Styled logo

Screw You

Just a quick rant after a very disappointing and traumatic shopping trip.

By MarisaKayePublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

As someone who floats between a size 12, 14, or 16, I constantly find it so difficult to shop for clothing. I look at clothes at popular stores and only see it going up to size 10 or having a bunch of XS and no XL. I'm going to go ahead and just call these stores out... Francescas, Forever 21, H&M, Urban Outfitters... just to name a few. I went shopping because, well, I need cute clothes... who doesn't!? But this last shopping experience got me really thinking... why isn't there more of a conversation about these stores not supporting women larger than a size 10?!

I understand that these stores are all fast, cheap fashion (besides Urban Outfitters because they overprice). But plus-sized girls want some cheap, cute clothes as well. I go into a store and see so many cute pieces that I would love to wear at the club, at work, to a family function, and I can't because you only go up to large in your sizing. And I'm wondering why the manager, manufacturer, and designer are okay with promoting that only small girls can wear these cute clothes. What is their mindset when they are making only sizes XS-L... big girls... y'all go somewhere else... where we supposed to go? Since it really only seems as though all shops cater to this thin version of females and not females in an entirety.

With the body positive movement truly supporting girls that aren't the "typical" body size, why aren't stores moving with this movement? Why are stores still catering to just a small population of girls, instead of all females? Why are they okay with only broadcasting thin girls in their social media, advertisements, and billboards? I'd love to know how these business owners and manufacturers would feel if they had an insecure daughter that left feeling miserable after a shopping experience, just like me earlier today. Would they feel guilty? Would they not give a shit because they're making money?

I completely support this entire movement and feel as though since other people started becoming more comfortable in their skin, I have as well. However, thick girls, we still got a lot of work to be done in order to get the respect and representation that we deserve.

Part of helping the next generation grow up better than we did is showing that all types of bodies, races, and ages are beautiful and deserve beautiful clothes. Thin girls are not the only girl that loves to wear cute and affordable clothes. I'd love to see these stores organize themselves to include people of all shapes, sizes, races, and genders. Therefore, girls everywhere don't have to feel self-conscious going to their favorite store and feeling like they don't fit in.

Just food for thought...

industry
Like

About the Creator

MarisaKaye

just a girl trying to figure it all out...

I love writing about topics that are meant for self-exploration and reflection. My goal is to raise my own confidence and the confidence of other people in order to live in a beautiful, loving world

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.