Beat logo

My favorite punk bands

In no particular order, again lol

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
7
Anarchy symbol I found on google images

Granted punk's heyday is long behind us, I still absolutely love listening to punk music. Below are just a few of the bands that I absolutely love the most, I hope you enjoy and maybe discover some bands you've never heard about. Each one of these bands have a special place in my heart.

Leftover Crack

Lead by Scott Sturgeon aka "Stza Crack", The band's name Leftover Crack is an oxymoron since there's no such thing as Leftover Crack. This was completely intentional. A lot of their songs are pretty controversial and offensive but I guess it's by design. They are a very atheistic and anarchistic band. So yeah, I'd advise wearing any of their band merch on your way to church. Also they're not a fan of cops or the government as a whole, I feel like that should be mentioned. Surprisingly the band is still active and signed to this day. "Gang control" is my favorite band by them.

Choking Victim

Another one of Stza Crack's bands, a good amount of the members of Choking Victim went on to form Leftover Crack with Stza as stated above. Since their music is primarily. Now I justify keeping this bands separate because they really are, similarly to how plus 44 and Blink 182 are seen as drastically different bands. So if you liked Leftover Crack and wanted more, take a gander at Choking Victim. My favorite song by them is "Five Finger Discount".

Fear

Fear has to be one of the few bands I'd genuinely be afraid of seeing live during their heyday. There's footage of this band back in 1980, and because punk rock guys, literally within the first five minutes on stage they're already attempting to fight their own fans, hurling profanity back and forth to the audience, and then the lead guitarist decided to get into a spitting match with one of their female fans.. I'm not making a word of this up. That was only just one concert. Also before I forget this band is infamous for being banned from SNL because their show was just completely out of control. To be fair their music is very basic punk and nothing too creative, I mean one of their songs is literally called "Beef bologna". Not too much thought put into that song. However, their song "I love living in the city" which was featured in the 1979 film "The warriors", has to be my favorite Fear song. Fear has to be the band you listen to before you think to yourself "I'm about to do something really stupid and get hurt really bad, but F it. Let's go!!!".

Against Me!

"Against me!" even though they're just as anarchistic as any band on this group, they're not nearly as angry as the other bands on this group. In fact, their actual sound is very passionate and soothing. swear though every fourth song by them involves anarchy in some passion. Against me is the embodiment of storytelling through your medium. Each one of their songs tells a story with a very strong message of some kind. "Pints of Guinness makes you strong", not only is my favorite song by them but also a great representation of their great storytelling.

Days n Daze

Let's end this list on a happy note. Not all punk has to be just angry and violent. Hailing from Houston Texas of all places. Days n Daze is a folk punk, yes you read that right a folk punk band. Two genres that oddly go together very well, after this is all said and done I may write an article about folk punk. Folk punk is actually a very positive and emotionally deep subgenre of punk. If I had to pick just one song I love from them, it's their song "Self Destructive Anthem", you're welcome Sydney.

Thank you for your time, I hope you enjoyed what you read today. I have plenty of different articles on many different topics. Feel free to give those other articles a read or two. Also if you'd be so kind, I'd greatly appreciate a heart and if you really feel so inclined tips are always appreciated but by no means required.

bands
7

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.