Styled logo

Bring on the 90's

To tee or not

By Stephanie M HodgePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Dress too short ? Make it a baggy shirt !

Skinny jeans are apparently out now. We’re headed back to the 90’s with baggy jeans, crop tops, and oversize tees. I wore all of this when I was a teenager. I was especially not a fan of tight jeans when I was younger. Although, I did wear them.

I remember this brand JNCO that I was obsessed with, also brands like Baby Phat, and Ecko. I still have some of my pieces. They looked to cool to give away. Now I’m thirty-three, but most of my old clothes still fit me from my teens.

I don’t really think I’ll be wearing crop tops again unless it’s with high waisted jeans. I would like to wear baggy jeans once more. I used to wear baggy jeans or baggy men’s sweatpants and big shirts. There were these grey sweatpants made by Outkast. I had a shirt of Tupac that I believe I still have somewhere.

Work from home style has brought back sweatpants like never before. Even fashion designers like Jonathan Simkhai have gotten in on the matching sweats. Everyone has jumped on the bandwagon. They see what is in demand and go with it.

We will look back on this time and also remember all the masks that designers made. Either sold in stores or helping their communities. Also, all the different variations of them. Fashion is huge and masks are in because we have no choice. Might as well go with it.

Out of curiosity I looked up the brands JNCO and Ecko online and they are still around. Talk about a throwback. There was a pair of JNCO jeans for two hundred and eighty dollars. They seem to be more expensive than they used to be. On their site they actually talk about the 90’s. It’s pretty cool. I might have to get a pair someday.

One of my favorite looks back in the day was definitely baggy jeans with a crop top. There were so many crop tops. Something I will always remember is the clothes I used to wear. Even the party or event I wore it to. I actually think back on an outfit that I wore in the fifth grade which was with Express navy track pants.

What we wear sticks with us. We might hold on or get rid of it. Maybe even look for it from time to time. I had these white and black Converse that had an old school diner menu on it with prices and pictures and a little bit of red. At least from what I can recall that’s pretty much what they looked like. I wore those till my best friend said it might be time to trash them. They were falling apart.

I also had these Guess high heel jelly sandals. I still look for those both all the time. Middle school is when I had the sandals and high school for the Converse. I have seen similar jelly heels on Amazon that I am going to give a shot.

Current styles for spring are what they have been for decades. Pastels, neon, camo print, tie dye, and even camo combined with floral prints. I have a camo floral print jacket. Sharp shoulders are making a huge come back. Padded shoulders were invented in 1877 and actually began with men’s clothing. It was a huge hit in the 80’s though. It feels like a power statement, but it can easily be worn with jeans.

All said, my favorite is the band tees or graphic tees that were huge in the 90’s. Now it’s back and I bought two recently. One white shirt dress with Freddie Mercury on it and another black shirt dress with Wu Tang Clan on it. These versions are dresses, but still the same deal. I wore my Wu Tang one as a baggy shirt the other night.

Anything you wear should be what you like and feel comfortable in. Your confidence will shine through when you have those two. My style is on the eclectic side because one day I’ll wear the Wu Tang dress, and another I’ll wear tie dye shoes. Nowadays, you can even pair those if you feel risky.

trends
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.