    I don’t know the sports politics but I see decisions that sports team make does affect the drama .

  • Stephen A. Roddewigabout a month ago

    Not disagreeing with anything you said here, but hope you’ll be ready with that delete request on Inauguration Day before Vice President Rodgers find this 👀👀

  • Philip Gipsonabout a month ago

    You nailed it on Aaron Rodgers. He's a clout-chaser like most people.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.