Styled logo

Bohe-ME-an?

exploring my style identity

By Kaitlyn DawnPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Bohe-ME-an?
Photo by Nicole Geri on Unsplash

Last week, I wrote an article for a recent Vocal challenge (Sweet Nostalgia), about my love of the 1980s. I commented on a couple hair trends and a fashion trend I'd love to see be brought back (if they haven't already), and how I wish I had the confidence to pull off these looks.

After writing all this, however, I started to really reflect on whether or not my current style matches how I've been feeling about myself and my life lately ... which it doesn't. But are the beloved styles of the '80s what I'm missing?

Turns out, it's not ... well, maybe a select few things (like the side ponys and the crimped hair!).

What I'm actually craving, I realized, is more of what could be described as either Boho or Boho Chic -- still not 100% sure how much "chic" I'd like to add to my Boho. But I have pinpointed some of the things I'm looking for as far as fashion/style, and realized these features basically pointed to a Bohemian wardrobe.

Comfort

I've been wearing jeans and t-shirts (and now "nice" tops) since I was a teenager ... so over a decade of wearing clothing that's too tight.

The shirts are a struggle -- doesn't matter how loose my top is, my bra is always going to dig into my ribs, and so I'd have to buy shirts that are an extra size up and too large in the arms to have them be somewhat-comfortable in the chest.

(Side Rant: Being a natural G cup is NOT pleasant, and from what I hear being 27 makes it near impossible to get a reduction in Canada because doctors have told multiple girls my age that they don't reduce young women "in case they want kids one day".)

Pants always seem too tight -- after laundry especially, but also just as the day goes on and the band of the jeans (with the button and zipper) digs into my panties which digs into my body.

In the last couple years, I've stared buying more dresses and flowy tops, even a couple skirts ... things that make me feel more feminine, as well as more COMFORTABLE. I'll admit, I probably avoided dresses for so long (except in my youth when I'd wear them with pants) because I'm not a fan of showing my legs ... but as I'm getting older, and I care less and less about that sort of thing, I can't see any reason why I shouldn't add more dresses to my wardrobe now.

Bold Patterns

My black t-shirts always had some kind of graphic on them ... that's it, just a black t-shirt and a singular graphic.

When I was studying to become a teacher (maybe even a little before that), I started buying nicer tops, but I couldn't have anything on them that would distract the kids -- nothing TOO wild. So quite a few of my shirts now have plaid, a couple with stripes ...

And recently, I bought a green dress with a bold floral pattern! That's one of the things I love about being my own boss now: not needing to worry about parents finding my social media account, not having to dress and act a certain way for my job. I can be as bold as I want!

... which, for an introvert who's not really a look-at-me kind of person, is still a work-in-progress. I've also been told by at least one person that I shouldn't buy the bold prints ... but maybe I've just been looking at the wrong ones with them?

In any case, I feel much more free to explore different colours and patterns, and to be as bold as I want to be.

Jewelry

Why don't I wear more jewelry?

I had my ears pierced (twice!), but I accidentally let the holes grow over and when I tried putting earrings in again my ears were in pain for a week ... not sure if I can pierce the same spot a third time. (It's been about 7 years, I think ...)

I don't like having anything on my fingers (if I get engaged one day, that'll be different); I worry that rings would fall off my fingers because I'll buy them a size too big (not wanting to risk them being too tight).

Alright, so what about bracelets and necklaces? I LOVE bracelets and necklaces ... I just don't wear them every day for some reason. But I want to wear jewelry more often.

And so, I made some purchases recently, as a new beginning to make more effort to wear at least ONE piece of jewelry every day.

(I've also made it a mission of mine, for Christmas, to purchase gifts -- for our nephews, at least -- from charities/organizations with shops, or shops that donate some proceeds to a special cause. These jewelry purchases, although they're for myself, do align with this desire.)

Conclusion

Like with anything I do, I love to research. I can't just change my entire wardrobe overnight, and I'm still in the exploration phase of what Boho and Boho Chic really and truly mean. (Some of my wardrobe pieces, like all my plaid shirts and my ballet flats, seem to be considered more "preppy" ... but I'd like to keep them and figure out if I can somehow make them Boho! Right now, I don't know if that's possible ...)

If anyone can help me -- recommendations for websites or books, or if you know of any online clothing shops that support a good cause -- please help a woman out by sending me a DM on Instagram!

women
1

About the Creator

Kaitlyn Dawn

27, Canadian, she/her

Life & Creativity Coach

reader, writer, and lover of words

https://www.kaitlyndawn.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.