Styled logo

Why I Think "Dress The Way You Want to Be Addressed" is Nonsense - Angel Smith

Angel gives her thoughts on popular quote

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Big Brother Naija contestant Angel Smith from the first minute she stepped into the house and into Nigerian discourse was the topic of many conversations. Her free-spirited nature and mode of dressing made her a very polarizing person. Some people really loved her, and some really hated her.

Now, in a new interview with Saturday Beats, Angel is talking about her dressing and how it made people think she wasn't intelligent. She gives her honest thoughts about the quote "dress the way you want to be addressed". She also opens up about her life post-Big Brother house, advice for new housemates, and her relationship with her parents. Here's everything Angel said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Angel Smith dressing before BBNaija house

Speaking about the quote "Dress the way you want to be addressed", Angel said:

Honestly, I feel like the quote, ‘Dress the way you want to be addressed’, leads to a whole lot of other issues such as sexual assault. Even people who cover their bodies completely get raped; so, I don’t believe in that statement. I feel that statement only encourages more acts like rape. I do not judge people based on how they look. Even the #EndSARS protests stemmed from police officers stereotyping young Nigerians because of the way they dressed, as well as for having tattoos and dreadlocks

Speaking about how people equate her intelligence to her dressing, Angel said:

Those that did not see the intelligent side of me chose not to do so. It was always obvious in the conversations I had. However, a lot of Nigerians like to stereotype. They were rather focused on my dressing, my tattoos and how I choose to represent myself physically. It (intelligence) was always there and if people are just getting to see it now, it means in their terms, I’m starting to dress better. Everyone has been talking about how there has been a change in the way I dress since the reunion

Speaking about staying relevant after the show, Angel said:

I feel that ‘doing well’ is relative. Some people appear successful on social media but are not doing well in reality. I don’t think there is anything I do that is out of the ordinary. I still party and have fun, and I am still the same Angel, though there is some growth in certain areas of my life as I am getting older. Most importantly, God has been on my side.

Giving advice to new Big Brother housemates, Angel said:

My advice to them is that they should go there and be authentic. That is the advice I gave myself, and that is the same thing I will tell fresh contestants.

Speaking about how relationship with parents changed after the show, Angel said:

My relationship with my dad has always been rock solid. But, after BBN, things have been kind of shaky because he is a busy man and I am busy as well. We were very ‘chit-chatty’ before BBN. Now, most of our conversations are work oriented, but we are still cool regardless. He will always be my biggest supporter. My mum and I are cool. As a matter of fact, she just left my house to return to Ghana. We had to work on our relationship and there were lots of growing up to do. However, our relationship is definitely better and we get along better.

Angel Smith dressing after BBNaija house

What do you think about what Angel said about the popular quote? Do you agree with her? Do you disagree? Let me know what you think by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

trends
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Emily Dickerson2 years ago

    I wonder about the truth behind the idea that dressing a certain way provokes more rape, I wonder if there was a survey done of women who were raped (especially in cases where there is evidence to prove so), how would the majority of women report dressing before the incident happened? I could speculate that women who are experiencing sexual assualt are more often going to clubs, bars, and staying out late at night at parties. I would also speculate that they are not wearing cardigans and full length skirts. Correlation does not equal causation, of course, nor do victims ever deserve to be sexually assaulted for what they are wearing, but I do wonder if there is any slight correlation between amount of skin showing and increased expereinces of sexual assault. I think there are a lot of factors that go into it, though. Interesting article!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.