Styled logo

Oscar Red Carpet — Nudity Rules, Part II — My First Article to Go “Viral” and the Commenters Inferred That I am Racist.

Am I?

By Joan GershmanPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
4
elleuk.com — photo of Kylie Jenner courtesy of Pinterest

I recently achieved a milestone in the publishing world of online platforms. An article I wrote for Medium, Oscar Red Carpet - Nudity Rules - went "viral", meaning that it took off like a rocket and received thousands of "reads", which translated into quite a bit of money for me, by writing platform standards.

I also submitted the same article to Vocal, where it languished in "Minimal Read Road" and "Fraction of Penny Bank Deposit Land. "

This article you are currently reading , however, is not about "read" and "monetary" statistics. It is about a group of readers who know nothing about me, inferring in their comments that I am racist because of my “viral” article, Oscar Red Carpet — Nudity Rules. CLICK HERE TO READ THE ORIGINAL ARTICLE.

Oscar Red Carpet — Nudity Rules, was about the prevalence of skimpy, barely-there dresses worn by women at the 2022 Oscar ceremony that exposed almost every inch of skin the female body had to offer.

Halle Bailey - Kevin Mazur/Getty Images - Vanity Fair

Let me be clear. My intention in writing the original article was to foster a debate as to what constitutes nudity and tastelessness in fashion, using the dresses at the 2022 Oscar Show as examples. That’s all. It was about fashion, or the lack thereof. Nothing else.

It was a comment by a young black woman that jolted me out of my seat. I was completely thrown off, not only by her comment but the accusatory and angry tone of it. She questioned why every inch of skin I found objectionable was brown skin; that the problem was with me, not the gowns, and that I was “slut shaming” women who weren’t white like me. YIKES! That caught me completely off guard.

The commenter in question does not know me; does not know my background and what has occurred in my life to make me one of the least racist human beings I know. My life and actions are examples of a life lived with tolerance and inclusivity. To infer that I am racist is against all that I stand for.

But it got worse. More commenters were expressing the same opinion of me. They consistently pointed out that all the women in the pictures I displayed were dark-skinned. Black, brown, mocha. Not one white woman in the bunch. They said it could not be a coincidence that I hadn’t shown a white woman.

Here is the irony of this situation. I hadn’t noticed what color the women were. Not until it was pointed out to me did I scroll through all the pictures and realize that “Well, damn! They are all women of color.”

Does that make me racist? Does it make me clueless and unobservant, or someone so used to different skin colors that I don’t pay any attention to them? Is that good or bad? Is that racist?

The commenters gave me examples of white women who have worn skin-baring outfits that the commenters thought were more revealing than the dresses I showed.

However, before I comment on the outfits they cited that were worn by white women, here is another point that needs to be clear. I strive for a writing style that is tightly focused, clear, and concise with no rambling off-topic.

With that in mind, in the article in question, I was writing about the nearly nude fashions of the 2022 Oscars. I was NOT writing about similar fashions of Oscar shows of past decades. I was NOT writing about ugly dresses. I was NOT writing about dresses worn at past Met Gala events, Golden Globe award shows, or any other award shows. I was writing ONLY about the bare fashions at the 2022 Oscar show.

Commenters gave me examples of white women wearing nearly nude fashions -Cher’s array of limited fabric fashions of the 1970s and the see-through pantsuit worn by Barbra Streisand at the 1969 Oscar ceremony, to cite just two. These were NOT relevant to my article, which focused ONLY on the Oscar 2022 Nearly Nude Fashions and the women who wore them.

chernews.blogspot.com - photo courtesy of Pinterest

s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com- photo courtesy of Pinterest

One commenter cited “white woman” Kristin Stewart’s 2022 short-short outfit topped by a blouse that was unbuttoned down the front. While my opinion is that the outfit did not come close to qualifying as a dress or gown or anything remotely pretty, Ms. Stewart’s breasts weren’t exposed because, and I’m sure I’ll get into more trouble for this statement — she is not well endowed. There was no bounty to spill out and show off.

Vogue.com - Kristen Stewart - photo courtesy of Pinterest

Another commenter said that I should have cited Jamie Lee Curtis and Hedi Klum as baring too much skin. Jamie Lee Curtis has been known to wear skimpy outfits, but at the 2022 Oscar show, she was wearing a floor-length, turtle neck, long-sleeved gown that covered every inch of her skin except her fingers.

pagesix.com- Jamie Lee Curtis - photo courtesy of Pinterest

Heidi Klum - photo courtesy of Pinterest

Heidi Klum’s dress at the 2022 Oscar show did expose some of her breasts, but the dress was so voluminous it looked like she was enveloped in king-size sheets.

Let me also explain how I researched the article in question. I went through more than six different articles related to the 2022 Oscar Red Carpet Fashions. I looked through at least 60 pictures. Out of those 60 pictures, I chose 5 that I felt were so skin revealing as to be tasteless.

Janelle Monae- Getty Images

Maybe I should have paid more attention and noticed that all the fashions I chose were worn by women of color. Had I noticed the prevalence of dark skin, maybe I would have searched more intensely for white women wearing revealing clothes. I don’t know.

I do know that of course, white women wear revealing clothing as in the Cher and Barbara Streisand examples above. It just happened that I didn’t see any in the 2022 Oscar Fashion pictures that I researched. Does that make me biased against people of color? Does it make me prejudiced? Racist?

The theme of the original article was to point out that one does not need to be half-naked to draw attention to one’s clothing; to point out that in my opinion, dresses that fully displayed all but nipples and skirted with exposing one’s genitals were tasteless, regardless of the wearer’s skin color.

I want this follow-up article to foster a healthy debate on what constitutes racism. Healthy debate means stating opinions and facts without spewing hatred and name-calling.

Does not noticing the color of my subjects’ skin make me a racist and why?

A similar version of this article was originally published in Medium publication, Illumination-Curated

©Copyright 2022 Joan Gershman

women
4

About the Creator

Joan Gershman

Retired - Speech/language therapist, Special Education Asst, English teacher

Websites: www.thealzheimerspouse.com; talktimewithjoan.com

Whimsical essays, short stories -funny, serious, and thought-provoking

Weightloss Series

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Steve Lance2 years ago

    Congratulations on having an article go viral. With that of course there are going to be many rude and unnecessary comments. I read your original article and did not find it racist. Me being a white male, people may say naturally I would say that. But I am entitled to my opinion, same as you.

  • Allison Rice2 years ago

    I appreciate the fact that you listened to the commenters and reconsidered your original piece. I understand that it was not your intent to introduce race to the discussion, but by virtue of the photos that you selected, you did. Perhaps there was some subtle bias that you were unaware of. Maybe it's the larger breasts and hips of BIPOC? Maybe it's larger bodies in general, or just a coincidence, but it's worth consideration. Thank you for asking the questions and welcoming comments.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.