Styled logo

Making an Entrance

The Power of a Really, Really Long Skirt

By WordSmithtressPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Making an Entrance
Photo by Nina Mercado on Unsplash

A white crinoline at Goodwill hangs lonesome in my closet, its satin and mesh cascading down from the hanger to puddle on the carpet. It's lonely because although I am a collector of extremely long dresses and maxi skirts, there is still nothing in my closet that requires the assistance of a crinoline.

Yet.

Several years ago at a writer's conference, I admired an editor's bustled overskirt. Her colorful and ploofy affair was like nothing I'd seen before. She graciously shared the name of the maker and I have been obsessed ever since with Sofistafunk's voluptuous, voluminous, gigantic skirts. (Bonus, it's a Black-owned small business!) I fell in love with an iridescent, coquelicot-hued number, but I wondered if I'd ever really wear it to the grocery store or to coffee with friends. And a skirt like that doesn't deserve to sit unworn in a closet. After all, I am not the sort of person who has formals to attend every weekend. Although in college I wore ballgowns frequently at my soprano recitals, I no longer sing; the only creatures who hear me sing these days are my chickens and children! I wouldn't categorize myself as a innovative fashionista, although once, I put on a ballgown to take editorial-style pictures with my hens! Posing for a picture is one thing. Choosing pears and potatoes in the produce aisle is another. I get nervous about standing out too much in public.

Or I did. Mask wearing has made me bolder. (Or maybe that's a side benefit of getting older?) In any case, the last time I was window shopping on my favorite site, I noticed something. Most of the models don't look like they're getting ready to go to prom. They're wearing ball skirts styled with chambray button downs, tank tops and fun necklaces, t-shirts. Each of them looks comfortable. Elegant. Confident. The kind of woman I aspire to be.

I haven't bought my maxi skirt just yet, although I did attend my son's elementary schools gardening day wearing a long linen number that looked like I'd took it straight off of a Little House on the Prairie costume rack. I thought I'd get a lot of funny looks, but it was cool and comfortable. When I bent down to pull weeds or plant seeds, I discovered a surprising benefit of long skirts: they only show off what you intend to be seen. No embarrassing gapping!

The full skirt is somewhat impractical I realize. In a crinoline or a hoop skirt, driving is bound to be more difficult. Such an outfit won't show off the legs you've worked so hard on while cycling or running or doing a year's worth of squats. But...

There's an elegance and mystery to the way fabric swishes around ankles. In a long skirt, you never have to worry about sunblock or shaving your legs (if that's a thing you do). Putting on a long skirt instantly says "I'm here to make an entrance." After a year of sitting at home, watching friends on tiny screens, and living in sweatpants, I think I'm ready to do just that. Who wants to join me?

shopping
3

About the Creator

WordSmithtress

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.