Proof logo

The Best Christmas Food Pairing

Cookies and cocktails

By Alisha AllenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

When I was a kid, one of my favorite parts of Christmas was the milk and cookies. Unfortunately, I never got to do the homemade sugar cookies. I never got to do the homemade dough, rolling it out, cutting them with cookie cutters, and decorating them. My mom was always too busy. So, she would pick up a bag of Mrs. Fields whenever she went to the mall. Those cookies did not last long. Come Christmas Eve, there would usually only be one cookie left for Santa and half a glass of milk. Those are fond memories of my childhood.

As an adult I still like milk and cookies at Christmas time, which honestly is the only time of year I do that now. However, things have changed a bit. These days, I bake the cookies. Also, I no longer care for sugar cookies anymore. As I have gotten older, my taste buds have gotten more sophisticated. Now, sugar cookies taste way too sweet for me. My new favorite cookie is a smores cookie! I pair it up with an adult version of chocolate milk: An excellent cocktail called The North Pole.

I know that most people reading this article may have never heard of that drink. Maybe nobody has, however it is unbelievably delicious. I would highly recommend anyone try it at least once, especially those who enjoy fancy cocktails. Here is the recipe:

4 oz. Vodka ( I prefer Sky the best)

2 oz. Kahlua

4 tsp. Chocolate Syrup

1 tsp. Vanilla

3 tsp. Molasses

1/8 tsp. Ginger

½ cup Almond or coconut milk. (I use this because I’m lactose intolerant; you can use regular milk or Heavy Cream).

Put all these ingredients in a shaker over ice and mix well. Pour into a fancy glass.

I feel that this is the best food pairing at Christmas time. To sit down on the couch late at night with only the Christmas tree lit, snuggled up in a blanket, with a fire going (for the ones lucky enough to have a chimney) eating a smores cookie and sipping on a North Pole, while watching your favorite Christmas movie feels pretty cozy.

Along with enjoying these delicious treats at home, you can also make them for a Christmas party. I know it's 2020 and things are different this year, but during normal times these are a big hit for holiday events. A few years ago, my husband and were invited to our neighbors, as they were having a small gathering of friends. Her boyfriend had made The North Pole cocktails (which is where I was first introduced to them) and everybody loved them. We kept asking him for the recipe, which he didn't want to give out, citing the "Secret Recipe" law. (I later found the recipe in a copy of The Bartender’s Bible that a friend of mine had). His girlfriend had made oatmeal raisin cookies, for the party (really good, however I think this particular cocktail ought to be meshed up with chocolate). The cocktail was everybody's favorite, despite the fact they had Ham, Turkey, potatoes, etc. "I can get turkey and ham from anywhere. I have never had this delicious drink before" was the common phrase for the night. So, her boyfriend had accomplished his goal: To make something that people would talk about for years to come.

We all have our own favorite food pairing. There are many other things I like, however at Christmas time Smores cookies and North Pole cocktails are the best. Whether it's in the comfort of your own home or at a social gathering, one will enjoy these two together.

cocktails
2

About the Creator

Alisha Allen

I am a published author, former model, aspiring entrepreneur, screenwriter, and the most important job, a mother of two. I grew up in Las Vegas NV, however I just recently moved to Mesquite NV.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.