Styled logo

Punk's not dead

It's just sleeping

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
15
Cliff and Jane will always be more punk than you

If you couldn't tell by the various articles about; punk music and even Ska music. I love everything punk and grew up a huge punk, so let's talk about why punk fashion really needs to comeback. Now disclaimer, a lot of punk can be very NSFW. I will try to keep this article as PG as possible, however if anyone takes offense to anything I do apologize and I just want to say, potential content warning ahead. So, read at your own discretion you have been warned. Finally although the title is incredibly overused, sue me. The other option was supposed to be MAPA, you can figure out what that title was supposed to mean.

So we'll start from the top and make our way down. Hopefully once we finish our punk journey from head to toe, literally. You'll see why we need to bring punk back.

HAIR

Now by no means is it a requirement to have the traditional crazy long mohawks, flamboyant colors, or even be a skinhead. I was pretty boring with my hair, but I would love to see spikes come back into fashion especially liberty spikes. I've talked about the "Tony Hawk's Pro Skater/Under Ground" videogames. I constantly used the character creator to give myself a mohawk. It's a shame I could never had one because my hair hates product. Please, on my behalf let's bring back those crazy tall mohawks.

Stevo with his mohawk, eternally jealous I can't do this with my hair

JACKETS

Even though I was born and raised in Las Vegas, and still live here to this day. I absolutely love leather, for all the 4 months of the year I can comfortably wear my leather jackets. It's a shame I don't have as much custom leather jackets as I would want though. Also old school bomber jackets are very acceptable.

jean jacket, I could do without the cheetah print but you do you

BAND SHIRTS

This should be a given and pretty obvious. When you're a punk band tees are like Pokémon, you gotta catch em all. Typically these shirts are black, sadly not a ton of variety in punk shirts. Maybe some white shirts every now and again but not too much.

BELTS AND BELT BUCKLES

Growing up one of my all time favorite pieces of clothing, despite being really annoying to wear at time, was a "Choking Victim" belt buckle. Especially when paired up with a studded belt, this was just a perfect pairing. Although trying to sit down with this specific belt buckle was an absolute nightmare since it would constantly jab me in the stomach. So feel free to pair your belt with a different belt buckle.

PANTS

Even more patches! No seriously, even more patches. Maybe I should dedicate an entire section to just patches. Personally I only wear blue and black jeans, but you can feel free to mix it up. There are also no rules about rips, feel free to have your jeans ripped at the knees. I'm also a big fan of having them cuffed, but once again that is a personal preference.

I wonder if it would be possible to be sponsored by a punk band, if so this would be a great side hustle. Use your pants as advertising space

FOOTWEAR

Always wear boots. When you're at a punk show making sure your feet are comfortable and making sure your toes are safe from being stepped on during a mosh pit are a huge necessity. Now, steel toes are not required but always fun to have. Also being a few inches taller is always fun.

Steel toed boots

Please help me bring back punk! I will always be disappointed I missed the heyday of punk in the 80's. However it's not too late to bring back punk. As mentioned above, at one point this article was going to be called "MAPA", so; Make America Punk Again!!

Let's bring back Punk!!

Thank you for your time, I hope you enjoyed what you have read today, feel free to subscribe. I have plenty of different articles on many different topics, if you so choose to check them out. Also if you would be so kind, I would greatly appreciate a heart. Lastly; if you really feel so inclined tips and of course pledges (currently only $2.99 a month) are always appreciated but by no means required.

trends
15

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.