Serve logo

The 4 Best Books About the Civil War

From Manassas to Savannah, here is a list of books about the conflict between the Union and Confederacy.

By Borba de SouzaPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
2
The 4 Best Books About the Civil War
Photo by Jen Theodore on Unsplash

The American Civil War is widely considered the most pivotal moment in American history. Not only did that war represent a battle between North and South, but it was also a divergence point that greatly shaped society today. It had battles resulting in over 600,000 deaths.

Here's a list of recommended books about the American Civil War, with reviews from avid readers like me and you.

If you want to purchase any of the books listed below, click on the titles. They are affiliated links that will take you directly to the store.

National Geographic The Civil War: A Traveler's Guide

I am an avid Civil War buff and I love visiting the many battlefields in the eastern part of our country. This guide has been very helpful in planning my visits. I also use it when I want to visit a battlefield in another part of the country and want to know how much time is needed for additional driving and sightseeing. The book covers most battlefields in the East and many in the West.

It's a little short on battlefields in the South, but overall, this is a great guide for the novice to the Civil War and those who have been to Gettysburg before. It will help you find things you may have missed and gives you an idea of how much time it takes to visit these sites.

The NGTW is a very nice overview of Civil War sites that are easy to visit. The book is well organized. I have bought many National Geographic travel guides for my students, and they are the best of the genre.

Showdown at Antietam: A Battlefield Tour of America's Bloodiest Day, by Jack L Kunkel

I highly recommend Showdown at Antietam. It is well written, researched, and balanced - a must-read for anyone who has visited the battlefield, lived in the area, or just enjoys reading about American history.

This book provides a compelling and detailed account of the events on the day of September 17, 1862. I am a Civil War reenactor, so this is an important part of American history to me. I have visited Antietam Battlefield twice, but the book took me there again in great detail, more than my earlier visits.

I have been very interested in the Civil War for a while now, but I knew nothing about Antietam. The book was very well written and the author's passion for the topic really shone through. I really felt like I went on a journey with him as he described all of his discoveries, and it made me want to visit this national park myself.

The Politically Incorrect Guide to the Civil War, by H. W. Crocker III

I must admit that I was very surprised and delighted to find a "politically incorrect" book about the Civil War. Most of what I have read, and I have read quite a lot, seems to be written from a Northern point of view, which is not surprising since most authors are from New York City. This books clearly states its bias from the beginning. It is not politically correct in that it states that both sides fought bravely and honorably. The author does not let the South off

A friend pointed out to me the most striking point in this book. The Confederacy was founded on the principle of STATE'S RIGHTS. It was not about slavery. Even Lincoln said so. This book puts the truth in context where it belongs.

This book is a must-have for anyone who seeks the facts about the US Civil War. It tells the truth about the war, slavery, and how it all relates to America today. The author is not afraid to point fingers at both sides of the conflict, but does so in a fair and even way.

Clouds of Glory: The Life and Legend of Robert E. Lee, by Michael Korda

The book is a great read and very well researched. Michael Korda tells the story of Robert E. Lee in a very factual manner, yet manages to make the facts come alive with his choice of words and his literary style.

Korda’s well-crafted prose shows us in vivid detail what life was like for Robert E. Lee in the years between the Mexican War and the outbreak of the Civil War in 1861. Korda brings forth a side of Lee that is often over-looked by other biographers, and shows us the real man behind the myth.

I have read many biographies on him, but this is by far one of the most comprehensive books I have ever read. Michael Korda does a great job at capturing all of the significant details of Lee’s life and paints a vivid picture of what he was like as a person.

book reviews
2

About the Creator

Borba de Souza

Writer and business founder that enjoys writing about history and culture.

Founder of Small Business Hacks https://www.youtube.com/c/SmallBusinessHacks and https://expatriateconsultancy.com. My published books: https://amzn.to/3tyxDe0

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.