Vocal Creator Chat: 5/23/23

A place to connect and discuss all things Vocal.

By Vocal Creator ChatPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
60

Have questions about creating stories, growing your audience, and getting rewarded on Vocal? The Vocal community and team are here to help answer your questions and feedback together.

Every Tuesday at 12 PM ET, we'll assemble the Vocal community, as well as our Creator Experience and Product teams, in a thread to respond to creator inquiries for one hour.

Please follow Vocal’s Community Guidelines and don’t spam your own profile or stories in the thread. We encourage the community to report users or comments that break these guidelines.

Some updates and reminders from the Vocal team:

  • Due to the success of the Microfiction Magic Challenge, the Fiction community no longer has a word count minimum. Stay tuned for a new microfiction challenge launching soon.
  • Last week we launched our Word Hunt Challenge. Let us know what you think of the puzzle format.
  • We fixed a bug that impacted Top Story bonuses. Top story bonuses should automatically be received within a few hours of receiving Top Story.

Got questions about Vocal or feedback about what’s new? Leave a comment in this thread to join the Vocal Creator Chat.

Also, be sure to join our Raise Your Voice Threads every Thursday at 12PM ET to champion inspiring stories and outstanding creators on Vocal. Save it to your calendar so you don’t miss it.

creator chat
60

About the Creator

Vocal Creator Chat

Monthly on Tuesday @ 12PM ET, we we'll assemble the Vocal community, as well as our Creator Experience and Product teams, in a thread to respond to creator inquiries for one hour on Vocal. Subscribe now

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (34)

Sign in to comment
  • Valentine oronsaye 6 months ago

    I have an issue with the word count, even after pasting my story with over 600 words as required it keeps say 0 words

  • Mary Haynes10 months ago

    Where has my Vocal wallet money gone? I requested withdrawal, it says processing, and Stripe gave me a text code. When I opened it, it says the balance is 0 and is not linked to Vocal and yet it clearly is since that’s the site I opened it from. Where is my money?

  • Just a question, this story has five hearts, five comments (two by the same person), and one read. Surely if someone has been on long enough to write a comment then they must have been on long enough to count as a read. https://vocal.media/beat/the-sensational-alex-harvey-band-the-covers-playlist?via=mike

  • Thavien Yliaster10 months ago

    Hey, I had a comment here earlier that I made sure to screenshot at 19:45 EST. It's currently 20:35 EST. Why do You keep deleting my comment? Are You that afraid of the words that I've typed?

  • Thavien Yliaster10 months ago

    Why did You guys delete my comment again?

  • sleepy drafts10 months ago

    I'm stoked to hear there will be another microfiction challenge! I'm also super intrigued to see what the Word Hunt challenge will inspire. I've never seen a challenge like the WH one, and I can't wait to see what comes with it. I love how the prompts in 2023 have felt purposeful; it truly feels like each challenge is designed, in one way or another, to help us improve our craft.

  • Ibraheem Islamiyat10 months ago

    How can I publish books and get reward for it

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Does anyone know if there is a way to block a subscriber?

  • Someone may have already brought this up but a few days ago I received two bonuses for top stories that I had already received the bonuses for. I contacted vocal about this a few days ago but have not yet heard back from them.

  • I want to touch once more on the plagiarism issue. A month ago Vocal + Assist had a committee meeting regarding plagiarism. Wake him up with several ideas to help curb the amount of plagiarism that is happening on Vocal. At that point we shared this information with the Vocal team and I would like to share it again in this chat. ++++++++++ The Facebook group Vocal + Assist has assembled a committee to discuss potential methods of Killing Plagiarism. This committee consists of: Loryne Andawey Oneg Kushnir Scott Wade Rick Henry Christopher The following are bullet points of our first committee meeting on Monday April 10th: - Urgent Matter button that is potentially a drop down selection. Giving us a tiered support system so priority items are prioritized - Maybe a hidden tag on each story so it can’t get copied - Medium has disabled the "Select All" function so that you can't copy more than a sentence at a time, to deter thieves - Anti plagiarism software like turnitin embedded in the creating story system so if it’s too plagiarized it’s flagged and won't be able to be submitted.

  • Antoinette L Brey10 months ago

    I like the format of the word puzzle challenge but when I checked yesterday not many people are submitting. Maybe when. the other two challenges end, more people. will take part, I think I have written 5 stories. I am having fun

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    The change in word count minimum is very welcome! Not every one likes rambling on and on about a topic. It would also be nice to know how you select Top Stories. Do you plan to feature a larger variety of creators? I tend to see the same names all the time. Of course, I second everyone else in the comment section. Something must be done about plagiarism!

  • A. Lenae10 months ago

    Thank you for these updates. The plagiarism issue is definitely important, and instead of repeating anything - I will just emphasize that it is a little disheartening when some stories are approved almost instantaneously, as it indicates they are likely not being read by anyone. I know the Vocal Team is hard at work, and expecting thorough consumption and feedback is too tall of an order, but the quick publishing does add a bit of a sour taste. Thank you for all that you do and for providing this opportunity to share.

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh10 months ago

    The threads on plagiarism reminded me to ask... I changed my email and started a new Vocal account using a slightly different name. Is there a way to migrate my pieces from the old account to the new? I cut and pasted one over, but now I realize that would look suspiciously like plagiarism!

  • Misty Rae10 months ago

    I second L.C. Schafer's concern. Recently there have been accounts popping up full of blatant plaigarism, from ripping off our own top stories to passing off the work of classic authors as their own. It took me, a regular person, less than 5 minutes to search and identify both the fact that the work was ripped off and the spice from which it was taken. To that end, what can be done? I know software exists to detect plagiarism. Is it being used? Are human eyes hitting these stories? I would suggest not as submissions are almost instantaneously approved. There has to be a middle ground between timely publication and the protection of our intellectual property.

  • L.C. Schäfer10 months ago

    I've been very concerned about the plagiarism as well. I am curious how new submissions are moderated, although I expect this is not information you can share. I assume technology is used to check for plagiarism. I am wondering if a person puts their eyes on each piece at all, because I can see a value to that. Some of the stolen pieces recently would never had passed an actual human even skimming them, it was so obvious. While I have appreciated how quickly submitted stories are now approved, I would prefer to go back to a wait of several hours, or even a day or two, if that is what is takes to check each story is not stolen. I might be a lone voice there. What recompense is there, if any, for writers who have been plagiarised? You let it happen. There is moderation in place, presumably at least partly to prevent plagiarism, and the process failed.

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    Question- some of my subscriptions are now Test. Sometimes comments are from Test. Are Test-designated accounts creators that have left the platform? I am going through my subscriptions and cleaning them up (as I prepare for an article I have in mind about this function) and noticed I have had a LOT of Test profiles in the mix.

  • L.C. Schäfer10 months ago

    I appreciate the word count change in Fiction, thank you. Thank you for fixing the Top Story bonus bug, as well. I love the Word Hunt challenge, and the option to choose the word combo we want to use from the puzzle.

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh10 months ago

    Props to Vocal for using (and crediting) the challenge ideas suggested by creators!

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh10 months ago

    What is the timeline estimate for being able to write and edit on mobile? I keep forgetting that glitch, making edits on my phone that I'm unable to save.

  • The zero word count worries me. I have no problems with short form but worried that some will see it as a quick way to fifty stories, especially with AI text generators and plagiarism. I can see what were once self-contained pieces becoming a series, but fine with whatever people want to do. Short form is just another challenge but it does need to be properly monitored

  • J. S. Wade10 months ago

    Read counts versus likes (hearts) always seem to raise questions. What I'm suggesting may draw threats from others. lol Has Vocal considered removing the like option from the top of the story and having only the option at the end, maybe a larger Icon? This could eliminate the clicks that don't actually read and reduce the perceived discrepancies.

  • Ambassador Payments still need a ticket raising, and my reply to the latest one would that it would take three working days. This is a ludicrous situation, and I keep getting told I don't need to raise a ticket. I left one for two weeks and only got paid when I raised a ticket. It used to be automatic, so it can be fixed

  • Hello, Mike from Vocal Social Society here. One suggestion it would be great if we could filter our stats by date, so we can see what current or what it was like a few months back.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.