Vocal Creator Chat: 4/11/23

A place to connect and discuss all things Vocal.

By Vocal Creator ChatPublished about a year ago 1 min read
48

Have questions about creating stories, growing your audience, and getting rewarded on Vocal? The Vocal community and team are here to help answer your questions and feedback together.

Every Tuesday at 12 PM ET, we'll assemble the Vocal community, as well as our Creator Experience and Product teams, in a thread to respond to creator inquiries for one hour.

Please follow Vocal’s Community Guidelines and don’t spam your own profile or stories in the thread. We encourage the community to report users or comments that break these guidelines.

Some updates and reminders from the Vocal team:

  • We held our inaugural Raise Your Voice Thread last Thursday.
  • We are now accepting Creator-submitted challenge ideas and will launch new daily challenges based on them.
  • Push notifications on iOS and Android will be launched this month.

Got questions about Vocal or feedback about what’s new? Leave a comment in this thread to join the Vocal Creator Chat.

Also, be sure to join our Raise Your Voice Threads every Thursday at 12PM ET to champion inspiring stories and outstanding creators on Vocal. Save it to your calendar so you don’t miss it.

creator chat
48

About the Creator

Vocal Creator Chat

Monthly on Tuesday @ 12PM ET, we we'll assemble the Vocal community, as well as our Creator Experience and Product teams, in a thread to respond to creator inquiries for one hour on Vocal. Subscribe now

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (40)

Sign in to comment
  • Yuley Burrowabout a year ago

    It would be nice if the notifications went back to when we created our account instead of just the last two months, so I can see who all subscribed to my page and check them out in return.

  • Yuley Burrowabout a year ago

    I would really love open communication with vocal editors, so I can get the best feedback to improve my story quality. I feel this is something we all need more of unless anyone on here is an editor/English major.

  • Samia Afraabout a year ago

    Ahem, daily challenges? Oooooo yeah! All in.

  • Morgana Millerabout a year ago

    When I tap on a comment/comment response notification, it’d be great if it took me directly to that comment thread, if y’all are open to adding that to the roadmap.

  • Sonia Heidi Unruhabout a year ago

    I missed the deadline but I'd like to throw my comment into the ring. At this point, the homepage and the top stories page appear to be identical. I would love a page of all submissions posted chronologically. This would help to spread out the readership. Only a tiny percentage of submissions can be top stories, but there are so many other great works to read that don't get the attention they deserve--so let's make it easier to browse and discover them! A chronological submission page might also encourage me to see works in vocal communities I don't typically visit. It would also be motivating for writers because everyone would have a chance to see their work displayed on screen (other than clicking on their own profile)! Thank you for offering this opportunity to be "vocal" with our questions and suggestions.

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    Didn't get anywhere with my email regarding collaborating.... -------- Frankie (Vocal) Apr 11, 2023, 10:02 PDT Hi Judey, Thanks for reaching out. You can find all open positions here: https://creatd-inc.rippling-ats.com/ Let us know if we can help you with anything else! ~ Frankie from Vocal ----------- Judeyblu777 Apr 11, 2023, 09:49 PDT Hello! I appreciate learning about the planned updates to the Resource section on the Vocal platform. I am interested in collaborating with you. I have 15+ years experience in communication and 20+ years as a field and corporate trainer. Please contact me at xoxxxxr xxxxxx at your pleasure! (redacted so i can post it here) Here's a shot to the comment to which I am responding: image.png Thank you, Judey Kalchik

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Hello, To clarify, the kind of linkbombing we do not want to see can be found in the comment section on my Top Story "On a gentle slope before the valley, we stopped to rest a while." Offending comments are from Cooking with Shadam and Hammd Ahatisham. Both have been reported, but since they are Vocal creators leaving links to Vocal work, they are not removed as quickly whereas Creators who leave outside links are removed faster (in my experience at least).

  • Chloeabout a year ago

    I'm excited for the Creator-submitted challenge ideas! And daily challenges sound like a lot of fun! It certainly means a lot less anticipation (or just waiting, for me) and a lot more of getting things done. I'm glad we're getting these changes.

  • I think this has been a really useful chat, some great ideas and met some new people. Need to leave now, but you can find me on Vocal in the Vocal Social Society.

  • Thank you for participating in our first Creator Chat! The response and feedback has been incredible, we've added a ton to our roadmap. We will stay on through 1:30PM ET to answer any last questions.

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    Thank you for letting me spend my lunch hour with you talented folks- that includes you, Vocal team!!! All- don't forget about the Thursday thread- we have two days to prepare for sharing some of the stories that have touched us and magnifying some- to Mike's point- new writers!

  • Farhan Mirza about a year ago

    awesome service

  • Call Me Lesabout a year ago

    I'd like to be able to turn off the pop up for tips and pledges especially on sensitive stories.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Would anyone else like to have the ability to delete a comment or hide it without reporting it? For example, for spam or comments that we aren't sure are actually spam but that we just don't want on our stories (polite link bombers, "please subscribe to me", unsolicited feedback on our writing that we don't really agree with or irrelevant stuff or discussions between other commenters in our comment sections) ?? I'm not sure if I even actually want it but I do have several stories I have comments turned off on because they are very personal and I don't want junk comments on them.

  • CJ Millerabout a year ago

    I would love the ability to edit main images, titles, communities, and tags without contacting customer support. This was mentioned once as an upcoming change, but I haven't seen anything about it recently. Any idea when we can expect these updates? Thanks very much. 🙂

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    It would also be nice to have a search feature on profiles, either just for the creator, or for the creator and visitors. The more stories you have published, the harder it is to find them when you want to share a link. And I have used the main search feature on Vocal, but my own story doesn't always come up.

  • Have I missed it or does this chat have a closing time?

  • Morgana Millerabout a year ago

    Could we get more text formatting options? The ability to control line breaks, indentations and text size would be swell.

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Great discussion points below! Small question. I have searched the site, is there a way to see a list of people who have tipped? I'd love to thank them properly but can't seem to find out where they came from.

  • Top Creators in Communities, could we make them more prominent and up to date? There are Top Creators who have not posted for over two years

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Hello. My question and concern goes in tandem with something mentioned by Loryne below concerning the AI sandbox named OG AI, in addition to the account People! Just say Something! More AI generated content is receiving Top Story slots. Would you be able to clarify if they receive the same Bonus as content created by real creators and writers on the platform? My concern is there could be immense backlash and frustration among the creators who spend time crafting and composing stories/articles versus those who are churning out content from the push of a few keys and buttons. 1. If AI content keeps receiving Top Story slots and get a Bonus, could their be a tierd Bonus payout? (Ex: Original content remains at $5 and AI earns $2.50) 2. Does Vocal have a plan or formula/percentage in place to ensure Top Story slots are geared more towards original content of creators on the platform? Thanks

  • Steve Lanceabout a year ago

    Something I wonder about. Are the challenges judged blind?

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    The Vocal Resources tab has good content- it reads, though, like it probably is: disparate content written by many people to answer the need of the moment. It would be so helpful to have that tab updated to relevant content and include some type of an index post: one where new links can replace the old and provide step by step for the newbies and developmental 'tips/tricks' for established Vocal writers. PS- video helps: people learn differently so showing what the step looks like could ease frustration for people.

  • Steve Lanceabout a year ago

    On Plagiarism. I don't worry about my fiction because that all comes from looking at my belly button. But non-fiction, I was surprised to learn how little you can borrow without properly giving credit. I think it was something like three words. May be wrong on that, but part is education, and the plagiarism threshold is a lot lower than copyright infringement.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.