Vocal Creator Chat: 5/9/23

A place to connect and discuss all things Vocal.

By Vocal Creator ChatPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
26

Have questions about creating stories, growing your audience, and getting rewarded on Vocal? The Vocal community and team are here to help answer your questions and feedback together.

Every Tuesday at 12 PM ET, we'll assemble the Vocal community, as well as our Creator Experience and Product teams, in a thread to respond to creator inquiries for one hour.

Please follow Vocal’s Community Guidelines and don’t spam your own profile or stories in the thread. We encourage the community to report users or comments that break these guidelines.

Some updates and reminders from the Vocal team:

  • Last week we launched our first micro-fiction challenge: Microfiction Magic. For this challenge we're asking creators to put their skills to the test by writing a micro-fiction story in just 50 to 100 words.
  • Look out for another challenge starting today inspired by Vocal creator suggestions in the Shape the Future of Vocal Challenges thread.

Got questions about Vocal or feedback about what’s new? Leave a comment in this thread to join the Vocal Creator Chat.

Also, be sure to join our Raise Your Voice Threads every Thursday at 12PM ET to champion inspiring stories and outstanding creators on Vocal. Save it to your calendar so you don’t miss it.

creator chat
26

About the Creator

Vocal Creator Chat

Monthly on Tuesday @ 12PM ET, we we'll assemble the Vocal community, as well as our Creator Experience and Product teams, in a thread to respond to creator inquiries for one hour on Vocal. Subscribe now

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (27)

Sign in to comment
  • aly suhail11 months ago

    Is there a reason that some stories and articles take hours and hours to be curated and some just minutes or seconds, waiting for almost a day now for my writing to be curated, Jesus Christ.

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    I have a question - I noticed that I got two top stories recently, but only one is showing in the wallet bit. Why is that? Is it usual for there to be a delay?

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    J.R. Lowe has a spectacular idea: https://vocal.media/journal/you-know-what-vocal-needs-a-reading-list

  • Lucasssa11 months ago

    Great post

  • Doc Sherwood11 months ago

    Why isn't this week's Raise Your Voice accepting comments? Has anyone else noticed this?

  • Ash Taylor11 months ago

    I've been really disheartened lately because I feel like no matter what I do, I'm not getting engagement. I post on socials, tag vocal in the posts, and comment on others' posts, but it's been feeling somewhat futile of late. I really like L.C Schafer's suggestion about a section devoted to new members. Either people who haven't been here for very long, or people who have less than a certain number of overall reads.

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    I would love to see a section devoted to new members. People who have been here less than six months. Give them a leg up. I'm seeing lots of people having the same difficulty (struggling to be seen amongst the established members). I'd also love to see fiction divided into flash fiction and get-your-teeth-into-it fiction, but maybe that's just me 😁

  • Test11 months ago

    Hi everyone. Late to the party, down under! I'd like to chat about Top Writers in communities. Last VCC, someone suggested that challenge winners (first and second) should not be featured as Top Stories, so my story And Still I Fly never appeared as one. I noticed that, after my win, I slipped a spot as a Top Writer in the Fiction community, so I'm wondering how Vocal qualifies those Top Writer positions? If Top Stories are a contributing factor, then I think challenge winners should not be missing out. Yes, the stories are highlighted in the challenge write-up, but not everyone reads that. I've noticed reads for And Still I Fly are low compared to past stories that haven't placed in a challenge, but were awarded TS. Can we please have all challenge winners featured as Top Stories through the following week?

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    THANK YOU for making a music themed challenge! I know those were a thing before I joined, like the Zen playlist. I’m so excited to participate and hear other people’s songs.

  • Janet Carpenter11 months ago

    I still don't see a "Seniors" or "Boomers" section in the Community site. Jay Kantor suggested it some time ago, and I think it would be a wonderful addition for us "seniors/boomers" to write for. Please consider making it happen! Thanks!

  • Latoya Giles 11 months ago

    I have been on the platform over two years. I am a single mom tfying to become a writer. Any suggestions on getting my engagement up? What do I have to do to become a "featured Author" here? I have entered challenge after challenge, not even an honorable mention. There are so many great writers on this platform, my little works always fade into the background....

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    Hey there! Just wondering if Vocal will be offering more merch!?

  • Hi guys! It's been really nice to see likes and reads from those of you at Vocal. It's good to put faces to the "machine"

  • Hi all, this one isn’t HUGE but it’s something I’ve come across multiple times with regards to the word count. I’ve noticed the word count differs from what I see when I use separate word counters online (since I usually write somewhere other than right in the Vocal Create Story tab and copy and paste in there after) the word count on Vocal tends to show higher than what I’ve gotten. For challenges where I have to be under 5,000 I’ve had stories I got down to 4,900 to then find out it’s 5,200 on Vocal. Recently for the micro fiction challenge I had one that was 100 spot on, but Vocal counts it as 113. And I realized I had 13 constructions (there’s; it’s; etc.) is that how the counter works? Counting those types of words as two words?

  • R. J. Rani11 months ago

    Hi Vocal team, thank you for inviting us to participate in these creator chats and for being so receptive to our suggestions. We appreciate your dedication to improving the platform and incorporating our feedback. As creators, we'd love to know what we can do for Vocal in return. What are your immediate goals, and how can we help support the team in achieving them? We're eager to contribute and lighten the load wherever possible.

  • Loryne Andawey11 months ago

    Wow! Hi guys! I'm a bit later than usual here. Glad to see everyone :) Quick question to the Vocal Creator Chat. I took your suggestion and emailed Investor Relations with my inquiries. I've yet to receive a response. Should I expect one? I see the 2022 Presentations up in the Creatd website and will go through it in a bit. Thank you.

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Hi all.. I'm with Leslie and love the Micro-fiction challenge. My suggestion is... Vocals home page features the following tabs {Home, Top Stories, Challenges, communities, resources} It would be awesome if you added the tab {Recently Published} So we can easily find more new works from creators to read without randomly searching which can become tedious to the point that you lose interest. This could also lead us to discovering the different communities that we wouldn't normally click on.

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Hello everyone. Recently, Vocal allowed non vocal+ members to enter a challenge which I think is great! Have you considered mixing it up a bit? Non plus members are allowed 1 entry in a challenge whereas plus members are unlimited. Also, have a separate award where non plus members can win a free plus month. Not trying to bust the budget. Just an idea to grow the platform.

  • Cezanne Libellen11 months ago

    Hey!! I was wondering if you guys could add a preview to the stories so that we can write whatever we want instead of the preview being the first few sentences of the story, because this might not be the best way to get more reads.

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    Also- shout out to those that created the new/updated reference Vocal Team published today. Stellar resource material! https://vocal.media/resources/leveraging-social-media-to-connect-with-fellow-writers

  • This is for the Vocal Creator. I have a piece that is going to be adapted for a Vocal resource but when I email Vocal to find out what is happening I get no response. Could you chase up? Also, Due Ambassador Payments still have to be chased with a ticket. I left a recent one two weeks and nothing happened until I raised a ticket. This used to be automatic.

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    The micro-fiction Challenge seems to have struck a motherload of inspiration! They are flooding our notifications, but are quick reads. I wonder- could there be a running total of submissions shown for the Challenges, perhaps on the Challenge tab/page, so we can see at a glance how many have been published?

  • Rene Peters11 months ago

    Why didn't I get the 50 stories bonus or my bonus for top story even after emailing about it? I'm beyond confused about it.

  • I would love for Vocal to answer or acknowledge emails. I know the whole mechanism is complex but we do need to feel we are being listened to. Vocal is my preferred writing platform and has been the source for four of my anthologies. When I interact with Vocal staff they are helpful and usually deal with whatever the problem is

  • Leslie Writes11 months ago

    I am enjoying the micro-fiction challenge 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.