Styled logo

Thrift - don't shop lift.

A guide to sustainable clothing.

By Sophie Wakefield Published 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Thrift - don't shop lift.
Photo by Artificial Photography on Unsplash

So, you are going out to a party tonight, and guess what the theme is...1980s. Excellent. Just perfect. What with my 9-5 job and all requiring me to always have a handy stash of fluro coloured, denim themed outfits. I don't know about you, but it is a rare occasion that I wear a bright yellow jacket to work, or to a casual lunch with friends. I do not want to waste money on buying an item I will (most likely) never wear again. Moreover, I certainly to not want to throw this item of clothing in the bin the day after the party. Thankfully, I had stumbled on Depop (thanks to my very kind friend, Emma), and found fabulous, sustainably sourced clothes at excellent prices.

It was at this moment that I realised - I really hadn't thrifted for a very, very long time. Perhaps it was time to start up again? After many days of laborious hunting in shops, both in real life (markets etc) and depop, I learnt a couple of ways that we can all effectively, and easily, start to thrift.

1. Shop with a purpose, a goal, a need!

While it is always fun to shop with friends on a weekend, Sunday market stall, thrifting requires serious concentration. It is very...very...easy to simply, and suddenly, end up buying a tone of clothes you will not wear or, again, may wear once and do not suit any occasion.

2. Set a budget.

It is incredibly easy to overspend when thrift shopping, especially when prices are low. So, no matter how good the bargain, make sure to set a budget.

3. Get ready to do some tailoring.

Not everything is going to fit perfectly, trust me, I am 5 foot tall. So, I would thoroughly recommend getting ready to change the hems a bit, or maybe even the straps.

4. Shop by season.

It is mid summer, and you want to buy a heavy coat? Make sure to always shop seasonally. So, when I was buying my 80s get up in the middle of winter, I made sure to keep in mind that I was not searching for a short skirt, but a pair of jeans or leg warmers.

5. Timing.

Don't go searching during busy holiday periods (i.e. Christmas), unless there are awesome discounts. If you are trying to find a bargain, chances are (during the

6. If you are buying online, check for measurements/sizing.

I love depop, and other recycled clothing online stores, but always make sure to double check sizing (especially for shoes).

7. Make it 100% eco-friendly with biodegradable packaging.

Plastic is a no-go in most shops these days. So why not online? Try and always make your purchases eco friendly with biodegradable packaging. Because, well, why not?

8. Have lots, and lots, of fun!

Getting a bargain is always fun, satisfying, and lets face it, incredibly worthy of a mini celebration.

9. When you have good quality clothes that you no longer need (like my 80s leg warmers), sell them for a cheap price or give them to your local charity shop.

Share the love and eco-friendly nature of thrifting. In the words of Seneca,

There is no enjoying the possession of anything valuable unless one has someone to share it with.

There is something special about sharing clothes; it is like sharing stories. The life led in one dress is adopted into the life of the new owner - the beauty, the time, the light. All these things, become part of another person’s narrative.

Say, take this dress I am wearing - red. It has been only one place - The Garden of Friendship in Sydney. There were tortoises on the side walk, and cute couples holding hands. All the beauty I saw that day, wedded to the dress. This dress, below.

All clothes have a story, a narrative, a persona. When you buy second hand, you adopt these human experiences into your life, entangling their kindness and prosperity into your own life.

So, why not by sustainably? You get stories, and life and beauty at a cheaper price, and you are saving the planet.

depop.com/betterbutterpop

https://www.depop.com/

https://www.thecloset.com.au/

https://mottainaiclothing.com.au/

shopping
1

About the Creator

Sophie Wakefield

Attempting to monetise my Bachelor of Arts degree (majoring in Old English).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.