Styled logo

Sweet Persimmons Vintage Clothing

profile on Amandia Aurand by John Franklin

By John FranklinPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
8
Sweet Persimmons

Having the opportunity to profile Amandia Aurand’s small business, Sweet Persimmons Vintage Clothing, was both a pleasure and a privilege. After years of friendship I have witnessed the evolution of Amandia’s dream and how she has continued to use her love and natural abilities to create, inspire, and work through whatever life throws her way. Amandia’s love of fashion shines through in every piece she adds to her shop, which has been incredible to see. Sweet Persimmons Vintage Clothing has touched the lives of so many members of Amandia’s community. She even selected me to model some of her favorite pieces, all while we laughed and sipped champagne at the beach. I’m so excited to share Sweet Persimmons Vintage Clothing with the community, especially during the current socioeconomic climate created by COVID-19. While small businesses struggle, Amandia has again exemplified here ability to both overcome adversity while also giving back to her community. The following interview was conducted in her beautiful backyard, outside of the studio which houses her entire collection of vintage finds and trusty sewing machine.

So Amandia, when did you decide to turn your love for fashion into a business?

“Sweet Persimmons was created as a way for me to start over after a tragic loss turned my world upside down. My house had just burned down and I was caring for my recently paralyzed cat, Persimmon. When my direction was lost and things seemed hopeless, I turned to fashion. It sounds cliché, but fashion is my art. I started scouting small second hand stores and local thrift shops for inspiration. Using the tips I had saved from the coffee shop I was currently working at, I began adding pieces to my vintage collection. My mother taught me to sew at an early age, so I had already been making my own clothing. From then I began making custom vintage inspired pieces in addition to fixing and repairing old pieces that I had picked up while thrifting. From that point I set up my own Etsy shop and organized pop-up shops.”

Talk to me a little bit more about your creative process and the thought behind sourcing and creating your pieces.

“I am all about a good clash and Sweet Persimmons reflects that. Typically, when I go out for a buy, I am looking for fabrics and prints that are loud and unique, textures that are different and bold.  While scanning the racks, I look for pieces that grab my attention or that spark an emotion, memory or inspiration. I have been collecting for a very long time, both vintage fabric as well as clothing and have an eclectic variety of both.”

 How do you shine through Sweet Persimmons?

“I value history and the past. A person’s personal story. How we all got here.  I am certain they don’t make clothing like they used to, and I am adamant about quality, durability, and versatility all while sustaining a creative and personally unique flare in each piece I make, mend, or sell.  Like I said, I just love a good clash.  I, myself am a pretty good clash, having spent my life split between the desert and the beach. I like to add a bit of my personal style to the looks and pieces I create, blending patterns and styles, my favorite combination being stripes and floral.  I’ll bring in something vintage, like a drop waist dress from the 40s and pair it with something from a more recent era, like combat boots circa the 90s.  I just love the 90s.”

 How is Sweet Persimmons involved in the community?

“It takes a village!  I have enjoyed involving my community in various creative processes over the years. In the past when I have put on fashion shows, I brought in local bands, local spaces to host, and locals to model. It’s a community event, where everyone gets to take part in a collaborative and creative effort. Collaborating with fellow artists, musicians, and spaces within my community highlights their talents and abilities- allowing them to shine within our community.I have also given back to my community by donating a portion of my yearly proceeds to various charities and other organizations focused on immobile and paralyzed animals, in the name of Persimmon.”

Where are you and Sweet Persimmons now and how are you holding up in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic?

“These are different times and I have been impacted heavily. I was laid off from my main source of income in the middle of March and have to rely on Sweet Persimmons and sewing to stay afloat. Full circle, really, considering I started the business as way to move forward after a tragedy, and here we are again. I am very grateful to have this outlet that I can help, not only myself, but my community as well.  My next step with Sweet Persimmons is to focus on creating more of what my community needs during this time, and vintage is a luxury.  I have done some research and have been working on creating masks that I will make available by donation only. Not everyone can afford certain necessities, and I would like to be able to offer help wherever I able.”

Tell me more about the masks.

“This is a very big issue currently, and everyone is going to be required to wear these “facial accessories” which we are in very short supply of. I have been doing some research on various fabrics and layering techniques so as to create a breathable barrier that meets medical grade requirements. I am working to create a design for reusable, fashion friendly, accessory-styled masks.”

It’s crucial to support small businesses during the COVID-19 outbreak because they are the backbone of our communities! Thank you Amandia for allowing me to profile your small business. Sweet Persimmons Vintage Clothing can be found on Etsy: sweetpersimmons and Instagram: sweetpersimmonsvintage.

shopping
8

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.