Styled logo

'90s Child, '80s Lover

style trends I would love to bring back, into the 2020s

By Kaitlyn DawnPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
17-year-old Kaitlyn

I was born in 1994. My boyfriend, 1989. I've loved the 1980s since well-before I met him though. (I really really appreciate that he was born the same year that the The Little Mermaid was released; it's my favourite, for nostalgia, Disney movie!)

My Dad introduced me to the '80s culture through movies and music, and while I never got to live through this decade myself, I constantly try to pay this amazingness forward by introducing my friends (the people of my generation) to '80s things ... movies in particular. (Finally got the boyfriend to watch Beverly Hills Cop -- next up is Lethal Weapon! I also gotta show him Cocktail though, my favourite '80s Tom Cruise film.)

Occasionally, I also like to emulate the style of the '80s -- mainly through my hair, and sometimes my clothing. Below are my Top 3 favourite '80s fads that I plan to bring back, slowly but surely, into the 2020s (if they haven't already started trending again).

Crimped Hair

When I graduated high school (2012) I had someone crimp my hair for me, for my grad photo. I was told by at least one person that I would regret this hair decision later on (because what teenager doesn't regret their pre-adult style choices?) ... but here we are almost a decade later and I STILL love this hairstyle! I would do this again in a heart-beat ... if I knew how to actually do anything with my hair. (That's why I had someone else crimp it for me ...)

Christina Aguilera ... I know this is early 2000s, but I absolutely love this hairstyle and wish I had the confidence to pull something like this off (with the crimps AND the colourful additions to her hair -- not to mention the tone of blonde)

Side Ponytails

I wear my hair to the side all the time -- not sure why it's more comfortable there than it is just straight down, but it is. If it's a bad hair day, it'll still be to the side but in a sad ponytail. When I'm feeling really fun and funky though, I will put it up in a TRUE side ponytail ... you know the ones I'm talking about, totally '80s style (bonus points when using a scrunchie!). THIS is a hairstyle I can do on the daily ... it may hurt my head, I may have to switch sides occasionally, but unlike the crimping (or French braids, or regular braids ... or anything involving an iron of sorts) I can actually pull this hairstyle off, BY MYSELF!

D.J. Tanner (played by Candace Cameron) from Full House -- one of my favourite television shows growing up!

Neon Colours

While I do have a favourite colour (pink!), I am someone who has always loved rainbows. I enjoy colour ... like I REALLY enjoy colour! Colours bring me pure joy. That isn't necessarily conveyed in my current wardrobe, but I always appreciate seeing bold colours on other people (in their clothing, or in their hair ... or both!).

I'm surprised I haven't at least worn something like this for Halloween ... I think this is so cute! (The bright blue is so 80s, but also that off-the-shoulder look ... LOVE <3 and don't get me started on the hair!)

Overall Theme & Next Step

Looking at these three trends now, I think why they appeal to me so much is that they all scream CONFIDENCE. They're bold, they're edgy, and it takes a daring person to pull styles like these off in the 2000s. In fact, I'm surprised 17-year-old Kaitlyn had the nerve to have her hair crimped for one of the biggest photos of her life (considering 27-year-old Kaitlyn STILL hates having her photo taken, and has never been much of a look-at-me kind of person).

As I've been on my personal journey of self-discovery this past year, and have been learning more and more about myself (who I am, what I want), I'm realizing how bland my style used to be (black t-shirt, jeans, runners, and a hoodie ... every day). It's only been in the past five years that I've started experimenting with more feminine pieces in my wardrobe, and playing with my hair more. The next phase of my style journey: to match the outside to my inside -- fun and playful, meaning bolder hair and brighter clothing!

trends
2

About the Creator

Kaitlyn Dawn

27, Canadian, she/her

Life & Creativity Coach

reader, writer, and lover of words

https://www.kaitlyndawn.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.