Styled logo

Ditching Fast Fashion

A year of sustainable shopping

By Charlotte FayPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
1
Image created on OpenArt

I like many others enjoy expressing myself through clothing and accessories. It's a joy, a habit and a hobby. Who doesn't want to look and feel good in what they are wearing? Who doesn't want to feel good when they walk out the door and share themselves with the world?

But, since I've had my son (6 years ago) my way of thinking has begun to change. The things that were so important to me before becoming a mother I have found are far less important. I have seen the world through a child's eyes again and it's quite inspiring.

For the past 6 years I have been dabbling. With a renewed love of the natural world around me and a more conscious mindset that our planet needs a helping hand I have been sourcing more eco friendly options for different things around our home. Swapping bottles of shampoo and shower gel for soap bars and shampoo bars (with recyclable packing or no packaging at all). I've opted for Ecover laundry detergent in an effort to bring less chemicals into our home as well as opting for natural kitchen and bathroom cleaners, better for us and the environment. I've made many other trades too, but the one thing I have failed at doing is completely stopping my shopping habits. And by shopping habits I mean clothes, shoes and accessories. As a new mum I felt the need to look good and feel good. Especially after a stream of sleepless nights. So, because taking a child physically shopping can be more stressful than it’s worth, I shopped online! This is dangerous. A few clicks and you’ve easily spent a small fortune without even knowing if the items will fit you…

Don't get me wrong, I am getting better at it. The more mindful I get about what I am doing the less I feel I need to buy. I occasionally take a wander through a charity shop or scroll through Vinted and have left with many a bargain for myself or my son. In fact my son has been clothed in high end high street brands or luxury brands for most for his life and when I do have to buy something new for him it means I can head into the M&S kids section where the clothes are of better quality and buy him items from there because I've saved money not buying other things at RRP for him. And those second hand buys actually last longer than the clothes brought new from from places like Primark where the quality is so poor. Now that's a thought isn't it. Second hand clothes lasting longer then clothes brought new… that just shows me what an absolute pickle we have got ourselves into.

So this year I am making a conscious effort to ditch fast fashion (except where necessary like buying my sons new school clothes in August ready for September).

I am doing away with shopping apps like Asos and deleting them from my phone. But keeping apps like Vinted, Depop and EBay because they are my new weapons on choice.

Plus I'll be reading 'How to break up with fast fashion' by Lauren Bravo (and keeping it with me as my go to book for the year ahead.)

How to break up with fast fashion - Lauren Bravo

As I write this it’s 15th February 2024. I’ve finished the book and I do keep it with me. (It’s and ebook, so always available on my phone for reference). So far I have managed to avoid purchasing any new clothes and shoes that are not seconds hand or from sustainable brands. So far fast fashion has been completely ditched in favour of being more eco-friendly. I’ve even given my husband the bug and I feel so great about it. I’m only one person among millions of people but if everyone made a small change I firmly believe it will make a big difference.

If you find this piece interesting, please consider leaving a ♥️or even a tip. Your support means a lot to me as a writer!

Charlotte (that’s me) is a mature BSc Wildlife Ecology and Conservation Science student living in Kent, UK with my husband and son. You can find me on Instagram here:

shopping
1

About the Creator

Charlotte Fay

Rambling outdoors & writing about it. Love a good adventure. Passionate about holistic wellness & the natural environment. Studying a Wildlife Ecology & Conservation Degree. I also love to write about a variety of subjects that interest me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Charlotte Fay is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.