Serve logo

Mike Smith Is Dead—Pt. 6

Christian lite - Fiction

By Dub WrightPublished 5 years ago 7 min read
Like

Sam pointed at the engine. “If Fed Ex delivers today we can put this back together, test it, and be out of here. Otherwise there might be a war with a delivery company for sure.” She laughed. And, I don’t look good in purple. She waved at the engine. “Previous owner made some unfortunate modifications, I think for the non inspected storage.”

The hanger was large enough for several aircrafts, but no others were occupying the wide spaces. “Big room,” quipped Kip.

“I like it that way, nice and private. The mechanic told us that a couple of corporate craft were due in late in the week for some work, but until then the shop was ours.” Marcos pushed a tool box toward the engine. “Okay, let’s get it done.”

At nine that evening the three sat in the restaurant in the Double Tree. Just as Sam was discussing changes and an interesting side note to the repairs Kip got a text on his burn phone. It said. “Sunday, 2232.”

“Important?” Marcos asked.

“I think so. Rosa will be here tomorrow.”

“Well, let's meet back the hanger after lunch. Sam and I have something to do. I need to borrow your car.”

“No problem.”

There was a Catholic church near Love Field and Marcos used Kip’s car to take Sam for an early service. Kip found a Methodist church almost next door to the hanger and walked over for the 10:30 service. He wasn’t a regular church-goer, but slipped in and sat on the back row and followed the service. By the time he got back to the hanger Marcos and Sam were hard at work. At four in the afternoon Sam bolted the engine cover back in place.

“I want to test it,” she said. “I’ll notify the tower we will be taxiing her on the tarmac and taxi way, if it’s clear I want to run it down the runway a couple of times maybe even lift the wheels.”

“You must have received the part you were waiting for.”

Sam winked at Kip. “Yeah, got one and had to fabricate one. As to the one I built, well, that part won’t be here until mid week, I wanna be gone by then. She climbed in the cockpit and started the engines. Marcos and Kip slipped on ear protection and stood back from the aircraft as the steps ascended and tucked into the aircraft. Sam was on the radio speaking and ten minutes later gave them a ‘thumbs up.’

They watched as the airplane eased out of the hanger and turned. The jet idled on the tarmac for about half an hour before Sam started it rolling toward a runway. Minutes later the jet engines whined and Sam guided the plane down the runway then cut the engines and basically coasted to the hanger. The airplane eventually stopped on the tarmac fifty yards from where they were standing. The stairs descended and Sam emerged shaking her head.

“It’s not right. I need to look at the books.” Sam walked past Kip and Marcos and went into an office.

Marcos and Kip generally loafed around. Kip received his first look inside the Gulf Stream. It was pure luxury. Soft leather seats and polished wood tables decorated the fuselage. The un-stocked bar seemed alone and isolated. A long couch was located along one side and was backed by two forward and backward facing seats. The opposite side had four back-to-back seats.

Marcos patted Kip on the back. “Who says crime doesn’t pay. This belonged to or at least was sold to a questionable figure in the Dallas area. He stopped making payments, my guess not only to the bank, but perhaps he wronged some other folks, cause he is no more. The court was more than happy to give the airplane back to the international credit holder. That way they don’t have to deal with it or the government of Argentina.”

“Shish.” was all Kip said.

“Well, Sam says something’s not right. And if that’s what she says, then I believe her.” Marcos headed for the hatch and Kip followed.

Sam was still in the office, on the phone and with diagrams spread across the desk.

Marcos and Kip spent the rest of the evening cleaning the hanger, replacing tools and generally straightening up the area. Two other jet aircraft were normally housed in the hanger, so the men began clearing the spaces. Finally, at six o’clock Marcos tapped on the door and asked Sam if he could bring her anything.

“Chicken sandwich and coke,” was the only reply.

Marcos and Kip found a Wendy’s, purchased sandwiches and sodas, and returned to the hanger. Sam devoured the sandwich and sucked on the drink without looking up.

An hour later she said, “I think I know what it is.” She raised her long arms to stretch. “I’ve fixed everything but that switch and a board with an electrical connection.” She pointed at the diagram. “If I can do that tonight we can fly out tomorrow. I’ll file a plan now to take us to San Jose to refuel and then on to Buenos Aires. I’ll call you when they give me a departure window.”

Marcos nodded. “You need me to stay and help or anything?”

“Nope, I’m taking all the tools I need on board. I’ll button her up and sleep on the couch if I finish, oh, bring coffee and buns for the trip when you come tomorrow.” Sam fastened a tool belt around her waist and rolled out a cart of tools onto the tarmac.

“Well, I think she has dismissed us.” Marcos chuckled, “What mysterious plan do you have for tonight?”

“I pick up Rosa at ten, then crash for the night.”

Marcos grinned. “I’ll be down in the hotel bar, there’s a football game on tonight. I think you call it soccer; anyway, a bartender told me that they would have the game on a big screen. It’s Colon against San Martin. I know a bunch of the players on both sides. I’ll be there as long as I can keep my eyes open. Then, all I have to do is just elevator to my room. You have my number if you need anything.”

“Text me with a flight time. Like I said, y’all wore me out.” Kip waved and walked to the rental. “Hey, I just thought, I’m going to turn in the rental tomorrow morning. Can you pick me up at Hertz?”

“Call a cab amigo I’m motorless, remember, unless Sam will taxi down the tarmac to the rental center,” Marcos laughed. “Hope you can drop the car. Hotel shuttle will drop me at the hanger cause I had to turn in the Cushman.”

Kip chuckled. “I’m sure they have a key drop at Hertz.” He had used that service before; a copy of the bill always arrived a few days afterward. This one would go to his mother’s old address. Maggie could throw it away.

A few minutes after 10:30 PM Kip drove to the passenger terminal at Love Field. It was seemingly as busy as it was when it was the primary Dallas airport. He parked and walked inside. Quickly Kip found the arrival waiting area/ baggage claim and stood with a hundred other people awaiting the arrival of loved ones and associates. Not long after he watched a stream of passengers as they began arriving from a Delta flight out of Nashville, Tennessee.

Rosa must have been in the back of the airplane because she was nearly the last one off. Kip waved.

She saw him and began running toward Kip dragging her rolling suitcase behind. She thrust her arms around his neck and began kissing him like a long lost love.”

He held her and whispered. “The ruse is over, I think they believed us coming to the States.”

She put her hands behind his head and kissed him passionately. “I love you,” she cried.

To be continued ....

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Dub Wright

Curmudgeon; overeducated; hack writer; too much time in places not fit for habitation.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.