Serve logo

Mike Smith Is Dead—Pt. 31

Christian lite - Fiction

By Dub WrightPublished 5 years ago 6 min read
Like

“A great idea Roberto. Love the location.” Kip was admiring the new condo he and Roberto had located. Kip could office down stairs and he could live upstairs of the condo in Escazú, a suburb of San Jose.

“I like the fact we bought it off an American Expat trying to leave the country.” Kip and Roberto were in the process of relocating him from the hotel otherwise he was going to have buy another month of hotel. The condo came furnished, so there was little Kip had to do, although he did send Roberto to buy sheets and bathroom supplies. Roberto and his family lived in Turrialba a small agricultural town about 50 Km from San Jose. Additionally, with Roberto’s help, Kip had purchased a small farm and cheese company. His herd of cattle provided the makings for some of the valley’s best cheese. Kip employed the original workers of the farm, and helped them develop a more efficient means of marketing their goods. From what had been a marginal income, the farm began serious production and profit.

With an accountant and an attorney Kip created Pacific Holding Corporation. One of his first acquisitions was the MAR Corporation in a hostile take over. The holder of the stock was not willing to give it up until an offer of ten million dollars was mentioned and Rosa with her attorney signed the papers. Roberto represented the Holding Company along with Kips new attorney. Kip listened in to the negotiations through Roberto’s cell phone which was conveniently dialed in.

Kip also took over the remodeling of an old farm mansion and with Roberto finding the workers to turn the large turn of the century Costa Rican Farm and Plantation home into a bed and breakfast. Kip was busier than he had been in years. Soon he began spending as much time on the farm as in the city.

Roberto’s wife was a plump woman who could hold her own with Roberto although several inches shorter. They adopted Kip and he regularly sat at their dinner table.

Late one afternoon he was standing in the foyer of his bed and breakfast watching workers perfecting and polishing railings when a tall man wearing a red baseball cap entered the front door.

“Jacques LeFey,” he called.

Kip had his back to the door and was surprised when his name was called. He whirled around. “Marcos, how long has it been?”

Marcos grinned and held out a hand. “Over two years my friend.”

Kip looked back at his workers. “Guys, take the rest of the day off. Here.” He handed them a 100 thousand Calone note, go buy some beer or sodas and have an afternoon.” The workers filed out the door leaving Marcos and Kip standing.

“Please have a chair.” There were a dozen wooden chairs along the walls and around a big wooden workbench. “How have you been?” Kip used a shop rag to dust sawdust off the seats.

Marcos dipped his head. “Lonely. You know they killed Sam. But Giles killed the guy.”

Kip’s mouth dropped open. “No, I didn’t know. You mean Giles is still alive? Like, I’ve been in more or less hiding away from you know, being seen as Mike Smith, or Kip Waller. I’m down to my last passport—you’re talking to Jay LeFey.”

“Lucky I remembered that name. Father Luis told me he had helped you leave the hospital, but then you disappeared.”

“Uh, well, Rosa dismissed me you know.”

“Really. I talked to her yesterday and she referred to you in the past tense, like you were dead.” Marcos scooted his chair back.

“I guess Father Luis heard the fight and decided not to mention to her that he had paid for my cab to the hotel, which reminds me I need to repay him.” Kip huffed. “Probably all for the best, she blames me for killing her brother, her best friend, and probably the Pope. Last thing she said to me was for me to leave. She never wanted to see me again. So, I’ve been staying away. It’s been just me, and an assistant doing what I do best, manage property, create and run businesses. We bought Rosa’s company. She’s actually a well paid employee. Although she has no idea I am behind the whole thing. My Holding Company bought out LeFey Pedicures and dissolved that company, but I’m still Jay Lefey.”

“Kip I hate to say it, maybe Father Luis was fulfilling something he promised Paulo, helping to make Rosa happy, maybe even breaking her away from you.”

“I can’t believe that. Well, maybe. I don’t know.”

“Rosa said her realty company was purchased by a large development corporation but she hasn’t met the new owners, although she said she now has five percent of the new company and a nice salary and huge savings account.”

Kip laughed. “The Pacific Holding Corporation gave her ten million plus five percent of the corporation, of which MAR real estate is just one of the companies under the umbrella. That’s enough talk about business. Tell me what happened in the world after I left the hospital.”

“I told you Giles killed the guy who we think was doing all the murders. Anyway, a bunch of Washington people resigned. Even the Vice President turned in his resignation and left on vacation, but his boat blew up. Giles said she heard that several other members of the State Department met unfortunate ends. Some were just never heard from again. Apparently, in the US there’s a new Vice President, Speaker of the House, and Secretary of State, plus a number of new Senators and Congressmen.”

“A purge. Giles and I are the only ones left of the old guard. I guess you know that all of the money I held was returned through United States Treasury Bills. I signed off on one Billion worth about a year ago. Easy enough, I just took a big box of paper to the American Embassy and handed it to them, assigned the notes all payable to the Treasury Department—it was like they were paying themselves. However, a guy named Sessions got away with almost half a billion in United States cash, but nothing I could do about that, the State Department raided the bank.”

“Giles told me,” said Marcos.

“I have no idea what happened to those funds, but I don’t have them. But, what I do have is investments created by a banker friend from the 1980s. I need to find him. Hence we have the Pacific Holding Company.” Kip cleared his throat. “And, nobody has taken a shot at me in over a year. The money is repaid, the information was distributed. I can be left to live my life.”

“Alone,” said Marcos.

“In about a month this project should be done. We are going to have an open house, plus the Holding Company is giving a major donation to the Autistic Children’s Research Group, there should be some high flyers, both political and business men and women here, you don’t have to stay here, but if you want a room, you could be my first guest, well the Corporation’s first guest. I’m interviewing for personnel this week. Wine and cheese included with each luxury room.”

Marcos smiled. “Can I bring a guest?”

“Of course. But, don’t bring Rosa, this is a happy party, I don’t want to get into a fight.”

To be continued ....

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Dub Wright

Curmudgeon; overeducated; hack writer; too much time in places not fit for habitation.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.