Styled logo

Oh Harem Pants, Where Art Thou?

My Love For The Harem, Swaggy Baggy Remains True...

By Camille Turner-BragdonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Thoughts From A Woman Who Loves Her Swaggy Baggy ...

Call me old fashion, call me "hippy-ish" or call me homely, but when I tell you the feeling of confidence, comfort and sweet "swagg" that overcomes me when wearing a good old fashioned pair of harem pants is more valuable than anyone's opinion about them. I have always been a comfort girl, but I also like to feel feminine and pretty. In my opinion, these are some of the most girly, stylish and cool pants that have ever existed.

This style transcends age, religion, ethnicity and culture. Loose fitting and modest yet practical and dainty, connecting generations of women and girls through vibrant colors and prints that challenge the norm. I often find myself thinking back to when I first sported a pair as a teen of the 80's. Before what people wore became more important than what kind of person you were. These pants are representative of a creative, fun-spirited, free-minded person with lots of character.

Nine times out of ten, you can look into a crowd, spot a person wearing these pants and just know without a doubt that person is a friendly, compassionate, unique, nature-loving person who probably has a heart of gold. I guess you are wondering how I can possibly gather all of this information from the style of a pair of pants that a person is wearing ... well clothing choices speak volumes. In a world overconsumed by jeans and darker shades like black and grey, the courageous color wearers bring vibrant hope and nostalgic inspiration to any crowd.

This is the reason that I love these "swaggy baggy" harem pants and they will forever hold a place in my heart and current wardrobe. My children laugh and call them MC Hammer pants, my husband calls them my gardening/genie pants and my neighbor thinks I do yoga and have a hippy side (which I do!), but I call them my vibrant personality and blast from the past that will accompany me into the future.

When I think about the history of fashion and style and how frequently trends have come and go, it seems to me that what started as a cultural style from the eastern world expanded and became fashionably accepted around the globe. First seen in Persia, nearly 2,000 years ago, the pants were worn by women among different Middle-Eastern tribes to represent modesty and innocence. It wasn’t until about 1911 when the famous French designer, Paul Poiret, introduced harem pants as part of his efforts to reinvent and liberate western female fashion. His well-known "Style Sultane" included what was called the “jupe-culotte” or harem pants, made with full legs tied in at the ankle. These designs were seen as controversial because western women typically did not wear trousers.

Harem pants came back into fashion in the 1980s, when they were most popularly used for costumes. A version of harem pants became popularized during the late 1980’s by numerous entertainers, particularly M. C. Hammer. Hence came the name “Hammer Pants.” The reasons why this style became so popular vary greatly but I'm sure versatility played a major role. Not only are these loose-fitting pants modest and comfortable but the bagginess allows more space for pockets (and carrying things hands-free). They can be used for exercising, dancing or just looking creative and fashionable.

The style compliments all body types and is modest enough for those with cultural restrictions. Being that the style and design of the pants are loose around the hips and legs, they diminish any trace of a feminine body shape. They can be dressed up and worn with a cute blouse and a high heel shoe or dressed down for the beach with flipflops and a t-shirt. They come in many solid colors or floral prints. Though they seem to be out of style for this current generation who have a greater love for tight-fitting, revealing styles, the Harem pants can still be found mainly online and seem to slowly be making a comeback. Even though they are not sported much by the youth of today they constantly remind me of my youth. . . distant yet near, cherished and freshly remembered, a delightful experience that will never be erased from time and the pictures that were taken while being worn back when the world was so different than it is today. My love for the baggy harem pants remains true!

trends
1

About the Creator

Camille Turner-Bragdon

I am a Clinical Social Worker, Goal Coach, Academic Success Coach, Motivator, Mentor, Goal-Setting Workshop & Vision Board Party Host, Author, Youtuber, Owner/Boss...

"The RISE.Motivation Station LLC" https://linktr.ee/CamilleTheGoalCoach

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.