Creator Spotlight: Christian Johnson

"Photographs have the power to make something you’ve never experienced feel relatable, nostalgic, or stir up an emotion." -Christian Johnson

By Vocal SpotlightPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
15

Christian Johnson is an incredibly talented photographer and cinematographer based out of Brooklyn, NY. His work embodies such raw emotion and detail that any given spectator might view the same picture in 2 different ways, depending on the day and how they feel. In that mysterious phenomenon lies the true art in his creations: the power he grants to the viewer. You might ask, "how can a still image be subjective?," and to that, we don't pretend to know or understand. All we know is that Christian's photos are very satisfying to look at, and that they seem to evolve over time.

Interestingly enough, Christian's photo's are only part of what inspired us to feature him in this edition of #VocalSpotlight. The other aspect of Christian that led us here is his ability to craft a story. His charm and optimistic outlook on life lead to addicting narratives that you just want to be a part of. His charismatic attitude makes it seem as if you've known him for years, while it may be only the first of his stories to make your acquaintance. Two of Christian's six stories on Vocal have placed in our Vocal+ exclusive challenges—those being our "Better Day's Challenge"(2nd) and our "Quarantine Playlist Challenge"(2nd). We cannot wait to see what he has in store for the stories to come! So, without further ado, Christian Johnson:

On His Childhood and Growing Up:

When I was five years old my family moved from New York to London for my dad's job. We were only supposed to stay for a year, then ended up staying for eight. My family moved back to the States when I was 13 and I promptly got the nickname Pip; the English kid from South Park.

I left the New Jersey suburbs for college in Boulder, Colorado where I studied Film Productions. Now I’m living in Brooklyn working as a freelance photographer and videographer. I’ve also had two heart surgeries because of unrelated cardiac arrhythmias...that’s definitely played a huge role in who I am.

Self Portrait by Christian Johnson

On His Relationship with Writing:

I’ve actually struggled with dyslexia my entire life; writing throughout school was such a challenge. It still takes me a long time to put my words down onto paper and I get a bit self conscious about it.

Before I submit any articles I alway have my girlfriend, Alix, give it a quick proof read. I'm pretty self conscious about my work - especially my writing - so it has been incredibly humbling to see that people enjoy my stories.

Self Portrait by Christian Johnson

On What Inspires Him To Create:

One of the coolest things about getting older is seeing awesome work done by my family and friends. My siblings Austin and Shea, my partner Alix, and my friends like Sam Keller, Lance Williams...I mean the list of talented people in my life who are passionate about what they do every day goes on and on.

Of course there are amazing photographers who’ve inspired my work (Henri Cartier-Bresson, Joel Meyerowitz, Stephen Shore), but it’s the people closest to me who really spark my creativity.

On His First Hug After Quarantine:

It’s hard to pick just one person. When I wrote "I Just Want A Damn Hug," I was focused on the normality of casual and friendly touch that we’ve always just taken for granted.

That being said, my Mom is a nurse working around the clock at a surgery center. I’m extremely proud of her and would love to give her a hug.

On His Favorite Photograph He's Ever Taken:

Photographs can be so powerful. They have the ability to teleport you back in time to a specific moment. Photos even have the power to make something you’ve never experienced feel relatable or nostalgic or stir up an emotion.

This photo was taken on a work trip in LA right before my second heart surgery. I was uncertain about my future and feeling really anxious. Seeing it now I’m reminded to look up, stay positive and keep moving forward.

This photo was taken with my Leica m6 on 35mm Tri-X film. When it comes to film photography I try to keep the editing minimal. Tri-X film has a very high contrast between the highlights and shadows and that’s what I love about it.

On A Hypothetical Photo That Would Epitomize Him:

I would be skateboarding down a winding hill with a group of friends, my camera slinging across my body and a huge smile on my face. I’d have on a cutoff button up and cuffed jeans.

The sky would be blue and the pavement would be slightly blurred from motion. I would have the camera pointed up at the skaters behind trying to capture the rush of a moment. Yes...in this picture I would be taking a picture.

By Jordan McQueen on Unsplash

On What's Keeping Him Sane in These Crazy Times:

The hardest part about these times is staying busy. Writing, revisiting my old work, cooking with my partner and skateboarding have been keeping me happy. But right now I’m trying to be optimistic about the future of our country. We need change and although the circumstances are rough, we are fighting for what’s right.

I feel for all the families who lost loved ones to this pandemic and especially feel for the people who have been affected by police brutality. I hope that the voices of the protesters will be heard. I’m trying my best to educate myself on black history, art, cinema and so on. I’m focusing on learning how to change, adapt and learn how to be uncomfortable as someone who has directly benefited from white privilege.

Self Portrait by Christian Johnson

On His Favorite Story He's Published on Vocal:

The Beat of New York. This story was so much fun to write. I started off creating a long playlist of all of my favorite songs, then selected a handful of NYC street photos I’ve taken over the past few years and reminisced while writing the story.

Don’t think about it—first thing that comes to mind:

What is one thing you couldn’t live without?

My 35mm camera

Photo by Lance Williams | @lvnxe on Instagram

Cats or dogs?

My Mom has two of the most amazing Rag Doll cats but nothing beats the English Mastiff I grew up with. Sasha was the best. So...dogs.

Favorite travel destination?

Vis, a small island in Croatia, was incredible to explore.

Favorite local restaurant?

Torst. Best burger and unique ever-changing beer selection.

What’s your go-to late night snack?

Honey Nut Cheerios or berries with whipped cream

What are you currently binge watching?

Peaky Blinders

If you could speak a new language, what would it be and why?

French, such a beautiful sounding language

Favorite story you read on Vocal by another creator?

"How COVID-19 Has Affected My Photography Practice By Sophia Carey

Closing Thoughts

We'd like to take this opportunity to thank Christian for his excitement to participate in this #VocalSpotlight. It was a pleasure getting to know you!

Keep your eyes peeled for his next creations and be sure to follow him on Instagram @cjohnson.jpg!

15

About the Creator

Vocal Spotlight

Vocal Spotlight aims to highlight standout creators who are changing the world one story at a time. We're getting to know the storytellers who inspire us the most, and we can't wait for you to meet them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.