Petlife logo

From Diggy to Bolt

My last two rescue's

By Stephanie M HodgePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Bolt, the second day with me. If you look closely my cat, Bojangles, is in the window.

About ten years ago I rescued Diggy. I just lost my dog previously, a Scottish terrier. I had him for fifteen years. The loss of him was traumatic. He didn’t want to let go, and he passed in my room when I was holding his paw. Thirty minutes before he passed, I had this feeling that he was just going to pass. I’ll never know how I knew but later on it happened a couple more times that I felt someone was going to pass away.

Two weeks later my brother said I should look up a male cat to be a friend to our cat. I decided to look at dogs on Craigslist instead. I found a ten-month-old blue nose pure bred Pitbull for free, and only a picture of his head. Immediately I went to go see him, and I knew he had to come with me.

He was already about seventy or seventy-five pounds at that time. Later he became even more massive. That saying of who really rescued who is so true. I have health issues such as Endometriosis since I was eleven and I’m now thirty-three. He was always by my side, and will always mean the world to me.

Around nine years ago I had my first panic attack, and I thought I was having a heart attack. I was in the shower and jumped out. No one ever even talked about anxiety, I had no idea what was going on. I also remember I was hoping for that feeling to pass and never feel it again. I didn’t know that I was never going to be the same. My anxiety/ptsd is still very much there; although it is better. I’m forever thankful for Diggy because I would sit and cry and he would just literally sit in my lap and let me squeeze him and cry all over him. I even had anxiety over losing him in the end, and it still tears me apart.

So, then came Bolt literally another two weeks went by like the first time I lost my dog. I felt so lost without Diggy, and I just started looking for dogs. No one could replace him, but I knew another dog needed help. I could give that dog love and a home, and he would be there for me.

My previous coworker lost her dog a few months before I lost Diggy, and she told me about this rescue called Good Karma. She got her new dog from there, and that is where I went. Bolt wasn’t even on their site yet; they just got him in. They were calling him Spud. Although, that is cute I knew that really didn’t fit him.

The first time I saw him I really liked him, but wasn’t sure yet. My dad and I only saw him and another Pitbull mix. I was leaning towards the girl dog. It was because he was so distracted when I saw him. I knew I needed to see him again to make a decision. It’s a life changing decision, and I wanted to be sure about it.

This poor pup was only 1 year and 1 month old and was definitely underfed, and you could see his spine and ribs. Even like that he was full of energy, and you could tell he was a sweetheart.

Just a couple days later on the following Sunday, there was a pet adoption festival. Bolt and the rescue were going to be there. After I saw him again, I wanted to take him right home. This time he was more focused even though a lot was going on around him. He sat and gave me his paw and the way he was around me I was then sure of him. It was only a few days later, and he was being dropped off at my house. Within an hour of him being there his name popped into my head, Bolt.

That name came to mind because of the way he would stand, and just take off. Funny enough there is a movie called, Bolt. I didn’t name him after that animated dog, but we watched it that week together. Everything just felt right. This week in April I have had him for two months.

I still miss Diggy so much. Bolt has filled my heart with love and literal hugs and kisses every day though. I’m so thankful he was the next one to adore.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.