Confessions logo

Drive-In Merlot

The new Bill & Ted

By Stephanie M HodgePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

We haven’t seen each other in quite some time, probably in fifteen years. Although, we did not go to high school together we met in our teens through a mutual friend. Apparently, he has always had a crush on me since he met me.

I always thought he was cute, but nothing ever happened there. Like most people, lives go on, ours did too. There have been other times that I haven’t seen someone in years or a decade or so. This pandemic has been a crazy time and has either brought people closer together or farther apart.

One night Steve reached out to me, and he told me just how much he liked me. I always knew he was a good guy, and that’s how we reconnected through social media. We decided to meet for drinks one night.

Before that night came, I was out with some friends, and he sent me sixty dollars through a cash app. Just to make sure I had a good time while I was out. It’s amazing what technology can allow people to do. He is just a sweet person like that.

For a couple weeks both of us were busy but making future plans before our first date even came. I really love movies and going to the drive-in movie theater. I mentioned this to Steve and he really wanted to go too. It’s a perfect second date, and I thought it would be even better if I got some wine and snacks. I’d love a glass of merlot.

Since, I had some time before the date, I ordered wine from Bright Cellars, which is one of my favorite sites. I took this quiz that paired the things I like with the wine I will probably enjoy. Along with my merlot I thought I would give some primitivo’s a try. Those are jammy, rustic, and have a sweet finish. It is just up my alley.

I was all set for the second date, I also got some grapes, crackers, and cheese; like Jarlsberg and Brie. There should always be something sweet to eat on a date, so I planned to make dark chocolate and merlot cupcakes.

Now, it’s the night of our first date. He decided we should go to this quaint little bar by the water. We talked about anything and everything from work to cars. I’ve always been a sports car enthusiast and my dad taught me how to work on cars. It was nice to catch up, and I felt comfortable around him since we already knew each other.

Luckily, that night went well because I was really looking forward to our movie night. Making food and sharing it with people is something I really love to do. I couldn’t wait for him to try the cupcakes I made and the fun different wine we were going to try together. Don’t get me wrong I was still really excited to go out and see a movie. Stupid comedies are my favorite, so I asked him if he’d like to see the latest, Bill and Ted. Nothing like a series to watch with someone from the past.

That night he picked me up in his Lexus because my Camaro would be uncomfortable to enjoy a movie in. He was still working at this time, and although I was offered to stay on because I was “essential” I chose to be furloughed.

It became a great time to focus on school, rest, and rekindling relationships. What is important in our lives is to stay true to ourselves and grow with the people that matter to us. Also, to see the silver lining of a difficult time.

As we clinked our plastic wine cups in the car, we knew that our past, present, and future just came together like the movie we were watching.

Dating
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.