Styled logo

Nostalgic Fashion Styles

90’s to Early 2000’s Nostalgia

By Amber DulaneyPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
15

From my nostalgic memories of old trends to comparisons to modern fashion and style trends.

Basic Make-Up

When I was in school and for a few years after, make-up was a means of smoothing out skin tones, concealing blemishing, and accentuating your features. You had concealer, foundation, blush, one to three eye shadow colors, lipstick, a thin layer of eyeliner, and mascara. Some also opted to use an eyelash curler. You also only needed a few make-up brushes.

Now it seems you need a caboodle full of brushes and be an artist. There is a primer, concealer, bronzer, foundation, massive eye shadow pallets to blend five or more colors together, blush, lipstick, contour shades, and a highlight powder to draw more attention to your favorite facial feature. Okay, I like the highlight powder. Then you have the various styles people use when doing their eyeshadow, such as wing look. You also have thicker layers of eyeliner, and under-the-eye eyeshadow looks.

I don’t know about you, but I wasn’t born with the talent of drawing or painting. The old way may be outdated, but I will stick with it. If I try the modern way, I will look like a clown.

Clogs

If you didn’t like heels but want a bit of a lift, Clogs were perfect. They also hand a bit of a sandal appeal with the open toe. Back in the day, I loved switching between clogs and boots with my flared Mudd jeans. I didn’t wear tennis shoes often, and I still don’t, so since I don’t have clogs, I mostly wear flip-flops. If they become fashionable again, I will buy a pair, even if I am in my fifties.

Mini Backpack Purses

Not only did I own a couple of them in high school, but I still have them. I’m hoping when my daughters are older, they will be back in style. They are cute and even distribute the weight. The purses I wear now put all of the weight on one side of my body. So, maybe we should make them fashionable again, for adults as well as teens.

Tuck in Shirts

From elementary years through my early teens, I wore baggy shirts tucked in all the way around and fluffed. I was skinny, but the best part, if you weren’t, you didn’t have to worry about the fabric being too tight on your mid-section. Throughout the years since becoming a Mom, I have longed for the trend to return. The closest I have seen is form-fitting shirts tuck in the front and not fluffed out and buttons shirts with only one side in the front tuck in, which to me, looks odd. It has been around two years, but the last time I went out with my shirt tucked and fluffed out, I was on the receiving end of strange looks.

Women’s Jeans

I’m all for looking cute and stylish, but there is an aspect to jeans that shouldn’t have been compromised. Women’s jeans used to be a little thicker. Now they are almost as thin as leggings and not much thicker than jeggings. Honestly, I would prefer to get rid of jeggings and thinner jeans and go back to the thicker denim. The jeans lasted for a year or two instead of a couple of months. Or we could keep the thinner versions for Spring and Summer while having the option for the thicker ones for Fall and Winter. That could seem like a storage issue, but nothing an old wooden chest wouldn’t fix. My Mom had one in her bedroom, where she stored out-of-season clothes.

By Mike Palmowski on Unsplash

*The website I found the image of Jane Leaves: File: Jane Leeves (1995).jpg - Wikimedia Commons

Clog image link: 32485367724_13a72cfb1d_b.jpg (1023×678) (staticflickr.com)

trends
15

About the Creator

Amber Dulaney

Freelance Writer|Creative Writer. 2008 Amber received a diploma from The Institute of Children's Literature. Poetry in Feminine Collective.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.