Styled logo

How to clothes shop better!

Have you noticed you’ve bought so many clothes you don’t use? Do you wish you could have multiple outfits to wear without buying large amounts of clothes?

By Annie CurranPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Simple outfit

I currently have about 40 pairs of clothing that I have bought over the years that I regret buying. I realised I wasn’t thinking about the outfits I would wear. I’m going to present lessons and tips for buying clothes to save money!

Issue 1#

As I first started getting into fashion, I started buying different pieces of clothing. However, a third of the clothes I bought I never really wore. The first issue I kept making was never trying on a piece of clothing with other garments in my wardrobe. I would have the outfit in mind for the item I bought. Then I would realise what I thought would look good with it didn’t look good at all. You would think I would return it, but then I would think of something else to go with what I had just purchased and just repeat the whole process. It’s ridiculous that I kept doing this.

Tip 1#

A lot of the time, you like a piece of clothing because you like it with the whole outfit on a model. My situation describes the outfit on a model online when you buy a particular item. On the model, the outfit looks good with the specific clothing item. But once you buy it and try it on by itself with the clothes you have, it doesn’t look as lovely as it did on the model. That’s because it was associated with specific clothes picked by stylists. I would consider buying the whole outfit on the model rather than just buying the piece you were going to buy. Most people are buying more than one piece of clothing, anyway. You can wear an outfit so many times.

Issue 2#

Although you can buy a whole outfit, which is a good option. You don’t want to be wearing clothing that can only work with only one outfit as you might keep buying whole outfits. Over time, the number of clothes racks up, and you see that you need to reduce the amount of clothes you have. Once you start cutting it down, you realise you can’t because most of the clothes in your outfits can’t be used to make a new outfit as they don’t go together. So, you’re stuck.

Tip 2#

This issue is due to not having a good number of staple pieces that can be used with different outfits. By having these staples, then you can make a few outfits out of a few pieces of clothing. Fewer clothes are bought, and you never have to worry that you are wearing the same outfit too many times in a row. I have a few stables in tops and trousers. I base this on what you see as your staple pieces, someone’s staple might be dresses, skirts or shirts. Whatever are your staple pieces, I would try to make three outfits associated with those pieces, either with new clothes or with other staples.

Example of staples pieces:

Issue 3#

Although I assume that a piece of clothing can work well in a particular outfit. Sometimes I think that specific colours work together when they don’t. I only notice it until I put the outfit on.

Tip #3

My holy grail for this issue is going onto Pinterest. It seems obvious, but a lot of people don’t know what colours go well together. You can type anything, an example could be: black jeans outfit, and it will present a variety of outfits with this specific clothing item. It gives a great variety of options for any styles, so I highly recommend it. I’ll give a few examples down below.

Hopefully, this helps to make better outfits and waste less money!

shopping
1

About the Creator

Annie Curran

Just an amateur writer giving personal experiences and advice about different topics. Writing everything that comes to my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.