Styled logo

Always in the Mood for Luxury

Interview with Allena Grant

By Lamore Lifestyle Published 2 years ago 3 min read
2

Embracing luxury as a Black woman is top tier. By definition, luxury is something adding to pleasure or comfort but not absolutely necessary. Another definition is an indulgence in something that provides pleasure, satisfaction, or ease. Luxury is the “free or habitual indulgence in or enjoyment of comforts and pleasures in addition to those necessary for a reasonable standard of well-being." For International Black Women’s History Month we’ve decided to interview a woman making history by being a part of the very small percent of Black women in the luxury eyewear industry.

Moods was founded in 2019 by company CEO, Allena Grant. Her love for funky eyewear turned into her passion of wanting every woman to feel as good as she does when she wears a pair of luxury frames.

•How do you differentiate your business from the competition?

Allena: First and foremost I am a black woman that owns a luxury eyewear brand. I have been wearing glasses my whole life and I had never come across a luxury eyewear brand owned by a black woman. I am also differentiating my business by the branding on the temples of my frames. The stems of my frames are made up of stainless steel and sport my brand name. The actual frame is made up of a mazzucchelli acetate and my eyewear is handmade in Italy.

•What has been your most effective marketing strategy to grow your business?

Allena: I have been using social media to grow my business and recently I hired a PR Agency to increase my visibility.

•What's your best piece of advice for aspiring and new entrepreneurs?

Allena: The best piece of advice for aspiring entrepreneurs is to just start, remain consistent and never give up!

•What's your favorite app, blog, and book? Why?

Allena: My favorite apps right now are usually the apps that I use for my business which have been canva and shopify. Canva is a great app that helps one create social media posts. Shopify is a software that allows one to create an online store. It is very user friendly and I was able to build my website in a smooth manner. I love apps and websites that are user friendly and streamlined. As a small business owner I am handling everything so anything that is straight to the point and easy to use if perfect for me. The current books that I read now are all about leadership because I want to grow as a leader. I know one day that I will have to make key decisions and lead a team of people.

•What's your favorite business tool or resource? Why?

Allena: Again Canva and Shopify are my favorite business tools. Zenbusiness is great as well. I used zenbusiness to obtain my LLC. I provided my information and literally sat back and waited for my LLC to be formed within a couple of weeks. It was costly but it was worth the money and I felt comfortable knowing everything was submitted correctly.

•Who is your business role model? Why?

Allena: Of course I would have to say the obvious black women like Oprah, Beyonce and Rhianna. They are black women who run million, billion dollar businesses. Their marketing is impeccable. Another woman that I look up to as a business role model is LaVida Samuel. She owns Elle Vie Body Products. Her body butter is immaculate and it smells delicious! Her marketing is amazing and social media presence is cute and relatable.

•How do you balance work and life?

Allena: Sometimes balancing a full-time job, my business and my social life can be a lot but I am grateful for life and the little things. I am grateful that I have the means to even start my business. I work on my business in the evenings, weekend and this is also why I decided to go with a PR Agency so that is one less thing that I have to worry about.

•What’s your favorite way to decompress?

Allena: My favorite way to decompress is deep breathing, meditation, praying, going to brunch with my friends and hanging out with my family.

•What do you have planned for the next six months?

Allena: I plan to design a unisex frame. Hopefully within the next six months I will be adding a new frame to my collection.

We’re looking forward to following Allena’s journey!

designers
2

About the Creator

Lamore Lifestyle

Sharing stories of those in the beauty, fashion, food and entrepreneurship space.

@lamorelifestylepr

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.